We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find in leafy Warwickshire !”
Review of The Hill Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hill Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Snitterfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2013

A home from home with an interesting garden.Two nights were spent here as an alternative to a near by hotel where an annual get-together was taking place . Gillian hit all the right notes with her attentiveness, which was just right in the English tradition . Bedroom & breakfast was perfect ; and the garden is a delightful amalgam of several themes, including a pond.
We would happily stay there again ....every previous reviewer has said it all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Glad you found time to explore the garden during your busy stay here. Our pleasure to make your stay comfortable and thanks for taking time to post your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and we took up two of their rooms as a family of four.
The hosts are charming and friendly without being intrusive. We did ask them several questions to help plan our days and they were extremely helpful.
The gardens are gorgeous and the house itself has been decorated with many little touches that make it fun to explore - from the dolls and toys to the books that are available for borrowing.
The location is ideal - a short drive from Stratford upon Avon, I think it was just around 3 miles.
You do feel like you are staying at someone's home - as you are - so if you are looking for a more "Inn" like experience - this is not for you. Also it is an older home - so while that adds to the charm, it also has its little quirks such as bathroom fans that can be heard all over the house, toilet tanks that take a while to fill up etc.
It was all part of the whole parcel so we really didn't mind but again may not be to everyone's taste.
So, if you are looking to experience English country charm then look no further than this charming B&B. But for modern hotel conveniences - go elsewhere.
One last thing - make sure you plan to arrive during daylight as it can be hard to find when its dark.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago_traveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay here and thanks for taking time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed two nights at The Hill Cottage for a business trip. I felt so at home. The owner Gillian was a superb host, finding that fine balance of being un-intrusive, yet freely available to help. The facilities offered were superb and of a very high standard. It is clear a lot of TLC and thought has been put into the deco of Hill Cottage which results in very comfortable surroundings topped off with beautiful views of the surrounding rolling hills. Thank you Gillian for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiAnnLi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Our pleasure, you are more than welcome. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a seven night stay here while touring N.T properties in the area. We were made to feel very welcome and at home in the beautifully kept property and garden. Nothing was too much trouble. We were offered a varied selection for breakfast and the cooked option was cooked and presented perfectly. We had a brilliant time made more so by the hosts. We would highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank mrsrj_masters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

it was very much our pleasure to have you stay for a week's exploration of the local area. You seemed to do so many things, hope you left something for next time!!! Kind of you to post your thoughts, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here only for one night for a short getaway to celebrate our 3rd anniversary, and it was perfect! The owners of the b&b made us both feel ever so welcome and were very helpful with suggestions and recommendations for places to visit and where to park etc. The room was gorgeous, with a lovely little en suite. The garden was beautifully maintained with bright flowers scattered around. Breakfast was perfectly cooked too with plenty of options. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josapie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your anniversary getaway and thanks for taking the time to review your visit. See you again, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

in this case I can assure you it is entirely apt...

literally brilliant, wonderful setting, views, food, welcome, Gillian and Charles were the perfect hosts... you will struggle to find a better value for money in the United Kingdom

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

You are most kind. Your break, minus children, obviously meant a lot to you so Paul and I were pleased to be part of making it a worthwhile experience.
Thanks for taking time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My boyfriend brought me here for a surprise night away, what a lovely surprise! We were welcomed with tea and coffee on the seating area in the beautiful garden. The room was lovely and homely & the surroundings were beautiful. I would recommend this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelseapowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your "surprise". I should keep that boyfriend!!
We did find a small gold cross ear stud following your visit which we'd be happy to send on id you supply your address via email from the website.
Best wishes. G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snitterfield
2.9 mi away
Adelphi Guest House
Adelphi Guest House
#5 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Moss Cottage
Moss Cottage
#12 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
190 reviews
3.8 mi away
Larkrise Cottage
Larkrise Cottage
#31 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#4 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ingon Manor Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Cottage

Address: The Hill Cottage Kings Lane | City: Stratford-upon-Avon, Snitterfield, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Snitterfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Snitterfield
Price Range: $50 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill Cottage is a character house set in idyllic Warwickshire countryside with far-reaching views over orchards and golf course to the hills beyond. Explore the extensive grounds, including bluebell wood (best in early May). Discover the local area of Shakespeare's Stratford, the River Avon and the theatre, or wander a little further and discover The Cotswolds, Warwick and its Castle, Leamington Spa, Birmingham, many National Trust properties, walks, country pubs, museums, beautiful gardens and much, much more. We look forward to welcoming you to a relaxing and memorable break! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing