We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnighter”
Review of Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merchant House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed here on a business overnighter. Initially had problems with connecting to the wifi in one room. Asked to move as the problem was isolated and the owner agreed without hesitation.

Comfy bed and lots of pillows. The only downsides are it's a little out of the main town centre and I had no shower in the room.

Other than that excellent service and nicely furnished rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topper1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Merchant House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 426 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Great place, very clean and comfortable. Bed fantastic! Good breakfast. The staff very helpful particularly about the area and the facilities available, also helped with our luggage. Nothing too much trouble. Nice stroll into Truro centre about ten minutes downhill, walking back is slightly uphill, so if you have a medical condition, perhaps get the bus back which stops right outside the hotel. Would definitely recommend and if ever in Truro again would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a Standard plus room, had a very large bed and spacious bathroom, great room, but just make s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 579paulined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Cornwall. The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment but this didn't affect our stay. We had our dog with us so was given a dog friendly room towards the back of the hotel which has its own entrance near the car park. The dog friendly room was incredibly small but we didn't mind as it was only for two nights. The room had a funny smell upon arrival but once opening the windows it had gone - I can only assume that it was a doggy smell due to it being a dog friendly room. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. The sound of birdsong was incredible & made the stay very peaceful. The shower was very powerful even though the bathroom was quite small too. Breakfast was lovely & the morning waiting staff couldn't do enough for us.
I think if I was to stay here again it would be good to experience another room -albeit dog friendly and see what else the hotel has to offer. It would also be good to be able to experience breakfast in bed. Apart from that the hotel is good & I would stay there again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

very friendly staff. complementary tea and cake in afternoons a nice touch. Try the Daniel Arms for a relaxing low key drink on your way back to the hotel. Worth phoning to book your room direct as all the rooms are varied (some have baths and some have showers). Looking forward to coming back and sitting in front of the newly installed wood-burning stove in the guest lounge!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 - newly refurbished at the back of the hotel. Shower ensuite.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Merchant House. We have stayed at this hotel when visiting Truro for about the last 5 years, during this time the hotel has been undergoing refurbishment.
Our room was very comfortable, up to date and the bedding and towels were lovely and fresh.
We had free Wi Fi which was great whether you're staying on holiday or there on business.
There is a good choice of breakfast dishes starting with a help yourself buffet and then a choice of cooked breakfast dishes. The hotel does not provide lunch or evening meals but staff are only too happy to provide crockery and cutlery if you decide to have a take away.
We walked down to the city centre most evenings to eat out-there is a good choice of restaurants and it only takes 10/15 minutes to walk down. As well as free Wi Fi there is also a delicious complimentary afternoon tea each day, comprising of either a pot of tea or coffee and a slice of really delicious cake served in the lounge-which has just had a lovely new wood burning stove to keep you cosy!
The Merchant House is an ideal place to stay if you want to feel welcome, comfortable and have some super helpful staff to help you enjoy your stay. It is a quiet hotel so you are ensured a good sleep but is also near the city centre if you wish to eat out in the evening. There is a car park around the back of the hotel and also some spaces at the front.

Room Tip: Merchant House is in a quiet place so take your pick, I should imagine that all rooms are nice and q...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan1953528791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I came here on a business trip as a travelling musician, and immediately felt at home as the staff are very friendly and went the extra mile to make you feel welcome. On arrival they gave me a room to practise in, as I had to prepare for a performance. They had free Wi-Fi which is always very welcoming, especially as if you regularly have to work away from home it is nice to be able to be in contact with the outside world without an additional charge.

There was a lounge to sit in and I read the paper one morning and was offered a cup of tea by one of the staff, with no extra charge! It was nice to have a lounge as sometimes you can feel isolated in one room, and the lounge made it feel a bit more like home....

The room was very pleasant and was regularly cleaned. The only thing missing for me was a bath, but this did not matter at all as the shower was excellent! A bath is just a personal preference and no major big deal....

If I were to work in Cornwall again I would very much like to stay at Merchant House, and the cooked breakfast was excellent. The staff seemed to take a genuine interest in the people who were staying, and it had a real personal touch about it.

Many thanks!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Powerkitejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Well was surprised when we got to our room it look tire needs new furniture and a new bed.
But to be fare to them the are doing the rooms up as stated when you walk in, the shower was very good and the facilities all there.
After noon coffee and cake supply in the bar/breakfast area FREE and it was great cake yum yum.
All in all a good stay and would like to go again when finished staff polite and helpful but just our room and bed let it down

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bicky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
892 reviews
0.9 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,160 reviews
8.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,257 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $81 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing