We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for the Gandchildren”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raumati Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fantastic for the Gandchildren”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The location is first rate, just over the road from the children's playground, free water park, and safe beach. For children up to 5 you need travel no further.
The hotel administration (booking etc) was weak, but that was probably because it was up for sale in Feb 2014.
Chalets are exceptionally spacious, and kitchen is well equipped. Local shops are limited, so bring your supplies with you. I recommend "The Garden Deli" for a proper New Zealand breakfast.
Overall, I would be happy to take the grandchildren again.

Room Tip: All the chalets are spacious and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
49
34
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
beds
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Raumati Sands for three nights over the New Year in a condo.

Very clean motel , good facilities , good pool area and good facilities in the room.

Raumati itself is very nice , beach is good and planty of decent places to eat.

Well recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedsLinslader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Unless you are a B and B fan there is no choice in this area. Raumati is way nicer than Paraparaumu unless you are a McDonalds and big mall fan-it boasts some nice cafes shops etc. Caveat though that none of them are open late beyond 2100 hrs, well they certainly weren't on the day we were there!

Accommodation is exceptionally clean. Couple of minor points which irked me but not major worries: When we booked a 2 bedroom apartment for our family of 4 the website quoted $169. You then click on it to confirm and low and behold you are told the rate is for 2 adults only and the extra cost will be $30 per extra adult. Tell me how may times does one book a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 people?! The other minor issue was that when we arrived I asked what restaurants might be open late as we were attending a rosary for my deceased father in law. The owner rightly told me he didn't think much would be open, but he wasn't sure. In his shoes, I would have called around the restaurants on my behalf-there was no such offer-so consequently we had to go to Countdown at 2100 hrs-not a pleasurable experience! Lastly we were only given one key-which meant when we left the apartment there was no heating-as the key activated the electricity for the apartment. Again it would have been nice for the owner to have had more foresight here. Note also that there is absolutely the bare minimum in terms of provisions-eg no oil for cooking etc. Just salt and pepper so if you are going to be cooking in come prepared!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieLigar_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Raumati Sands is well appointed with all the facilities you could ask for. A great three nights sleep in a quite and clean apartment. The best part was that you are so close to the coast but don't hear the noise of the waves. Fantastic beach to walk along. Central to a village of boutique shops and enough eating places to chose from. Only 45 mins from our capital city on a good day. Warning... don't try to go to Wellington on a week day peak traffic times between 7 and 9am. Raumati Sands is easy to find and the staff are very helpful. I will be going back.

Room Tip: Probably want to have apartments on the side rather than the front to cut down on raod and sea noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just spent four nights at the Raumati Sands.Best motel in NZ that i have stayed in for space,quietness and comfortable beds,right at the beach,nestled in a little village,with a park and bowling club,across the road and quick walk to cafes and shops.
All facilities advertised were avaliable and the whole complex very clean and tidy,lovely swimming pool and friendly service from the owners.
Lovely serviced apartments and would recommend to anyone.
Thank you Raumati Sands for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We had a apartment facing the sea,lovely views and afternoon sun on your deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellfish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Best thing was the location. The proximity to the beach and a number of restaurants to choose from suited us. Unit clean and tidy and roomy. seemed to everything we might need if staying a few nights. Great to have the option of summer bedding on a warm night. Disappointed the full length windows were open to view all the other units on the otherside with no privacy in the form of net curtains or similar. Nice outdoor area opening out from the lounge and the pool area over the fence.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nuttykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAKAKA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great first two nights in room 1 then had to move to room 15, not so good. Roll out bed was not good and loud noise coming from room below, sounded like an air compressor going all night.We were over-charged and have still not received a refund.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 655ALANM655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raumati Beach
3.0 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Paraparaumu
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elliott's Kapiti Coast
Elliott's Kapiti Coast
#2 of 6 in Paraparaumu
30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Barnacles Seaside Inn Backpackers
1.5 mi away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raumati Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raumati Sands Resort

Property: Raumati Sands Resort
Address: 4 - 8 Matatua Rd, Raumati Beach 5255, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Raumati Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Raumati Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raumati Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 large and modern two bedroom apartments. Bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. Spa bath with shower or double shower apartments. Fully self contained with own washing machine, dryer and dishwasher. Large living area opening onto own private deck. Heated swimming pool, hot tub and BBQ facility. 100 mtrs to beach and boutique village shops. Selection of restaurants and cafes in village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raumati Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing