We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveler rating
880
353
137
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
353
137
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspublic beachdress codethe main hotelcocktail barcorner barsea viewsmall private beachbungalow roompine treeshalf boardlong trousershotel groundshead waiterbeach towelsbuffet stylewaiter serviceevening meal for lunch
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018

10 minutes from the airport, so first to drop off and last to pick up by the coach.
This means that you do get occasional aircraft noise but we don't mind, we find it quite entertaining. The latest we heard aircraft was 10.30pm.
We were met at the top of the step entrance to the hotel (this place is not for people with mobility issues) by a man who carried our bags down and then took them to our room, so have a tip ready.
The lobby is beautiful, clean and modern, and the terrace draws you through to look at the view of turquoise water below the pine trees. The view is amazing and you will never forget that rock in the sea !
A warm welcome and swift check in meant we were nearly in that pool !
We booked 2 rooms through Thomas Cook but weren't offered the choice of sea view, so we were worried having read reviews of the road view.
We were given one room with a sea view over the public beach. Wow - beautiful view, and worth paying for if you get the chance. The only downside to this room was the very large inflatable cinema screen put up four nights out of our seven night stay. They blasted a Greek language film from 10pm to 12.30am on those 4 nights. No warning or apology from the hotel, and it was VERY loud. I could hear the baby next door crying.
The road view was very disappointing. The road was above our room and the noise was pretty much constant. You could also hear noise from the air conditioning fans on that side. Added to that is the fact that the balconies aren't private, you can see right along all balconies. But if you're not going to spend much time on it, it doesn't matter.
When the hotel realised that this room was for two teenage siblings they quickly put in a spare bed , so they got a double and a single bed.
The rooms are modern and clean with plenty of storage. One door key per room means you can't leave the air conditioning on, but the rooms aren't too hot and quickly cool down.
Tip - whenever you open and close a door you need to press the air conditioning button again.
Unfortunately the safe is not big enough for an iPad or lap top, which isn't good enough
these days. Added to that, the cleaners insisted on leaving the patio door unlocked every day. Not good enough. Stop them leaving the doors open and get bigger safes.
When we booked this hotel we thought it was aimed at middle aged couples who want peace and quiet, and I'm sure it's like that when schools are in session. But it wasn't like that in August when we went. There were many kids of all ages and, despite a notice saying they weren't allowed, there were many lilo's in the pool. Along with balls and water squirters.
The pool is lovely and clean. There are plenty of sunbeds all day, unfortunately you still get those people who put their towels down before breakfast but don't turn up until 11am.
The private beach is small but perfectly formed. You do need beach shoes though as it's stony and slippy in places. Lovely for snorkelling and a swim.
The public beach next door is fabulous. €7 for two sunbeds and a brolly all day. Lovely sand and gently shelving, clear water. Great for kids.
Clamber over the stones on the far side and you find the lively beach with pedaloes and a fantastic beach bar doing coffees and sandwiches. Wish we'd found it earlier.
The hotel beach bar is great and most days 3 of us shared 2 pizzas and a Greek salad.
The hotel breakfast is good but the only cereal I liked was the coco pop style cereal. If your kids are fussy, take your own.
The evening meal was good but became a bit repetitive. I do t go to Greece to eat Mexican and Italian food. The only Greek night was Friday with no Kleftiko to be seen. More Greek food please !!!
Food choice for vegetarians was poor and vegans will struggle. There was no specific kids food, which would have been a welcome addition.
The waitors work hard and are very pleasant. One person who shone out for us was Evangelia - always smiling with a genuine greeting. Please tip them at the end, they deserve it.
Friday night was also Greek entertainment night but it was cancelled without notice. We only found out after asking a waitor when it was going to start.
2 supermarkets a short trot up the hill for water etc. Plenty of restaurants a short walk along.
People have complained about the unlit part between the hotel and nearest footpath. It's 100 yards and you use your phone light as a torch - no worries, easy.
Before we left we read that you couldn't take your pool towel to the public beach - rubbish. Plenty of yellow hotel towels at the public beach. You need your room key to get back from the beach.
I also read that the pool towels don't get changed - rubbish. Just ask the house keeping ladies as you pass them. If your towel is reserving a sun bed they can't change them !!!!
Also that food/drink from the supermarkets was not allowed in the hotel - rubbish. No one to stop you.
€7 each way for a taxi into Argostoli. Lovely for a walk along to look at the boats, then an evening meal on the square.
This was a lovely clean hotel, with an amazing view and lovely staff. We would visit again in a heartbeat.
Don't ponder it, book it - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sea view without a doubt.
Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank mumof3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Booked sea view room. Clean, bathroom very small, bed we thought was comfortable but we did not sleep well. Surprised only one room key so air conditioning only on when in your room. Saying this it was cool enough at bed time. Fridge is just for mini bar use. Asked for ice bucket for our bottle and were asked "what it was for," I replied for bottle in our room and reply was "sorry can't do that"!! Never have come across this before.
Food both at breakfast and evening meal was excellent. Service was good.
Private beach very small and shingle, and very close to your neighbour. The public beach next door for which there was a small charge was more spacious and sandy. Disappointing that the hotel's beach was inferior.
We can summarise very nice hotel but not for us.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for appreciating our buffet breakfast and dinner and we are pleased to read that you had a relaxing break.

Further to your comments kindly note that we do advertise everywhere including our website, the “in- room facilities” that feature a minibar stocked by the hotel.

The facilities you describe can be found in “rooms-to-let” or “apartments for rent” that offer serviced kitchen facilities. However we are more than happy to offer room service to your guestroom for any items you may require including a bucket of ice.

We confirm that the hotel's beach is shingle, natural, clean, private and serene, with beach bar facilities including wc, which are all available complimentary for the enjoyment of our guests. The public beach is big, busy, chargeable, without facilities but equally clean with beautiful sand.

We are fortunate and happy to be able to offer to our guests one of the best beaches of Kefalonia and more than one option to choose from, in close proximity and equal walking distance from one's guestroom!!

Kind regards,

the White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

We were the second arrivals in this year & the hotel was blissfully quiet for the first few days. After the first main arrival the hotel filled up but I have to say it never felt busy apart from mealtimes, this is the only part of the holiday that bothered me. When the hotel was full, people were queuing to be seated and the tables were so close, it felt very canteeny. I missed eating outside and in a clam atmosphere.
We loved the hotel & had a great 3rd floor room over the lobby bar looking out to sea. Everything was pristine with clean linen & towels every day, including pool towels. We never struggled to get a sun bed by the pool. We swam from the hotel beach which is very stoney but the public beach the other side is all sand. We walked round to the next beach & also scrambled the rocks round one day, in flipflops so not that bad and enjoyed drinks at the lovely beach café.
Lassi is a perfunctory holiday resort along the main road and altho not busy isn't very pretty. We walked to Argostoli along the road which took near on an hour and saw a couple of turtles. I don't think I would walk again unless doing the long scenic route. We just wanted to chill so opted to do the top of the range island tour. We were guided by an islander who gave us so much history that we would have missed out on if we had decided to do by ourselves. We had a lovely lunch right by the water in Fiskardo and a great stop in Assos. The only bit we would have happily missed was the boat trip which went on forever, the coastline is just tree lined all the way & the stop for swimming was in a littered stoney bay & most people opted to stay on the boat.
Overall we loved Kefalonia & loved the hotel, it gave us the holiday we needed, thank you.

Room Tip: seaview definitely
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank susie1962uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Went to White Rocks for my wife’s birthday last week and having read some of the reviews lately posted I can’t believe I went to the same place.
I found all the staff very friendly and helpful the food was very good,ok not always piping hot but it never is when a buffet style.The location was great,the private beach wasn’t huge but if you like swimming or snorkelling very good not a strip of sand with a featureless bit of water in front.The air con worked ok when we got in the room after a day in the sun.thetemp lowered quickly.The only whinge I have is that the wi if was pretty hit and miss.Both of us and the rest of us who traveled all agreed that we would visit again.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing White Rocks Hotel to celebrate your birthday holiday and that you liked swimming and snorkelling in the hotel's private beach. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the service and facilities to be of a good standard. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to White Rocks in the near future.

with our best wishes
the White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks here. The hotel is clean, modern and elegantly furnished with hints of tradition (some beautiful old black and white photographs etc). You are left aline, not hassled or 'entertained', and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed.

Dining - we were half board and really impressed with breakfast and dinner.
A couple of recommendations - some evenings there weren't many options for vegetarians as even things that at first blush seem vegetarian (rissoto, salads, stuffed mushrooms) contain bits of bacon. Perhaps bear this in mind?
Water - jugs of water should be available on the buffet rather than at table. It would also be a good idea for the hotel to have a few jugs of iced water at reception as most hotels do in hot countries (especially given it us quite a climb from the beach to main hotel.)

Bar - lovely cocktails but quite slow service

Beach - great swimming and snorkeling. Recommend some water shoes as quite pebbly to get in.
Didn't see the need for staff to insist on closing all the beach umbrellas at about 5pm when it was still very sunny even when we were sitting under them?! Odd!!

Recommend hiring a car as not a huge amount to do in immediate vicinity.

Rooms - clean, spacious, lots of storage space. Cleaning staff were really good, although occasionally it was 3/4pm before our room was cleaned.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank clemk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Guest Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent holiday at White Rocks Hotel. We are pleased to read that you appreciated the elegant surroundings and understated ambiance that we offer and found the cleanliness standards to be high.
We appreciate your comments as it is only by listening to guests that we can make improvements to our services, products and overall experience. We are sorry to have not fully met with your expectations, as we are committed to delivering a high standard of service to all guests. We hope that we will get another chance to welcome you back to White Rocks in the future.

Kind regards
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews