We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just KNOW What You're Getting...”
Review of The Lazy Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lazy Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a review for a five star experience, not a five star "hotel". The name says it... Hostel... as in dorm room with beds shared by whoever else happens to be there. It's not some place to take your new spouse on a honeymoon if you want a wedding night. The dorm rooms are not large, but then looking around Vieques, there's no such thing as large rooms or large houses for that matter. Based on this, it would seem they are average sized rooms for Vieques. As with hostels, you don't have a private room, bath or shower. Well, when you use it, but it is't part of your room. There is a private quad available only to the guests, and you get a key to get in there, which is also access to the "dorms". The hostel is part of a bar and grill complex called Lazy Jacks. They have great pizza right there. There are a whole bunch of other restaurants along the boardwalk too. Lots of good food and drink. The bar is going to late, but it doesn't get back to the rooms. Across the street is the water! And the water is to die for. It is crystal clear swimming pool looking ocean water, and a lot of beautiful coral along the shore. If you want a beautiful "experience", then forego the expense of the hotels on Vieques (they are EXPENSIVE, and almost not worth the prices). If you want a grand hotel experience, you probably should save up for The W on the other side of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chase J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 88 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

we (two girls) stayed at the lazy hostel for one week and had an amazing time! The staff is incredibly welcoming and friendly and helps you with whatever you need. It is the perfect place to stay at if you want to hang out , meet new people , relax and have fun.It is right off sunbay and you can easily walk to some other great beaches from there (if you dont have a cllue where you want to go everyone will be glad to help you!) the food and bar outside at lazy jacks are the perfect spot- if you meet any of the locals tey will all recommend lazy jacks to you ! We stayed in a girls dorm room with eight beds . For a dorm room you had surprisingly much privasphere since all the beds haavee curtains and there is another curtain to devide the room.
lazy jacks and the people there really made our vacation as great as it was and i can only recommmend it to any fun loving , young people looking for a great time

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaditaNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Dorms are the smallest we've seen and "lockers" do not include locks. Beds are just mats on springs: loud and uncomfortable. There is a $20 deposit in order to get a key and you must get a taxi or publico from the ferry. The hostel is right on the beach and near INCREDIBLE restaurants, but the dorm was musty and damp because everyone was hanging wet clothes in the tiny room. AC was good but the room was overall uncomfortable. Bring shower shoes because common area is gravel. There is a bar attached, but there is no shortage of these so we suggest staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I was very skeptical when my husband suggested we spend the night at a hostel... After seeing the movie n all... But while at the bar he went to the bathroom abs was impressed with the cleanliness, he asked me to check it out. Do based on that we decided to get a private room n spend the night. The hostel was very clean, so were the showers and bathrooms. Our room was right behind the bar. That night the bar was packed but we didn't hear a thing... This has to be the must spontaneous thing we have done n is Def the best part of my vacation. ..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrzRivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I wasn't expecting much, so Lazy Jack's pleasantly surprised me when we arrived. The sitting area is comfortable and cut off from the bar area. At night they put up sound-absorbing curtains to minimize the bar noises coming from outside.

We stayed in the all-girls dorm. It was pretty standard - 4 bunk beds, 8 lockers (bring your own lock). Nothing fancy, but as clean as you would expect. Bathrooms were clean, although depending on who is staying at the hostel with you, they may stay clean or they may become gross quickly.

As mentioned by another reviewer - you have to give a $20 dollar deposit for the key when you arrive for your stay. The morning we left, the hostel staff were arriving back from a bonfire night at 6am. We left at 6:30am. Since everyone had already gone to sleep, there was no one to check us out or return our deposit. Having paid for the rooms via credit card, we figured we would call and make arrangements to get our money back later, so we dropped the key in the dropbox and left.

Afterwards, having made numerous calls, we were told that the Lazy Hostel is not equipped to do refunds via credit card, and they were unwilling to send the cash in the mail in case it got lost. Thus, due to their ineptitude, we were ripped off the cost of the key deposit. To me, this is not how business ought to be conducted. What was a standard hostel experience became a very poor memory due to the lack of professional customer service and poor telephone manners of the Lazy Hostel employees.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FattyBomabalatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Let me start with the good - the place is in a good location and the food and drinks were enjoyable. Its a good party spot.

When I arrived there were mice in my room. I let the place know and they came and looked for them under the bed, but couldn't find them. They didnt have another room to give me - so thats it - you just deal. I made the best of it - no worries.

What really got me though was that when I arrived they take a $20 deposit for the key. When leaving there was no one there (I didnt leave that early - 9:30 am). So I left the key with a note to refund my card or mail me the deposit back. Nothing. Then after several email exchanges and over a month and half they still never mailed it back. Pretty much ripped off at the end for no reason. I wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-Rock29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for a few days last January on a last minute deal. Charlie was an amazing host and linked us with the right tours and was pretty knowledgeable about places around the area. Although at times the bar may get loud, the rooms were pretty sound proof and we still got to sleep through the music. Had a great time, and will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: The room closest to the corner exit next tot the pub is a bit tiny, there are a couple more rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anotherdayintheskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esperanza
19.4 mi away
Moonlight Bay Hostel
Moonlight Bay Hostel
#2 of 6 in Fajardo
196 reviews
4.3 mi away
SeaGate Hotel
SeaGate Hotel
#2 of 28 in Isla de Vieques
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperanza Inn
Esperanza Inn
#2 of 24 in Isla de Vieques
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
241 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Hostel

Address: 61A Calle Orquideas, Esperanza 00765-4050, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques > Esperanza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Esperanza
Price Range: $25 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lazy Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy Hostel is located on the Malecon, Esperanza's oceanfront boardwalk, right across the street from the Caribbean Ocean and within easy walking distance of Sun Bay, Coconut Beach, Black Sand Beach, Media Luna, and Navio Beach. Swim out to Cayo Afuero, build an ocean side bonfire, hike the trails on Cayo de Tierra, or meet friends at one of the many bars and restaurants in Esperanza. Snorkel enthusiasts will love the large pier and sunken sailboat less than 1/4 mile from the hostel. Lazy Jack's, our attached bar and restaurant is open later than anything else on the island and at the center of island night life for locals, tourists, and expats. The Lazy Hostel has two mixed dorm rooms, one female only dorm room, several private rooms, five showers, and nine bathrooms. Guests are welcome to cook or store food in our commercial kitchen where a complimentary basic breakfast is available every day from 8-11am. Hang out with other travelers in our large common area with couches and hammocks or on the large back porch with its six tables perfect for communal meals. The Lazy Hostel offers basic, clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations for travelers who want to spend their days and their budgets exploring the island and meeting fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lazy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing