We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked what we got”
Review of Tikiri Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tikiri Villa
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We travelled here just after boxing day with close to 20 of my family and friends. Mr.Munasinghe and the Manager Mr.Rohan were very cordial to us and prepared everything nice and neat. The food all Sri Lankan and almost all of them grown right there are the hotel premises. However I was personally thought the quantities of food could be greater. The location offers views of green paddy fields and that is all there is to it. Its close by to the Mahiyangana Temple and also to Sora Bora wewa. Its about a 20 minute drive to Dambana, the 'vedda' village. The rooms could have been better, the locks were a bit messy and the largest room didnt have proper water pressure so it was difficult to shower, but the other rooms didnt have that issue. Rooms and beds were clean. Make sure you put the mosquito nets before you sleep. The owner also arranged a music band for both nights we stayed and really enjoyed that since they played some good sinhala classical music. Price was reasonable, however we thought the price of the tea was a little bit too much. Good place to stay specially if you get the whole place and make yourselves at home.

Room Tip: Tell what you want to eat in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed one night at Tikiri. It has a great location overlooking paddy fields and forest, away from the busy town. Great place to be based and explore the area and visit places like the Mahiyangana ancient temple, Sorabora tank, the Vaddas of Dambana and much more. The food was very good Sri Lankan meals. All vegetables were fresh from the local farmer. The rooms are basic but comfortable with fans and very comfortable beds. Attached bathrooms have hot water. The bathrooms need a bit of a face lift I would say. The Manager Mr. Rohan made all the difference and ensured that we were well taken care of even with a full house. He is an asset to the place. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 101 - it had views of the paddyfeilds and waterway from bothsides and was very cool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayanthi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank celL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
Thank 88marilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorina73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mahiyangana hotels
3.5 mi away
Sorabora Gedara Hotel
Sorabora Gedara Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mahiyangana
27 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kevan's Casa City Hotel
Kevan's Casa City Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mahiyangana
83 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mapakada Village
Mapakada Village
#1 of 5 in Mahiyangana
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Nest
The Nest
#1 of 3 in Mahiyangana
43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tikiri Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikiri Villa

Address: Randenigala Road,Morayaya, Mahiyangana 90700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Mahiyangana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mahiyangana
Price Range: $32 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tikiri Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Total of 14 rooms containing family rooms with private balconies overlooking the paddy fields. Triple rooms overlooking the Minipe Yoda Ela water way and double rooms all fitted with attached toilet that contains modern fittings with hot and cold water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tikiri Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing