We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical setting and delightful well equipped...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Ellerdine, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Valerie B
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical setting and delightful well equipped historic Cottage”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We booked Courtyard cottage as a close friend had stayed and loved it. The cottage did not disappoint at all and we had a really enjoyable stay. The Courtyard setting of the cottage, attached to a beautiful country house hotel was so lovely.

The owners Mark and Adrian gave us a very warm welcome and there was a welcome pack of essential food all set out for us. The cottage was well equipped and very well appointed and had everything we needed. It was a beautifully renovated historic building and was ideally located for sightseeing in this very interesting area. Would recommend Courtyard cottage to anyone wanting a get away from it all and who appreciates their home comforts whilst on holiday in an area with such a lot to see and do even in winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a beautifully renovated historic building in a lovely setting
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary l
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You honestly cannot find a better place to stay”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

All the good reviews are accurate. There is so much you can write to praise not only the cottage but the lovely owners who leave nothing to chance to make sure you enjoy your stay. I would like to mention Sue the housekeeper too. The cottage is a haven of peace and lovely to come back to when you have been to the surrounding places. There was a lovely welcome pack of goodies, super comfortable bed with the added bonus of a walk in wardrobe so you could tuck your cases away. The lounge is beautiful and compliments Meeson Hall. Ample space everywhere with a kitchen that has everything you need for your holiday. There are plenty of places to eat nearby but we loved the atmosphere of the cottage so cooked for ourselves. Everything was spotless and you just felt very relaxed while you were there. We didn't need to light the wood burner but you can just help yourself to more logs once your supply had run out. If you want a truly relaxing holiday then this is the place to stay. Well done and thank you Adrian and Mark, you have achieved something very special

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall attention to detail and the excellent owners
Liked least: That we had to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2016
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share this incredible review with us, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Courtyard Cottage. The owners have obviously done a fabulous job with the place, and we will be sure to pass all of your kind words along to them! It sounds like the cottage was just a perfect place to call 'home', and we hope that you will return to your haven of peace very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiceyC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed February 7, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great cottage, in a wonderful location, set in the very nice grounds of Meeson Hall. Our welcome was great, the owners are very welcoming (great welcome pack with home made jam) and happy to help answering any questions and offering advice on things to do in the area. The cottage itself is warm (the log fire was lit for our arrival) cosy, clean and very well presented. We highly recommend this cottage to relax and get away from it all in a tranquil comfortable location that's in a good location to access Shrewsbury, Iornbridge and other interesting sites such as Stokesay Castle or Ludlow markets. So good we got engaged here :) We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2016
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay! It is wonderful to hear that you were comfortable and relaxed during your time at Courtyard Cottage, and also got out and about to take in all that the area had to offer. Congratulations on your engagement, what a holiday to remember! We certainly hope you will be back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephendY...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cottage with a wow factor”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Wanted to spend a quiet Christmas week in a tranquil cottage and boy we found a absolute gem .courtyard cottage is exactly what we were looking for and more; from the warm welcoming from sue the housekeeper we felt at home instantly.supplied was a welcome pack and the log fire was roaring .further inspection we found everything we needed for a comfortable stay with quality bed linen and towels and they cleanliness of the property was excellent. .next day we met Mark and Adrian the proprietors who are were a pleasure to meet they showed us around the manor house telling us the history and what they had achieved and their plans for the near future brilliant. .lots of places to visit in the area but we didn't venture to far as we were quite contented to stay at the cottage and the lovely meeson manor bye for now see you next year.happy we found the Sykes web site they were brilliant happy New year to you all Steve-Linda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2016
Thank you ever so much for sharing such a lovely review with us, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your calm Christmas holiday. It is wonderful to hear that you felt so at home, so much so that staying in was what you wanted to do! We are so happy that you got the peaceful and tranquil Christmas you wanted, and we certainly hope to see you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoghist
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rare and lovely find”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We chanced upon a cancellation for our stay. We couldn't quite believe our luck!
The property is beautiful and the owners obviously wanted us to have a great time which meant we were very well looked after.
We arrived late after a gruesome road trip and found a farm shop in the village who sold everything we needed for a steak dinner except wine - and our fab hosts provided that!
It is so lovely to be able to walk in the grounds (the grass is so soft it had to be barefoot!)
We fed the chickens and were given a tour of the main Hall which has been lovingly restored and is a haven of genteel living!
It is an ideal location for lots of visits like the Ironbridge museums, Hawkstone Follies and the RAF museum ar Cosford.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture of the restored building
Liked least: The shower was a bit temperamental due to low water pressure - but not really a problem
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneyAitk...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Cottage relaxing and enjoyable quality accommodation”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The hosts were welcoming and so friendly we appreciated the lovely welcome pack with homemade jam which was so delicious we had to buy more to take home. The beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get up in the mornings. This is such a peaceful and tranquil location with so much to see and do if you want to. Everything was provided for a comfortable stay a home from home. We booked this as a birthday surprise for my mum and she was absolutely delighted. We had a great week away made so much more enjoyable by our stay in Courtyard Cottage. A big thank you to the lovely hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the accommodation and the beds
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clan-in-C...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything you expect and more!”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had an amazing weekend at Meeson cottage. It was our wedding anniversary and we were spoilt with a bottle of bubbly on arrival! A beautiful welcome pack of goodies was there as well with freshly laid eggs, fresh bread and the most delicious home made Jam.
The cottage itself is gorgeous. The pictures do not do it justice. The log burner was wonderful on the cold winter nights too. The owners were so helpful and welcoming. We even got a guided tour of their amazing home. We would recommend this place to everybody wanting a romantic get away. We hope to be back again soon . Oh and the recommended Indian restaurant in the next village was fab! Thanks for a lovely weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing