We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The White rocks hotel is situated just outside Lassi between the main road and the beach. It is possible to walk into Lassi in 10 - 15 minutes. Walking "through the grounds" is preferable due to a sharp bend on the road, which although not over busy is quite narrow and dark at night. Alternatively taxi’s are very reasonably priced. The hotel covers a large area with bungalows stretching out along the gardens. The hotel is elevated therefore some walking is inevitable, however you don't get views like these without elevation, sunset is particularly attractive from the hotel.

On arrival access to the hotel is down several steps into a bright modern reception, your bags will be taken by porters and delivered to your room, check in is quick, polite and efficient, the staff being very helpful.

The reception and lounge area is very light and furnished well, with an inside bar and glass doors onto a patio area overlooking the sea with adequately comfortable furniture and waiter service from the bar.

The rooms are of various types, from land view, sea view and bungalows. I stayed in a land view room, which was of a good size, tastefully decorated and with a high specification of furnishing. There was more than adequate drawer and cupboard space, mini bar and complimentary safe. Towels ( including pool towels ) and bedding are routinely changed on a daily basis, the maid kept the room spotless! I used the hotel laundry service, which was both very efficient, clothes returned and hung up in the wardrobe within 24hrs, and sensibly priced. One word of caution, it is very easy to catch your hands on the doorframe when opening the doors, but I have been advised by the hotel that this is to be resolved.

Breakfast and evening meals were of a high standard with plenty of choice, although at times the restaurant did get rather busy. The quality and choice of the food being of a high standard, and is topped up before items are depleted.
I am told that an "a la carte" restaurant is to be available next year. The service in the restaurant was excellent with all staff being very efficient, polite and helpful.

The cocktail bar is a few minutes walk from the main building, where it is possible to sit inside or out and enjoy a very pleasant drink.

Entertainment was pretty much non-existent, but apparently this is to be addressed for the 2013 season.

The pool is elevated, very clean and never over crowded, the private beach is small and of sand and shingle, getting in and out of the sea can be tricky as there are large stones covering most of the shore line. There are free sun beds and a small beach bar serving drinks and a selection of snacks serving both the beach and pool.

In summary, this is a very pleasant hotel, it has a very good standard of accommodation and is very tastefully decorated; the staff are all courteous and helpful.

Since getting home I have contacted the hotel and pointed out minor concerns, as expected they have replied, accepting any constructive criticism with reassurances of rectifications intended, I would certainly return!

Room Tip: Sea views a must
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
There are newer reviews for White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've just returned from a week at this excellent hotel. The accommodation is outstanding and was kept spotlessly clean. We had a bungalow which I would highly recommend. The grounds are beautifully done (although there are a couple of small areas still needing landscaping, which I presume will be done in the next refurbishment phase).

We ate out most nights, swapping our evening meal voucher for lunch, but had dinner twice at the hotel The food we had for lunch and dinner was very good indeed but we both felt the breakfast was lacking in comparison to other places we have stayed previously.

We hired a car for two days and toured the island. I'd definitely recommend this. Poros, Fiskardo and Myrtos beach were beautiful. There are some stunning sights. We had two nights out in Argostoli but found it quite quiet and preferred Lassi as bars and restaurants were busier and better quality. There are a couple of supermarkets in Lassi where you can buy anything you need - it's a quiet tourist area, not commercial or tacky at all.

I would love to give this hotel 5 stars but it's not 'quite' there yet. If it had a gym/spa and better bar facilities I would have no hesitation. We loved the corner bar but the main hotel bar area lacked atmosphere. However, these are very minor comments based on comparing this to other hotels we have stayed at in the past. I would definitely go back as this is an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thevales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just had a lovely week in this hotel, it is decorated to a high standard with excellent cupboard space in bedrooms, which are cleaned every day and towels and linen changed. All staff speak English and are really pleasant and helpful. Be careful with your booking as despite our travel agent assuring us all their rooms had a sea view we were initially put in a rear room which gets no sunlight and is right next to the road, we had to pay 10 euros a night to upgrade to a sea view, which we were under the impression we had already paid for.
It has lovely surroundings spaced out so everone is not on top of each other. A small private beach with sun beds . Also access to 2 other lovely beaches with nice padded sun beds which are 6 euros a day for 2 beds and a parasol. The corner bar which is part of the hotel overlooks the sea where you can watch a stunning sunset. The food was excellent always a nice and varied choice.
Lassi is about 15 minute walk and part of it has no path but a taxi is only about 5 Euros. There is a bus service outside the hotel to Argostoli, 1.5 euros from there you can get buses to anywhere on the island, but be aware they do not always return, we took a trip to Sami to find the bus had not returned as it had gone to Athens on the ferry!!!
We also took a tour around the island which was lovely with an excellent guide, this we booked for 25 Euros with an agent in Lassi.

Room Tip: Request a sea view or a bungalow
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonMarie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just come back from Kefalonia, staying at the White Rocks Hotel. The refurbishment was excellent. Up-to-date and the hotel rooms were outstanding. If you like tea or coffee in your hotel room take your own or buy in local supermarket as only cups/saucer and kettle are provided. Bed Linen and towels changed daily The beach towels were a nice touch, saved us taking our own. Food, buffet style, lovely. Nice bar and staff very friendly. the island itself was very picturesque. Although we were there to relax, we did do one tour of the island which was stunning. Overall a great holiday and cannot find fault at all with the hotel. We will be going back in May next year. We did check out the bungalows and they were very nice with great views so may be next year we might go for one of them.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road, but it didnt bother us as we couldnt hear any traffic at night. Don't k...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 174linmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

5th visit to this hotel, 8th to Lassi
the hotel refurb is STUNNING!
Stay in a bungalow for the best views overlooking the bay and the sea
you will NOT be disappointed
food, rooms, staff - all amazing, so clean + tidy
I can't wait to go back next year!!!

Room Tip: a bungalow is a must have - new clear glass balconies mean you can see the sea even when you are sat...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missellie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were unable to book a bungalow so we booked a sea view room. The room was outstanding, the refurbishment has been finished to a high standard. The view from the room was excellent, watching the sunset from the balcony was amazing! The food is excellent for a buffet restaurant, and the bar is relaxing, with the terrace providing an excellent setting. The private beach is more rocky than the private beach, but is great for sunbathing and snorkelling. The public beach is just a five minute walk, and is great for sunbathing and swimming. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The truth is i am unable to fault the hotel, my wife and i booked 11 nights, and will be booking again next year!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karinanddaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had high hopes for this hotel. My hubby had stayed before the refurb so could remember how it was pre face lift. Good points - wonderful room. We had a bungalow and was worth every penny. Lovely and big, fantastic view, super comfortable bed and slept well in it, bed linen and towels changed daily, good selection of tv channels (if you fancied watching a bit of tv) the best power shower ever and brilliant air con. We loved our room and too be honest, we could of sat on our balcony chilling out very easily. Note - nasty green plastic patio furniture stopped us from doing that. However, the little beach was so lovely and always plenty of sun beds and plenty around the pool as well.

But, there are many many things that need improving. Breakfast and dinner - you had to queue up! And when you got in and was seated - finally - you had the most horrible dinning experience ever! Waiters and waitresses with no personality. No smile, no manners. You waited ages for your coffee in the morning - I watched one guest chase around after a waiter with his empty coffee cup to trying to get a drink. I got up on several mornings and got our own juice because we asked for it but never got it! And please don't give guests tea plates to eat their cooked breakfast of off. Why not a full size plate? And paper napkins at breakfast - why not the same linen as the evening? Soul-less dinning room, harsh over head lights outside, scrapping of chairs and rushed rushed rushed. Stone cold plates for hot food in the evening. Every night out of our weeks stay, we had our used plates stacked up on the side of the table, waiting for them to be cleared. Food was fine but far from great.

Terrible service in the lobby/bar with one bar man and one waitress - poor things, running around like mad. We only tired to get a drink one evening and then didn't bother after that. However, drinks are very reasonably priced and if we could of got a drink then we would of stayed in the hotel more. No atmosphere either. Where are the tea lights, candles and lamps. pictures and soft furnishings? - make people comfortable and want to stay.............

Overall, we came home a bit fed up. Do go and experience this hotel but only stay on a b and b basis. Brace yourself for breakfast (it's a bit of bun fight) but do go out in the even as there are some fab places to eat and drink and Kefalonia is a beautiful island with lovely people and smashing places to visit.

I could go on for ever. It's such a shame because this could be a fantastic hotel. My hubby said the rooms are a massive improvement and we absolutely loved our bungalow but the rest of the stay let it down.

This hotel really needs to step up it's game. It needs to employ more staff, with hotel/hospitality experience and put a lot more thought into how their guest want to be treated and what their expectations are. Hotel not up to scratched yet......

Room Tip: Go for a bungalow if you can
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisabarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Public Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

We understand that you were not pleased with our service and we apologize for not making you happy. It is very important for us that you enjoy your stay and we always try our best in order to offer the best possible experience for your much valued holiday.

Actually nobody is forcing you to queue. It is a unique characteristic of some English guests to request to have dinner at 7.30 sharp. Therefore, they will naturally make a queue, at 7.20 even though they don’t have to. Naturally there is the alternative of enjoying a pre-dinner drink while wait for another 5 minutes until the queue is gone.

Regarding your comments about the Lobby staff, kindly note that we do employ 3 people in the Main Bar not 2.

Regarding your comment about the service at the restaurant, please be informed that for your convenience, waiters serve coffee and tea on your table but juices are on the Buffets available for everybody to be served over and over again.

Also, there are two kinds of plates available in our restaurants during breakfast. The cold buffet has smaller plates and the hot buffet has regular size plates, so actually you can pick both. Especially at the hot buffet, we do have an electric hot plate rack, so the plates are really hot. If you happen to have taken your plate the moment of re-loading of the rack, yes then the plate will be needing a few moments to get hot again.

Based on the fact that the satisfaction percentage of our customers reached this year 96%, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the food experience with us and that you feel let down. You are expressing your personal opinion which is valued. Contrary to your harsh review, there is however the majority of our satisfied customers who comment so favorably especially for our service and who come over and over every year for the friendly and effective staff and particularly for our culture of service. Therefore it is up to the Tripadvisor readers to judge.

We hope to welcome you back and wish you all the best in the meantime

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platis Gialos
0.8 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lassi
825 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lassi Hotel
Lassi Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lassi
391 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
22.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fiscardo
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Lassis | Kefalonia, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range: $152 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Dining Room serving buffet breakfast and dinner. Stairs down to a ground floor Lungomare a la la Carte Restaurant serving set menu a la carte and set menu lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Cephalonia - Platis Gialos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing