We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant House
Nearby Hotels
$129
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$129
$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Trewithian)
$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Trewithian)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
269
136
54
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
136
54
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakeon arrivalfree teacarlton hotelplates and cutlerywelcoming hotelvictoria spongelounge barup hillfull englishevery afternoonshort walkbreakfast includedplenty of parkingcar parklovely touchcomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 487 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed just one night at this hotel (as had already planned to move on the next day) and had mixed feelings. Would maybe try it again to give it a second chance and make a final decision, as it has its good points:

Strengths:
Very friendly and helpful staff, who gave a great welcome at Reception; offered help with luggage
Ample parking space;
Great location, between A390 and town centre - about a 10-15 minute walk along Falmouth Rd and Lemon St to reach the cathedral and town centre area.
Good room facilities with wi-fi; tea/coffee making etc
Tea and cake available in reception area in afternoon (I didn't try this - but it's a nice touch)

Weaknesses:
Room decoration was rather strange, with wallpaper torn in places and not done properly behind radiators - to be fair this did not really affect my stay but it gave a strange impression
Breakfast was not as good as the standard usually found in a B&B

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited recently. We have to pop down to Truro relatively frequently and in the past have had positive experiences at The Merchant House's "sister" hotel, Mannings. We thought we would try a change.
Merchant House was previously the Carlton Hotel and is set up above the town centre on Falmouth Road (the main thoroughfare into Truro from the south). The hotel is well signed and has good parking (mostly at the rear of the hotel. It is a little bit of a walk down a steep hill to the centre of Truro but a pleasant stroll for all but the most unfit.
The reception area, lounge/bar and dining room have all been refurbished recently and look smart and fresh. We arrived fairly late (11:00pm) and yet had a friendly and warm welcome.
Once past the main communal areas, some of the corridors feel a bit dated. Whilst there is some decorating being done, the lighting and some of the more permanent fittings feel a bit tired. In particular, the doors to the bedrooms seem rather retro (and not in a good way).
Our room (at the rear of the hotel) has been refurbished with a modern, clean appearance. The bed is very comfortable, the linen clean and fresh, and the duvet/pillows are plump and soft. There was very little noise from outside the hotel. However, we were dissapointed to find that sound travels incredibly clearly through the walls/floors and we were able to hear other peoples conversations easily even thought they clearly were only talking at a normal volume. We were just grateful we didn't have a baby nearby!
The ensuite has been redecorated but the sanitary fittings have clearly not been replaced. The sink/taps/toilet all look a bit old fashioned compared to the contemporary look elsewhere. That being said, there was plenty of hot water and everything worked fine (no lock on the bathroom door though).
Breakfast was good with a cooked breakfast included.
So.... It may be a bit harsh to criticise what is really a project half done. However, they have opened their doors to paying customers so we can only comment on what we find. Whilst the superficial decoration will undoubtedly get finished, I am rather more worried about the issue of sound insulation between rooms as it seems unlikely this is going to be changed (given that the rooms have now been decorated). As a result, we will probably be returning to Mannings for our next visit.

Room Tip: It may be worth finding out if rooms in the original part of the hotel have better sound insultation compared with those in the annex/extension at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Merchant House and I would happily go back again. The rooms are still being refurbished but whether completed or not they are clean and comfortable. I look forward to seeing the finished job.
The staff have been unfailingly pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is very good and the food in the bar, though a limited selection, is freshly prepared and fine if you don't want the bother of venturing out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room was a standard twin as requested, a bit pokey with a shower only , no bath. Warm welcome, complimentary coffee while room was finished off as we were 3 hours early
Slight trace of bleach in room, noy a complaint, Tea coffee, biscuits etc. Very quiet kettle. Shower was small but very powerful, I like the latter. All in all a pleasant stay, I saw the note which said to call them direct and they would be cheaper than any booking site, Hmmmmm. Ongoing refurb of rooms this year.

Room Tip: Call them direct to book a room, we didn't see a "Superior room" so couldn't comment on those.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a retirement function at the Merchant House recently and I felt compelled to write my first ever hotel review. the staff were amazing, friendly, efficient and nothing too much trouble. The refurbishment of the lounge, dining room, bar area and function room had been very well done in a classical style with comfort and taste at the front of their minds. I had one of the refurbished bedrooms which I was delighted with. Large comfortable bed, proper pillows unlike the usual thin foam things we are offered at most hotels, thick carpet, large TV, tea coffee etc. The rooms were spotless and tastefully furnished as well as being quiet and peaceful as it overlooked the rear car park so no traffic noise, no seagulls and no clock chiming every hour through the night, which as a regular visitor to the city, are all things that you can experience when staying close to the town centre! The function buffet food was excellent and plentiful, as was the breakfast the next day. The refurbishment of the rooms continues but unobtrusive, and if they and the hallways continue to be done to the same high standard, it will be a beautiful hotel throughout! Thank you for looking after us so well and making our function go like clockwork.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garydavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews