We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,475)
Filter reviews
1,475 results
Traveler rating
916
365
148
25
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
916
365
148
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach dress code the main hotel cocktail bar corner bar sea view bungalow room hotel beach pine trees half board long trousers beautiful hotel beach towels buffet style evening meal for lunch waiter service changed daily
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
427 - 432 of 1,475 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2017

good food. funny and friendly staff -w without being too intrusive. excellent buffet choices. very clean and modern room. excellent water pressure! cocktails by jannos were amazing (though a little pricey). About 5 mins from airport which was amazing but hardly any flights so no annoying flight noise. Pool was a little busy and often struggled to get a lounger - but it was high season. definitely recommend. walking distance to argostoli and lassi

Room tip: bungalows are quite a walk from main building where meals are served....
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 394jamese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, WHITE ROCKS HOTEL KEFALONIA, GREECE at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you taking the time to rate the White Rocks and for recommending the hotel to the travel community. We thank you for your positive comments in regards to the friendly and professional disposition of our staff. Your comments about our food and buffet choices have pleased us as it is always our goal to provide a unique and local experience to our guests. We would love to see you again and we are looking forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017 via mobile

This is one of the nicest places we been but I would say if you are going to book get a sea view room or for a little extra have one of the bungalows we had a lovely time the for at the local restaurant which are a five or ten minutes walk are lovely hotel staff are friendly and very helpful would love to go again in the near future

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank Morris190406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, WHITE ROCKS HOTEL KEFALONIA at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for your review and for appreciating the hotel . We are honored that you have found the White Rocks as one of the nicest places you have ever been to. We are very pleased that you have appreciated our staff's friendliness, professionalism and helpfulness. Thank you again and we are looking forward in welcoming you again at the White Rocks and to Kefalonia.

All our best wishes
Sincerely,
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

I visited this hotel with my partner and parents. The hotel itself is beautiful, immaculate & modern. The island is also stunning, crystal clear sea, white sandy beaches & such a view. We didn't choose this resort nor hotel as party goers expecting wild nightlife & shots all round. We wanted a relaxing holiday, but we did expect a little more enthusiasm from the staff & a little more entertainment.

When arriving at the hotel the staff were efficient, pleasant enough and the restaurant remained opened for us as we arrived late at night and we were starving.

After eating we freshened up and headed to the downstairs bar, the upstairs bar was like a waiting area for guests arriving & leaving, very quiet and small, however through the day had a beautiful view overlooking the sea. It took 10 minutes for our first drink order to be taken, it wasn't busy, we understood that it was a half board basis holiday, so we approached the bar several times to order drinks but we're asked to sit and someone would be over. Excited to begin our holiday we ordered cocktails, beaming we was, until the waitress looked like she was working at a prison, where the inmates were asking far to much of her. Handing over the money my dad gave her a large tip, in hope our drink service would become a little bit quicker and maybe she would smile. Oh boy was we wrong. The entertainment came from a few bugs on the wall making a rattling sound.

Luckily we was tired and we hoped in that the lack of effort to make our holiday a little more exciting from the staff, they was too. So we called it a night.

The food in the hotel was great, quite a variety and constantly being turned over so it was fresh. The one drink you got with your meal was white, red, sparkling or orange & coffee. Nice enough. The staff seemed a little robotic, I do like organised places but they seemed a little hard done to, as if they had to turn you over as quick as possible and not engage in conversation just to get their job done. Stressed staff = unhappy staff. We love Greece mainly for its friendly people, in the white rocks hotel, not so much. On one of our days we decided to swop the tea for lunch, what a bad idea. Here again was the prison officer waitress as if it was her last day on earth. 'What do you want to eat' such a lack of manners. My dad asked if he could swop his rice for chips. He received a death stare yet a yes as if he was stupid. She made our whole hour their uncomfortable.

For the remainder of the holiday (after 3 days in the hotel) we decided to break the bank and chose to eat all our meals other than breakfast at various restaurants outside the hotel. Best decision made. Aqua Mariana a local bar/eatery down the road MADE our holiday. Delicious reasonably priced food, the best steak! Free shots at night! Karaoke, traditional Greek dancing, quiz night, pool table, amazing cocktails and a fab view! Staff were amazing!! Even when we told the manager where we was staying he grunted.

Other notes - the pool at the hotel was clean and warm, there were enough sun loungers for everyone, the beach was quite a rocky walk but pretty & worth it. Snacks/drinks are available behind the pool area, reasonably priced. There was some entertainment, singers & various instruments being played, nice, but not for every night. Use your safe it's free. We indulged in the mini bar but it does cost. Be prepared for the bill. We cannot fault the efficiency of the staff, nor food/drink, cleanliness & facilities.

Unfortunately this hotel struggles to take on board constructive criticism, my friend has visited previous had similar thoughts but had her review removed. As you'll see the management responses tend to be quite sarcastic. Before I receive a response explaining that this hotel is not for those who like boozy nights or 'free shots' it's not about that. If you added a little more liveliness to the nights, allowed your staff to engage, sacked miserable Margaret & had a better bar service, the hotel would be whole. The majority of people who go on holiday, elderly or not, relax through the day and hope to be able to let their hair down at night. Even my 76 year old grandma wouldn't enjoy just being able to sun lounge until she was a raisin and eat in the regimental atmosphere restaurant. Us brits love a good time!!!!!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
17  Thank PollyL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, WHITE ROCKS HOTEL at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2017

As you are our first review for 2017, we take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year for you and your loved ones.

We understand that you have appreciated the beautiful immaculate and modern setting, the crystal clear sea, the efficient staff and our great food being fresh and plentiful. You have enjoyed our clean and warm pool, you have found plenty of sunbeds for everyone and found our drinks and snacks reasonably priced. You also acknowledged that we offer discreet Greek night entertainment with singers and various instruments.

We are also happy that you have noticed that we have opened the restaurant in order to facilitate you on your late arrival. Therefore we thank you that you cannot fault the efficiency of the staff nor food/drink, cleanliness and facilities of this hotel.

However there is not as you mention “upstairs small and quiet bar” area. The Lobby Bar is quiet big and spacious with a massive lounge with sun and sea view veranda. We do not offer package lunch or dinner including drinks and coffee. In our restaurants we offer a drinks menu with wines from vineyards from all around Greece and we are sorry that you have not notice it.

We apologise for not offering the entertaining style you wished for as we do not do free shots, drinks, karaoke, quiz night, pool table and daily entertaining. Unfortunately this is not the type of entertainment addressed to our guests nor depicts the culture of our services.

It seems that you had a disaster encounter with an imaginary member of staff in June 2016 called Margaret. This part of your review does not convey constructive criticism, it depicts intension to harm as we may confirm that we do not have any staff member fitting that unpleasant description or name.

Based on the above we report your review as an attack addressed to a non-existing staff member.

Kindly note that we have to question your motives. We are positive that Tripadvisor readers will do the same and draw their own conclusions from every review and assign credibility accordingly. Therefore we thank you very much for your input which is helpful to people with similar prerequisites and lifestyle preferences.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2016

This was our first time to Kefalonia and after reading the reviews and talking to several travel agents we plumped for The White Rocks Hotel.We upgraded to a sea view and this was a good move although the trees in front of our balcony were quite mature we could still see and hear the sea,far better than looking at the main road.Our room was of a very high standard,spotlessly clean and maids were in every day,changing bath and pool towels if required.The staff were very friendly and helpful (speak very good English),the food was excellent with a large selection of everything to suit most tastes all served in a beautiful restaurant with suberb views.(men have to wear trousers in the evening,EXCELLENT decision by the management,Simple,look smart,eat dinner,pop and put shorts on,enjoy rest of the evening.)
The pool is a short walk (5-6minutes)from the Hotel and is quite modest in size but there was always room in and around it,we use to stay out later when most people had returned to their rooms at about 6pm and it was lovely and quiet,also no mad rush to reserve sun beds,all very sensible and long may it last.
The private beach is down quite a steep slope but definitely worth the walk,the sea is very rocky and water shoes are recommended,the water itself is lovely and clear and warm but can be a bit on the choppy side.
We stayed for 10 days and hired a car for 3 of them to explore the rest of the island as it is quite quiet at the Hotel but ideal if you just want to relax and unwind.There is not much in the way of evening entertainment (none is better than rubbish) but a short walk into the nearby village solves that problem.
One thing that I have not seen mentioned is the crickets,from the moment the sun rises until it sets they make their buzzy buzzy noise all day long,it's something you get use to and certainly don't let it put you off booking this Hotel because it is absolutely fabulous.Classy without being overpowering.Go and enjoy !!

Room tip: Sea view a must
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank ssally2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, WHITE ROCKS HOTEL KEFALONIA, GREECE at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words about the hotel and our staff. We are very committed and all the staff work hard to produce an efficient and discrete service without being overpowering to our guests. We are delighted that you have appreciated our culture and our services. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time at the White Rocks and we thank you for recommending the White Rocks Hotel to the travel community of Tripadvisor. We look forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

We spent the last week of September 2016 at White Rocks Hotel, Kefalonia. As all the previous reviewers have said, White Rocks Hotel is great: very comfortable; clean, fresh towels (and beach towels) every day and bed linen too if you want; excellent food and friendly staff. The hotel had already been recommended to us by a friend but our main concern was how the weather would be at the very end of September. It was marvellous, upper 20s/30 degrees and lovely warm and crystal clear sea. We were very lazy and just walked along to the local sandy beach (with a beach bar) most days and lay on a comfortable sun bed (8 euros for 2 for the day if I remember correctly). You can block book your sun bed for the week if you want to be really lazy to ensure a front row uninterrupted sea view . The staff from the beach bar served us drinks and when we were too hot we had a swim. Perfect! There is not much here for children or young people, but if you're just looking to chill in beautiful surroundings then this is the place to do it.

Date of stay: September 2016
7  Thank 364marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, WHITE ROCKS HOTEL KEFALONIA, GREECE at White Rocks Hotel Kefalonia, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Dear Reviewer, we are delighted that the Kefalonian weather was kind enough to offer you an unforgettable vacation. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed our excellent food and friendly staff as well as our interior design which you have found great.

Looking forward in welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
The White Rocks team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews