We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raumati Sands Resort
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Nice and quiet location with plenty of eateries within a walking distance, but it was far from the 4.5 star luxury advertised. The pool had green algae on the bottom, the pool towels had holes in them, the lights didnt work in one of the bedrooms, the toilet had bubbling flaky paint, the front door lock rusty, the info book was cheap and tacky with it's clear plastic sleeves, partially filled plastic liquid soap containers, apparently offered Wifi but nothing mentioned in the room, the apartments are advertised with an ensuite yet its just a seperate bathroom which is shared. When I asked the Manager on this she said well it's right next door and very close. Perhaps if they dropped the luxurious from the title and adjusted their advertising we would not have had such high expectations but unfortunately we did and were therefore disappointed, for the money, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 121 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

we stayed here around a year ago and were happy with our stay, we didnt have a visa at the time so a bond was required in wich we had no problem with, however i tryed to book a room today and was told the booking couldnt be made as i didnt have a credit card so that was fine i borrowed my sisters and called back to make the booking, now the card was a debit card wich is still the same as visa, the only difference is its your own money not borrowed!! i was then told the booking couldnt be made by heather as (visas) have no limit??? and debit dose when the word debit is only stateing that it is indeed your own money.. i wasnt happy with this so my sister called back to queary heathers policys to wich she was told by heather herself that all hotels and motels in new zealand have this same policy,???? heather then said that its only in wellington but couldnt name any whom use this policy. and ended the call by hanging up in my sisters ear.... a couple of facts, the customer is always rite and money is money!! borrowed or not.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank masynautos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We booked into Raumati Sands via Wotif which had a $169 per night deal listed.

Our apartment was two bedroom (as I think they all are) with a double shower and sea view. The kitchen was perfect with facilities such as dishwasher, waste disposal, full size fridge, oven etc. The lounge had 3 couches so plenty of room. The downstairs courtyard was furnished with round wooden table and 4 chairs...very comfortable.

Upstairs there were two bedrooms, one with two single beds, the other with a king size. Both bedrooms had balconies. The room with single beds didn't have a view other than the side of the building however the king size room had a lovely view out over the bowling club, marine gardens and the sea. It was completely beautiful to sit out here and listen to the birds chirp and the waves roll in in the morning and evening.

We didn't use the swimming pool or spa. There were large covers over the pool so possibly the weather isn't ready for it yet anyway. There were plenty of eating options very close to the hotel so no problems in that regard.

We would definitely stay here again, have booked in over the Christmas period.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The apartment was clean and tidy with all the facilities you could want. The switch that converts the water flow from the bath to the shower head was broken and I couldn't shower. There was no pricing available for making outbound calls, and there was no information about how someone could contact me in the apartment - no DDI information and when someone tried to contact me via reception (three times) there was no answer.

Reception closed at 6pm which for someone working is a very early closing time, so was not able to get breakfast order in, or ask questions.

Complex was very noisy and I could hear everything going on (even next door making a cup of tea!). Room was quite cold and heating didn't work unless key tag was in the slot, so no opportunity for it to warm up while I was out for dinner.

Spa nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thevegetarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed over Easter at this property. Our second trip here. Continues to be an excellent property. Apartments are roomy, generally well maintained, really clean, bathrooms are great with heated floor tiles, which is sooo nice, beds are a bit on the hard side for us, excellent facilities for children with a heated outdoor pool and spa pool, great beach which is nice and close, about 50metres and DVD players in all rooms. The only negatives for this trip were little things, the BBQ was dirty and only had 1 burner going, the servicing of our rooms was minimal, beds being made was not included in service - a nice luxury when on holiday for me!! However all in all, a pleasant weekend and we would return

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRICIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We had a fantastic weekend break with the family. The apartment had everything we needed. Service was friendly and welcoming. Pool was great! It really felt like we were at a resort! We all enjoyed ourselves very much (and we only live 10 minutes away!) If you want to splash out and stay somewhere special - this is the place to go! Many restaurants within walking distance to resort, and the beach is a minutes walk away. We had a lovely quiet apartment with no traffic noise - not something you'd get in Wellington. Thankyou for a wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrmBchDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is more like staying in a wonderful serviced house or apartment than a normal motel.

The "rooms" are in fact very well appointed 2 bedroom duplexes with everything you would need. The beds are comfortable and there is even a washing machine and dishwasher in the beautiful kitchen.

My only gripe was the polyester sheets but that seems to be a New Zealand wide problem. Don't let that put you off.

Motels in New Zealand are often cold, bleak places in the winter. There is usually little heating in the winter and hot water soon runs out. Not here! Raumati Sands is a luxury "home away from home" sort of place. So comfortable and warm.

The stairs are not steep or dangerous between the 2 floors internally. I have a disability and normally stairs would put me off. It was worth it to stay here. Even a downstairs cloakroom.

Very quiet. The apartments have a patio area each with table and chairs. Comfortable spa baths with showers over.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlopsyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raumati Beach
1.8 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
106 reviews
3 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#2 of 7 in Paraparaumu
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#1 of 2 in Waikanae
87 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Copperfield Seaside Motel
Copperfield Seaside Motel
#6 of 7 in Paraparaumu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raumati Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raumati Sands Resort

Address: 4 - 8 Matatua Rd, Raumati Beach 5255, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Raumati Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Raumati Beach
Price Range: $138 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raumati Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 large and modern two bedroom apartments. Bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. Spa bath with shower or double shower apartments. Fully self contained with own washing machine, dryer and dishwasher. Large living area opening onto own private deck. Heated swimming pool, hot tub and BBQ facility. 100 mtrs to beach and boutique village shops. Selection of restaurants and cafes in village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Raumati Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing