We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romantic place to dine, stylish decor and relaxing evening was had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron Restaurant - CLOSED

Saffron Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Newly renovated restaurant in the heart of the historic city of Truro, Cornwall. Modern British fine dining offering seasonal, locally produced food, an excellent wine list and attentive service.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“romantic place to dine, stylish decor and relaxing evening was had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

First time out with husband for over a year and wanted to try newly opened Saffron. Interiors are welcoming, stylish, good lighting so provided a romantic feel! Food was BEAUTIFULLY presented and absolutely delicious. I had main and was a good portion so much so that I had to share pudding with husband. service was good, left to eat in peace which is always a good thing! Will go again as couple or friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fi39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    62
    19
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Intimate Lunch with Significant Other”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hubby and I don't get out often enough, but snatched a lunch alone this week.
We had enjoyed an early supper at Saffron last year so returned for lunch during a shopping trip in Truro. A wonderful refurb, homely and relaxing colours, friendly, knowledgable staff and utterly surprisingly exquisite food, all locally sourced.
Delicious, top notch, a local find that beats the more famous names.
We'll be back next time we have a chance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank downssideup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAgnes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic meal, delicious food and lovely ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a meal at the newly refurbished Saffron. We walk in and were met by friendly, helpful staff and given the choice of a table or booth. We opted for the table by the window.

I visited Saffron beforehand and the food was amazing, it still is as they have kept the same superb chef.

They have a lovely wine selection and the menu had a great variety meeting all tastes. We ordered the crab as a starter, which was mouth watering, then for mains my husband order the steak, which he really enjoyed and I had the red gurnard on a salad with a lovely meaty fish. Then we couldn't resist the puddings the Chocolate Easter Egg inspired pudding was a surprise when four version a chocolate desserts arrived, one an egg filled with lovely chocolate molten! A real treat, meanwhile my husband ordered the very generous plate of cheeses.

The staff were friendly and efficient and we will definitely be back! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KoruStAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good place for 'Ladies who Lunch'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A newly refurbished resturant, a very pleasant place to be. Very friendly service with staff keen to help and advise on the choices. A small range of choices for lunch but an interesting menu providing just the right meals for 'lunching ladies' with the added extra of daily specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annewesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch on Monday not very busy but took a long time for a poor slice of garlic bread cut into four triangles! Then two crab gnocchi small portions not a lunch dish at £9.00 just a starter from the evening menu also took an age nearly finished a bottle of wine by the time it arrived also the till didn't tally with the wine list overcharged by a pound no communication from front of house and the kitchen to say it would be an age on a very quiet lunchtime won't be returning.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing