We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,584 results
Traveler rating
983
390
160
28
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
983
390
160
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach dress code the main hotel cocktail bar corner bar sea view bungalow room hotel beach pine trees half board long trousers beautiful hotel beach towels buffet style evening meal for lunch waiter service changed daily
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,584 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have just come back from a restful week at the White rocks on half board. We had a lovely stay with time to recharge ourselves in a spectacular pine tree setting with beautiful hilltop sea views.
We stayed in bungalow 43 which is on the edge of the complex so there was a walk to the hotel and restaurant. The walk was slightly hilly.
The whole complex is beautifully maintained including the hotel, swimming pool and grounds, with lovely lush plant pots along the paths.
Our bungalow was spotlessly clean, with a balcony and a bathroom that had double sinks and an excellent power shower.
The food was all freshly prepared and cooked with buffet style breakfast and dinner. We also had a lunch a few times in the downstairs restaurant bar. The chips were absolutely delicious, authentic, crispy and seasoned with aromatic oregano and were made with real potatoes; something of a rarity nowadays.
Who wouldn’t I recommend to this hotel to?
Anyone whom has mobility problems as there are some steep paths and stairways. Also anyone who likes lots of evening entertainment at their hotel or loud music beside the poolside.
Who would I recommend the hotel to?
Anyone that wants a luxury peaceful holiday hotel with excellent food in a beautiful setting beside the gloriously warm and clear Ionian sea.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Duty Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Karen P,

Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent stay at the White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia. We are delighted that you have appreciated our restful ambiance, our freshly prepared food and especially our authentic oregano seasoned chips.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful and unspoiled island and to the White Rocks Hotel in the near future to enjoy a nurturing and peaceful holiday.

Until we meet again, we wish you all the best!

Kind regards
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely hotel, in a beautiful spot. I have to agree with the above reviews. Lovely large clean room (we were in 403) overlooking the sea and beach. All the staff
are great from the reception staff, to the restaurant and bar staff, and the cleaners and grounds staff. The pool is fab, but the 35 euro sunbeds placed on a wooden plinth are a waste of time, taking up the space of 4 beds. A cheek to ask people to pay this, just get rid of them, as hardly anyone used them, what a waste of space. The little private beach is lovely, and the beach bar is very good, nice drinks and food. The rooms at the front of the hotel are very shaded and right onto the road, i would not want to stay in one. Very quiet at night, 2 lovely quiet bars. We loved the food, what a choice, great breakfast and lovely evening meal choices.

Room tip: Rooms at the front have A/C noise, are dark and on the road. Better with a sea view at the back, 4th floor is good.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 157catlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Duty Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 157 Catlover,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent stay at the White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia.

We are delighted that you have appreciated our beautiful and serene location, our staff, the pool, the private beach and our dining services.

It has been a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful island of Kefalonia and the White Rocks in the very near future.

Kind regards
the White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is undoubtedly the best hotel in Lassi - it’s situated in a beautiful spot overlooking the beach. I so wanted to love it - and there were elements that I did - but there were a few points that detracted from our holiday. It’s all a matter of individual taste I know -you can’t please all the people all the time!

I would happily give it five stars for the location, the views, hotel design, swimming pool and luxurious sun beds, the breakfast buffet, beach bar, great shower/bathroom, and the standard of the hotel bedrooms.

The elements that made me mark it lower were:

The well documented archaic dress code for men (it’s a beach hotel not a five star city centre hotel!). I would understand it in the a la carte restaurant but not in a buffet restaurant.

The petty rules in place about a few things - if you swap your half board dinner for lunch then you have to have it at 12:30 on set tables. The rules around the use of the fridge for your own drinks and not being allowed to bring in water from local supermarkets. Sectioning off ten sunbeds around the pool and charging 35 euros for people wishing to reserve them is ridiculous. Yes I know that included a bottle of Prosecco but they were empty most days which was a shame.

It would have been nice to have some subtle background music by the pool, or in the restaurant which would have added some ambience to what is quite a sterile setting otherwise (not loud disco music - just something in keeping with the hotel).

If you book a ‘normal’ room with a balcony (not a sea view room) then you will be facing the road which is very close and runs the whole length of the hotel. Whilst we had a balcony we didn’t sit out on it due to the traffic noise - plus you’re in the shade all afternoon.

Prices in the hotels were quite high for both drinks and the a la carte restaurant.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and I would return to Kefalonia. The hotel food was generally of high quality and well presented but we choose to eat out several nights as there are some great tavernas nearby in Lassi and we prefer genuine Greek food.

The hotel is not suitable for those with walking difficulties due to lots of steps and the steep descent to the beaches nearby.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PuttingPenToPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Duty Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Putpentopaper,

Thank you for expressing your point of view following your recent stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have appreciated our beautiful seafront location, the hotel design, the swimming pool and the comfortable sun beds as well as the high quality of our food and the overall standard of the hotel bedrooms.

Further to your comments, kindly note that there are a few decisive factors that set the hotel apart. There is an elegant feel throughout addressing to guests that appreciate this sensation. So dressing up for dinner and no music at the pool are very much appreciated and expected by our guests.

The obvious thing to say about music at the pool is that there’s no right or wrong music, there aren’t distinct categories of “proper” or “good” music. As long as it can still be described as music and not noise, any genre should be able to illustrate the major strengths and weaknesses of a pair of headphones. So the simple recommendation is to listen to your prefered kind of music via bluetooth headpnones.

We do offer complimentary “first come first seated” service at the pool, the lawn area and our private beach. Alternatively, we offer ease of mind to guests who are not early risers, by providing the option to book and reserve one of our five gazebos.

Our guestrooms are not equipped with kitchen facilities and refrigerators. Our refreshment mini bars are points of sales and are stocked by the hotel staff.

Packages are preferred by certain guests because of their fixed cost benefit. We understand that you have made good use of the added value offered in this package and that you have valued the inclusive option of “lunch instead of dinner” . A la carte and all-day dining are personalized experiences which we are always more than happy to offer to all our guests.

All our services are described in our website and in the social media in order to facilitate travelers make informed decisions prior to their booking process. While at the resort we always aim to provide a superior service to our guests.

We thank you again for choosing us for your vacation, for sharing your thoughts and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot think why anyone would write a negative review about this fabulous hotel. From our greeting on arrival to our efficient check-out on departure, the service and friendliness of the staff were second-to-none. Our rooms were kept spotlessly clean by the lovely housekeeping staff, with towels and bedding changed daily if one wished. Meals were very varied to suit all palates - the desserts each evening were to die for! The dress code for men in the evening was welcome though we did spot a few ladies in shorts! A special mention for Gerasimos in the restaurant who was always so attentive, and for Alexandra on Reception who was charming and efficient. The location of the hotel, as many reviewers have said, is stunning and to sit after dinner on the terrace overlooking the sea was very special. We hired a car for a few days and toured the island - well worth the cost as there are many beautiful places to visit such as Fiskardo and Assos. Seeing the turtles in Argostoli at the far end of the harbour at around 10 am each day when the fishermen return is a highlight. All in all a beautiful place to relax and from which to tour this gorgeous island. We will definitely return. (PS. a few signs to Reception, the pool and beach, etc. would be most helpful).

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Vera31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Vera31,

Thank you for you sharing your excellent experience at the White Rocks Hotel after your recent stay with us.
Your compliments regarding the hotel's stunning sunsets, the the level of service by our staff, the care that our Chefs put in the preparation of the meals and your recommendations are highly appreciated and they definitely motivate us in order to offer you the perfect vacation ambiance that you were dreaming of.

Thank you once again for your generous review. We will be pleased to welcome you again in the near future and offer you even higher level of services. Your kind compliments give us a big smile!

It has been a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having just read the last review from PEG I have little to add. We returned from White Rocks with our friends after a two week stay, when we recharged our batteries and relaxed. This was our 6th successive year and it was the best! We stayed in bungalow 43 this year, wonderful views across the sea,hard to beat those glorious sunsets. We enjoy the longish walks down to the main building it is all so quiet and peaceful! We are already looking forward to next year's stay. Thank you team White Rocks

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Hols98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Reservations at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hols98,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings after your 6th successive holiday at the White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia. We are delighted that you have appreciated our services and enjoyed our glorious sunsets! We are honored that you have embraced the Kefalonian culture and for showing your appreciation. On behalf of the entire team we thank you as your kind words don't cost much yet they accomplish much.

We wish you all the best and we are looking forward in welcoming you again next year.

Kind regards
Penelope A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews