We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food and service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finn's Paekakariki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finn's Paekakariki
Ranked #1 of 1 Paekakariki B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Best service and the food exceeded our expectations, well worth the visit! Fantastic bar staff especially the gorgeous tall blonde with glasses. The menu was well balanced with good options for the kids and the tuatara beer on tap was a hit! Well done team!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a meal at the restaurant with a couple of friends. Had the pork belly special and was very nice, good size servings. Also had dessert which was also lovely. Waitress attentive and helpful, nice ambience and will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: N/a only went for a meal and didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlene04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Needed a room in route to Wellington. Booked a superior studio which was a very large room with a very comfy king size bed, sofa, two chairs and a balcony. The room was overlooking the back, so no spectacular views. A two minute walk up to the beach. Close to a railway line, but well insulated and the windows were double glazed and so did not notice any disturbance from the occasional passing train. The bathroom consisted of a shower over a generous sized spa bath with a toilet and included shower wash and shampoo.
The room also included a 32" flat screen tv, small fridge, microwave, sink, and plates, cups, glasses and cutlery for four, a toaster and electric jug with tea, coffee and hot chocolate.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant which was reasonably priced.
There is also a cinema in the hotel.
The staff were helpful and very friendly.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked a lunch for 16 people. Everything went well from beginning to end. For a Hotel Cafe they have a surprising wide range of meals from the usual all breakfasts to restaurant quality meals.

The Cafe is set a little away from the Bar. It has good furniture, is neat & tidy, and has plenty of light. Service was a delight. They are in the process of starting a 26 seater Cinema, it is already built and furnished. This will appeal to those who would like a movie before or after their meal.

This is a gem in a small village. We were pleased we chose to go there.

Room Tip: Although we did not stay (had lunch only) the building is fairly new and modern. It is very clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Horo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had spotted Finn's on a previous trip but were concerned about noise, being so close to the rail tracks, however, once in the room didn't hear a thing. The rooms were large and very clean, bathroom had a spa bath which was rather good.
Downstairs is the resturant and bar which was so convenient, food was very good. Owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful with information regarding the Kapiti Coast and the locals drinking at the bar were also most friendly. They are currently building a small cinema beside the bar which adds an another attraction to Finn's.
Across the road are two cafes which give an alternative when you get hungry.
Can recommend Finn's as a great place to stay being so conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chattis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Finn's has been a great find for us. We do an annual run to the South Island and have always stayed inner city Wellington if we were too late to catch the ferry. Now we have booked Finns again for our next trip to Wellington in September 2012 Why? Because the rooms are large, new, clean and have stunning views from the balconies. The restaurant meals are right up there in service, presentation and value for money. The proprietors...good kiwi folk, salt of the earth, helpful and approachable. The beach is raw and exciting, the hills tower majestically to the left, the old world charm of the shops and village are in the immediate vicinity. Even though i am not a train spotter, i loved the rattle of the train lines, they added another characteristic to this wonderful spot. Im almost hesitant to say too much more in case everyone starts going there and we can't get in. However, travellers to NZ if you want to experience a 'best of NZ' just out of the Capital City, stay at Finn's.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakitaFyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have stayed at Finns twice now, each time has been absolutely perfect.
The rooms are large and very comfortably furnished.
The first time we stayed back in 2010 we had a very large room with a deck overlooking the Village. Second time we were north facing (which was fantastic as it was the night of the "weather bomb" in Wellington with 150km southerlies), our large room had a small balcony (which we didn't venture onto because of the weather) and a gorgeous bathroom with double spa bath and all the amenities. While the storm raged outside we were tucked up warm and happy inside.

The hotel restaurant meals were delicious. Often in a pub you get the usual steak and chips, fish and chips etc but the menus here are very well thought out.
My husband had mussels in a tomato and chorizo broth. Sounds unusual but it was incredibly tasty and quite the find!

We will stay here again and again, Nancy and Kevin are excellent hosts.

Room Tip: Each room is lovely. If you fancy watching village life then ask for a South facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paekakariki
6.9 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
7.6 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
7.7 mi away
Moana Lodge
Moana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Plimmerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Barnacles Seaside Inn
Barnacles Seaside Inn
#4 of 4 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
6.5 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finn's Paekakariki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finn's Paekakariki

Property: Finn's Paekakariki
Address: 2 Beach Road, Paekakariki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paekakariki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paekakariki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Finn's Paekakariki 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Finn's Paekakariki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing