We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character!”

Charlotte's Teahouse
Ranked #6 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Character!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I too was surprised at so much negativity! We stumbled on this place very late in the day, just as they were closing, and they were absolutely fine. Served us tea and cakes, chatted to us and very friendly. The tea was loose leaf and good and the gluten free cakes delicious. The decor was wonderful! Would certainly go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBFinder031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    55
    25
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dont bother!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Left waiting to be seated outside the tea-room.No one came to explain how long the possible wait would be.But apart from that they are rude,rude ,rude!! Walked out in the end.Don"t waste your time going there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traditional Tea Rooms”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful Tea Room. Had a lovely pot of loose Darjeeling tea, bit overpriced but by comparison to some cups of tea I have here and there, sometimes unrecognisable as tea, it was worth every penny. Service was a bit of a giggle with white starched pinnies and hats, it was a little like 'Acorn Antiques' . Which leads me on very nicely to the fact that they do sell antiques too! I actually bought one of their cut glass sugar bowls with amazing tweezers to pick up the sugar cubes integrated into the lid! If you're in Truro you must call in for a cup of tea at least.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam_babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am surprised by some of the rather cynical reviews here -- I enjoyed my tea at Charlotte's, which was much as I expected it to be. The cream tea was generous, with two large scones (both plain, which I prefer to fruit, but this may vary) and a pot of tea that was sufficient for at least three or so cups. The clotted cream was excellent and plentiful, as was the jam. The service was not particularly attentive, but I prefer that to the simpering that I occasionally find at similar establishments. All in all, a very good experience with a wonderful street view of Truro to boot (get a table by the window if you can!).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charlottes Teahouse”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went here for tea and cakes. I was appalled when the bill came and found i was charged £5 for a slice of carrot cake which was nothing special. I found this to be a total rip off and if they are to charge these amounts then they should include prices when ordering so you are not shocked at the bill!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_SSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlotte's Teahouse also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Charlotte's Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing