We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellington at Welwyn
Ranked #3 of 3 Welwyn B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Outstanding, high quality, contemporary accommodation. Very friendly, knowledgable and efficient staff. Great restaurant with excellent menus / wine selection. Good beer! Really enjoyed both breakfast and dinner. Easy parking. All in all, a first class experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paisleysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    57
    16
    18
    16
See reviews for
33
85
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night - we had room 6 which was on the top and up two flights of narrow stairs. The room itself was delightful with a big and comfortable bed and olde worlde furniture. The bath / shower is effectively part of the room (no door) which adds a quirky touch and the toliet is behind a frosted glass door so if you are after privacy in these areas then its not the place for you.

The shower area needs some attention as the water squirts in all directions and soaks the floor.

The breakfast in the morning was fantastic - I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, it came freshly made and I can honestly say that I have never had better than this. The staff were friendly and attentive which made the Sunday morning extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenjukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for saturday night in one of the luxury rooms,four poster bed was really comfy with a free standing bath at the end. The toilet area wasn't very private as had glass door to it, but we werent bothered by it. Had dinner in the restaurant which was very busy and very nice. Staff were pleasant, and breakfast was delicious. The church bells ring just outside the room at 9 in the morning so if you like a lie-in you might be dissapointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodders_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beadnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Colleagues and myself had cause to stay at the Wellington Hotel earlier this week. We often stay away on business and to be honest you can get a little tired with the mundane breakfasts that some hotels serve. The Wellington has certainly broken the mould. All of the food is prepared fresh to order. No dried up eggs and bacon here but the most scrumptious scrambled eggs and smoked salmon served on a toasted muffin. The eggs were light and creamy and no skimping on the salmon. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the Chef (Martin ) took the time to enquire if the breakfasts were to our taste. The answer was a resounding YES! A great way to set you up for a day at work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a 5 week trip to the UK - atrocious weather but a gem of a boutique hotel/restaurant to report.

We were invited by friends to spend New Years Eve at The Wellington, in Welwyn, Hertfordshire, about 30 miles north of London just off the A1M. Directly opposite the church in the 'olde worlde' village - bells and snow were an ideal setting for our stay.

The Wellington dates back to 1352 so tradition oozed from every wood-wormed beam and red brick fireplace, however recent refurbishment has added a comtemporary flavour which blended superbly into the warm, comfortable, welcoming environment.

Each of the six bedrooms was unique with four-poster beds, slipper baths and fireplaces complementing the excellent accommodations which were provided at a very reasonable price.

The food - a five course meal, highlighted by perfectly cooked and presented duck breast plus the most memorable cheese board ever seen, showed that the chef and staff were both imaginative as well as talented. Full English breakfast (complementary) rounded out a wonderful stay.

Throughout, the management and staff were simply the best. Enthusiastic, obviously proud of The Wellington, they were always professional, prompt, knowledgeable and welcoming. Whilst being a younger team, their age belied their experience and the highest level of service.

We were so impressed we returned for a follow up visit for lunch. Again, everything lived up to our expectations. The welcome was warm, the service exceptional and the pork tenderloin main course was delicious - perfectly cooked, uniquely presented, complemented by a Provence Rose - roaring fire - it doesn't come any better.

The Wellington was by far the best of the trip. Great food, special accommodations and very good value all delivered in an historic setting by a truly commendable team.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have been to the Wellington many times for lunch and dinner and the food is always amazing, however last time it was exceptional!

The new specials are to die for especially the scallops! The staff are friendly and efficient and very knowledgeable about the menu and lovely d'arenberg wines.

I would definitely recommend this friendly gastropub to everyone, a little gem in Old Welwyn, make sure you leave enough room for the delicious brownie!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
252 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just eaten here for the first time. The restaurant is warm and friendly and well laid out in lots of areas. The service was prompt and well mannered and the food was excellent. We ate off the standard menu but there was a specials board.
Understand there are rooms but did not see them. Welwyn is a lovely village and is just off the main A1 at junction 6.
Will be returning next time I am in the area it was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertson;Mrs.a... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
6.6 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington at Welwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington at Welwyn

Property: Wellington at Welwyn
Address: 1 High Street, Welwyn AL6 9LZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Welwyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington at Welwyn 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six bedrooms, each one slightly different, complement the Wellington's award-winning food and service. In keeping with the spirit of a building dating from 1352, we have kept and restored as many of the original features as possible, so you will encounter oak beams, cedar pine floors as well as antique furniture throughout the building. Some rooms even have an open fireplace or a four-poster bed... Each room has also been updated to offer you all the luxuries of contemporary living with plate glass, crisp bed linen and feather-down duvet on hand-sprung mattresses, monsoon showers or deep free-standing slipper baths, free WiFi, flat screen TV and a personal iPod dock/iPhone charger in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Wellington at Welwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington At Welwyn Hotel Welwyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing