We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merchant House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed just one night at this hotel (as had already planned to move on the next day) and had mixed feelings. Would maybe try it again to give it a second chance and make a final decision, as it has its good points:

Strengths:
Very friendly and helpful staff, who gave a great welcome at Reception; offered help with luggage
Ample parking space;
Great location, between A390 and town centre - about a 10-15 minute walk along Falmouth Rd and Lemon St to reach the cathedral and town centre area.
Good room facilities with wi-fi; tea/coffee making etc
Tea and cake available in reception area in afternoon (I didn't try this - but it's a nice touch)

Weaknesses:
Room decoration was rather strange, with wallpaper torn in places and not done properly behind radiators - to be fair this did not really affect my stay but it gave a strange impression
Breakfast was not as good as the standard usually found in a B&B

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    109
    48
    14
    12
See reviews for
49
144
22
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited recently. We have to pop down to Truro relatively frequently and in the past have had positive experiences at The Merchant House's "sister" hotel, Mannings. We thought we would try a change.
Merchant House was previously the Carlton Hotel and is set up above the town centre on Falmouth Road (the main thoroughfare into Truro from the south). The hotel is well signed and has good parking (mostly at the rear of the hotel. It is a little bit of a walk down a steep hill to the centre of Truro but a pleasant stroll for all but the most unfit.
The reception area, lounge/bar and dining room have all been refurbished recently and look smart and fresh. We arrived fairly late (11:00pm) and yet had a friendly and warm welcome.
Once past the main communal areas, some of the corridors feel a bit dated. Whilst there is some decorating being done, the lighting and some of the more permanent fittings feel a bit tired. In particular, the doors to the bedrooms seem rather retro (and not in a good way).
Our room (at the rear of the hotel) has been refurbished with a modern, clean appearance. The bed is very comfortable, the linen clean and fresh, and the duvet/pillows are plump and soft. There was very little noise from outside the hotel. However, we were dissapointed to find that sound travels incredibly clearly through the walls/floors and we were able to hear other peoples conversations easily even thought they clearly were only talking at a normal volume. We were just grateful we didn't have a baby nearby!
The ensuite has been redecorated but the sanitary fittings have clearly not been replaced. The sink/taps/toilet all look a bit old fashioned compared to the contemporary look elsewhere. That being said, there was plenty of hot water and everything worked fine (no lock on the bathroom door though).
Breakfast was good with a cooked breakfast included.
So.... It may be a bit harsh to criticise what is really a project half done. However, they have opened their doors to paying customers so we can only comment on what we find. Whilst the superficial decoration will undoubtedly get finished, I am rather more worried about the issue of sound insulation between rooms as it seems unlikely this is going to be changed (given that the rooms have now been decorated). As a result, we will probably be returning to Mannings for our next visit.

Room Tip: It may be worth finding out if rooms in the original part of the hotel have better sound insultation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Merchant House and I would happily go back again. The rooms are still being refurbished but whether completed or not they are clean and comfortable. I look forward to seeing the finished job.
The staff have been unfailingly pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is very good and the food in the bar, though a limited selection, is freshly prepared and fine if you don't want the bother of venturing out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room was a standard twin as requested, a bit pokey with a shower only , no bath. Warm welcome, complimentary coffee while room was finished off as we were 3 hours early
Slight trace of bleach in room, noy a complaint, Tea coffee, biscuits etc. Very quiet kettle. Shower was small but very powerful, I like the latter. All in all a pleasant stay, I saw the note which said to call them direct and they would be cheaper than any booking site, Hmmmmm. Ongoing refurb of rooms this year.

Room Tip: Call them direct to book a room, we didn't see a "Superior room" so couldn't comme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a retirement function at the Merchant House recently and I felt compelled to write my first ever hotel review. the staff were amazing, friendly, efficient and nothing too much trouble. The refurbishment of the lounge, dining room, bar area and function room had been very well done in a classical style with comfort and taste at the front of their minds. I had one of the refurbished bedrooms which I was delighted with. Large comfortable bed, proper pillows unlike the usual thin foam things we are offered at most hotels, thick carpet, large TV, tea coffee etc. The rooms were spotless and tastefully furnished as well as being quiet and peaceful as it overlooked the rear car park so no traffic noise, no seagulls and no clock chiming every hour through the night, which as a regular visitor to the city, are all things that you can experience when staying close to the town centre! The function buffet food was excellent and plentiful, as was the breakfast the next day. The refurbishment of the rooms continues but unobtrusive, and if they and the hallways continue to be done to the same high standard, it will be a beautiful hotel throughout! Thank you for looking after us so well and making our function go like clockwork.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garydavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a 'superior' double, which comprised a bed the size of a small football pitch in a poky little room not much bigger. Given that a bed this size implies double occupancy, there was inadequate provision for towel hanging and just a little soap dish in the shower in which to stack shower gel, shampoo etc etc. Breakfast was amazing. If you want to pay £90 for a really good full English, then this is the place for you. We chose it because of its location within walking distance of the town centre, however, its location is in fact at the top of a punishing hill which nearly killed us on the 2 occasions we walked up it. The staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient (sometimes almost too much so) but in terms of value for money I'm sure we could find somewhere better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spent 4 days at the Merchant House and the whole experience was great. Staff very helpful, room was very nice, food was amazing. Free Wi-Fi was great so i could Skype Home to children. Would go back and stay without question.

To all the staff at the Merchant House THANK YOU for making me feel so welcome.

Room Tip: the room i stayed in was great, west side of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant House

Property: Merchant House
Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing