We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm with Contemporary Flair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellington at Welwyn
Ranked #2 of 3 Welwyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a 5 week trip to the UK - atrocious weather but a gem of a boutique hotel/restaurant to report.

We were invited by friends to spend New Years Eve at The Wellington, in Welwyn, Hertfordshire, about 30 miles north of London just off the A1M. Directly opposite the church in the 'olde worlde' village - bells and snow were an ideal setting for our stay.

The Wellington dates back to 1352 so tradition oozed from every wood-wormed beam and red brick fireplace, however recent refurbishment has added a comtemporary flavour which blended superbly into the warm, comfortable, welcoming environment.

Each of the six bedrooms was unique with four-poster beds, slipper baths and fireplaces complementing the excellent accommodations which were provided at a very reasonable price.

The food - a five course meal, highlighted by perfectly cooked and presented duck breast plus the most memorable cheese board ever seen, showed that the chef and staff were both imaginative as well as talented. Full English breakfast (complementary) rounded out a wonderful stay.

Throughout, the management and staff were simply the best. Enthusiastic, obviously proud of The Wellington, they were always professional, prompt, knowledgeable and welcoming. Whilst being a younger team, their age belied their experience and the highest level of service.

We were so impressed we returned for a follow up visit for lunch. Again, everything lived up to our expectations. The welcome was warm, the service exceptional and the pork tenderloin main course was delicious - perfectly cooked, uniquely presented, complemented by a Provence Rose - roaring fire - it doesn't come any better.

The Wellington was by far the best of the trip. Great food, special accommodations and very good value all delivered in an historic setting by a truly commendable team.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Wellington at Welwyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have been to the Wellington many times for lunch and dinner and the food is always amazing, however last time it was exceptional!

The new specials are to die for especially the scallops! The staff are friendly and efficient and very knowledgeable about the menu and lovely d'arenberg wines.

I would definitely recommend this friendly gastropub to everyone, a little gem in Old Welwyn, make sure you leave enough room for the delicious brownie!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just eaten here for the first time. The restaurant is warm and friendly and well laid out in lots of areas. The service was prompt and well mannered and the food was excellent. We ate off the standard menu but there was a specials board.
Understand there are rooms but did not see them. Welwyn is a lovely village and is just off the main A1 at junction 6.
Will be returning next time I am in the area it was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertson;Mrs.a... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Reticent to spread the word about such a wonderful hotel so close to London and just 5 minutes off the A1. Initially put off by an address on a High Street but relieved to find only minimal traffic passing the bedroom window. Good parking, delightful and thoughtful decor, but above all friendly and intelligent staff. And fabulous food. Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in room 6, there was a Drench shower over a lovely big bath.
Modern design with a comfortable big bed.
Cooked breakfast was great with lots of options, though continental breakfast had little choice (no fruit/ yoghurt etc if that's what you like)
We had dinner at the restaurant, good food and wine, and as previous reviews have said the chocolate brownie was amazing!
We didn't look round the town much, but opposite was a church with lovely bells.

Overall lovely relaxing stay, friendly staff and very comfortable room (though some parts a bit dusty). Would definitely stay again if we needed to be in that part of the country.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We go here often and always enjoy it. The food and service always impress and a lovely selection of wine. Seating is relaxed and comfortable. They do not accept booking, which is a shame, but you can usually sit and drink and wait (not too long). Portions and quality always impress.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in the Wellington on the Friday night before I got married, with my new wife joining me on the Saturday. We live local so knew the food and service were good here but had never stayed.

I had room 3 which was one of the larger rooms complete with a slipper bath, but no shower. The bed was great along coffee/tea making, iPod dock even a hot water bottle if needed.

The room was not dirty was was a bit dusty but this was partly their own making as there are lots of glass and mirror shelving which showed up the dust!

Breakfast is excellent and service as a whole was good. My best man and his family stayed and getting two put up beds or is boys was no problem.

Room Tip: If you want a shower make sure you say!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_Welwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
443 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
660 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.7 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington at Welwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington at Welwyn

Address: 1 High Street, Welwyn AL6 9LZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Welwyn
Price Range: $141 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wellington at Welwyn 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six bedrooms, each one slightly different, complement the Wellington's award-winning food and service. In keeping with the spirit of a building dating from 1352, we have kept and restored as many of the original features as possible, so you will encounter oak beams, cedar pine floors as well as antique furniture throughout the building. Some rooms even have an open fireplace or a four-poster bed... Each room has also been updated to offer you all the luxuries of contemporary living with plate glass, crisp bed linen and feather-down duvet on hand-sprung mattresses, monsoon showers or deep free-standing slipper baths, free WiFi, flat screen TV and a personal iPod dock/iPhone charger in your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wellington At Welwyn Hotel Welwyn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing