We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A regular pit stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm

Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep in the heart of the Cornish countryside, we've been making the most of our orchards for over 25 years. Whether it's getting to the core of great flavour or thinking outside the box, we know what it takes to make apples special. Optional guided tours take you on a Cyder making journey - from apple to Cider! Take a tractor ride through our Orchards, and sample over 40 varieties of Cyder, wine and preserves free of charge
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A regular pit stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We regularly make a pit stop here when visiting cornwall. We usually stop by for a bite to eat in their cafe and a wonder around the grounds. They have some goats, horses and pigs and there are a few things to look at in the yard.

The shop is huge and you can taste the cider and jams. However one thing I will never understand is this. The Rattler cyder (I adore it!) is more expensive here, on the actual site where it is made, than in any supermarket?! In Morrisons it is £1.99, Tesco/Co-Op is £2.15 and on the farm it was £2.50 last time I checked. Therefore I don't buy it direct from the farm any more!

Helpful?
Thank Twiglet88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    458
    169
    66
    51
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good free entry place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

free cider, apple juice and jam tastings, all made on site. Few animals to pet which younger kids love. beautiful buildings. good outdoor seating area for cafe, also plenty of room inside. Also do tours and tractor rides,both for which there is a payment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Cream tea was lovely and excellent value for money

Cyder was nice especially the pear cyder and the berry one

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz_Cleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Parking and entrance is free to Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm which has connections to Austin Healey cars. I would'nt call it a place for an all day visit but it's enjoyable enough to while away an hour or two .

There is a very large farm shop that offers for sale various spirits and country wines and ciders including their very popular Rattler range at a sampling bar and it also sells apple juice, jams, and chutneys as well as sundry bar items. The chutneys are lovely in particular, we purchased quite a few of them and jams too for ourselves and for gifts for our families .

We did'nt have a guided tour as we did'nt have the time as we were on a coach tour visit but one can take a walk around and see the cider making progress for themselves. There is a restaurant and museum on site and also farm animals too . Loved seeing the lovely shire horse and peacock.

One aspect I thought was very attractive was the undercover area with the wooden seating and tables made from barrels with the red and white table cloths, most pleasant to sit under and enjoy one's refreshments and a nice shady place too.

I look forward when we next visit Cornwall to visit again and restock on their lovely chutneys and marmalades as they were fabulous.

Recommended for a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Flicks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferryside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Free, dog friendly hour or so.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Took us a while to find without a sat nav but wanted to see where the cyder that's in almost every pub we went to in Cornwall was made. It was a cold wet February afternoon so we didn't have the tour or orchards to look at but a nice wander around seeing the workings of a smallish cyder brewer. Lovely staff in and around the areas and shop. We didn't eat but the cafe area looked nice and clean. Good for an hour or two distraction. Expect it's a great place to take children in the summer. They weren't precious with the samples as you get in some places and quite happy to let you try several different things. The cyder is clean with none of the chemical tang of the big brands and we came away with a few bags of bottles, excellent price if you get it here rather than the tourist spots in Cornwall where it's for sale.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooking-With-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm also viewed

 

Been to Healey's Cornish Cyder Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing