We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Cottage and Very Friendly Hostess!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hill Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snitterfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hill Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Snitterfield B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage and Very Friendly Hostess!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

A lovely historic english cottage surrounded by beautiful gardens. Gillian was an amazing hostess and went above and beyond in looking after us! Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
It was my pleasure to help you enjoy the weekend with your friends. Thank you for staying with us and for your further cheque, safely received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
34
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Visiting from Spain....Myself and my daughters spent 3 days at Hill Cottage while visiting familiy in the area. We were made extremely welcome....nothing was too much trouble, and my daughters thought it was the most enchanting English cottage, and they loved walking through the gardens and taking photos of the bluebells. The breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend Hill Cottage.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
It was lovely to meet you and your girls and to see their obvious enjoyment of the cottage and gardens which must be white a contrast to their experiences back home in Spain. Hopefully we will have helped them develop a favourable impression of their English Mother's heritage!
Do please visit us again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay here with friendly hosts Gillian & Paul. Travelling with another couple, we occupied 2 rooms for 3 nights. The double room had en-suite facilities whilst the twin room had a separate and exclusive bathroom across the hallway. Facilities were modern and clean.Views across the valley towards Stratford were spectacular. Breakfast was great. The only downside was that the spiral staircase was steep and difficult to negotiate with luggage.This is a top place to stay and explore Stratford-upon-Avon which is not far away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Yes, you really seemed to enjoy exploring the area and packed in a lot of sightseeing with your friends whilst you were based here. Glad to be of service in giving you somewhere comfortable to return to at the end of your busy days. Thank you for your review.
Note: we always offer to carry luggage for our guests to/from their rooms so they can take the cottage stairs unencumbered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful cottage in great location. Gillian was very accommodating with our late booking. Nothing was a problem. There was even a lovely afternoon tea waiting for us. Very lovely experience we will remember of our trip to the UK. Thanks Gillian and Paul.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
It was a pleasure to help you relax and recharge, ready for the rest of your UK tour. Many thanks for taking the time, whilst still traveling, to write a review. Very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a gem and representative of the high quality B&Bs that abound in the UK.
We only needed a one night stay and booked via the internet. - quick and easy with our helpful hosts. What a surprise that the cottage was just what we were looking for (for couples) with a spectacular view across the valley to Stratford in the distant.

Quaint English character cottage in a quiet setting with all the comforts of home. Top quality furnishings and warm comfortable bed provided a great quick stay. Excellent service topped off by a bountiful full English breakfast - just the ticket to start the day.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We have enjoyed lots of Australian visitors so far this year and Trip Advisor does make choosing somewhere to stay whilst on the move so much easier. Thanks for your feedback for future visitors.
Note: All our rooms share different aspects of the same glorious views over orchards and golf course to the distant hill ridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We did stay for one night only but would have stayed there much longer if we had time for.
So many point of interrest justify more than a weekend
Despite a rainy weather it was great place to go;
Warm welcome, comfortable room, nice view( landscape & lot of birds), great breakfeast, good visit advice

what more do you need? do not hesitate

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertrand_FR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
It was a pleasure to have your family staying with us, even if for just the one night. Hope you will enjoy selecting a rose for your Paris balcony! Our thanks for taking time to write of your experiences at The Hill Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I'm very glad my family and I stayed at The Hill Cottage. Gillian and Paul made us feel perfectly welcome in their charming home and garden. We spent two nights in the double en-suite and the twin room. The rooms were much more lovely than the photos had led us to expect. And our needs were graciously met without our asking: tea service and biscuits in our rooms, a visitor brochure and a selection of books, plenty of space for our luggage and for hanging our clothes, hot showers, a key so we could return late, conversation when we wanted to chat and privacy when we wished. Breakfast was delicious. The garden and woods set The Hill Cottage apart from other options. After our long flight from the US, my children (11 and 14 years old), my husband, and I all appreciated the peaceful and lovingly-tended garden and woods. My children had much fun exploring paths through the woods and up the hillside. During our stay we drove to Warwick and Stratford-Upon-Avon. I highly recommend The Hill Cottage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillie W, Owner at The Hill Cottage, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
It was our complete pleasure to welcome you, and especially good that you had time for more than a 'flying visit' and could therefore relax, using The Hill Cottage as a base and enjoying the particular delights of the gardens. Our own children made copious dens in their younger days so it's good to still have others exploring with a sense of adventure! Thank you for taking time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snitterfield
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
4.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Cottage

Property: The Hill Cottage
Address: The Hill Cottage Kings Lane | City: Stratford-upon-Avon, Snitterfield, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Snitterfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Snitterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill Cottage is a character house set in idyllic Warwickshire countryside with far-reaching views over orchards and golf course to the hills beyond. Explore the extensive grounds, including bluebell wood (best in early May). Discover the local area of Shakespeare's Stratford, the River Avon and the theatre, or wander a little further and discover The Cotswolds, Warwick and its Castle, Leamington Spa, Birmingham, many National Trust properties, walks, country pubs, museums, beautiful gardens and much, much more. We look forward to welcoming you to a relaxing and memorable break! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing