We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Merchant House
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed at the Carlton for 5 nights - it was a very enjoyable stay. The room was clean and very comfortable, the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Not a great choice on the dinner menu but each meal was great, breakfast was good too!

If you want valur for money visit this hotel

Room Tip: ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    109
    48
    14
    12
See reviews for
49
144
22
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Welcoming and helpful receptionist, clean room, comfortable bed, good wi-fi signal, smallest TV I've seen since 1962. Clearly tired decor and in need of total refurb. Breakfast was average and I couldn't understand why screeching pop music was played in the restaurant at 7:30. Why not simple silence?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had a three night stay here to explore some of Cornwall. Would recommend as a good value, no frills but nevertheless perfectly adequate hotel. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable and of a good size. The shower was great and really powerful. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. It had a well stocked and comfortable bar/lounge area, the breakfasts were largely very good with a wide selection to choose from although breakfast service was a bit chaotic. It seemed that all the waitresses served all the tables meaning that sometimes you got forgotten altogether, got a cup of tea after you'd finished eating or had to chase up the toast. On the second morning the sausages ran out but I got lucky and got one of the last ones only to have it cremated!

All this didn't detract from our stay really as overall it was generally very good and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 11 was better than I'd expected facility wise although it did have a roof window with no cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed for one night.When we arrived we were told the toilet flush was a bit dodgy and so it proved!Our room was very small but adequate.Decor was very tired and there were potential safety hazards like a narrow bath ,and sharp edge protruding from the radiator.On the plus side fluffy towels and decent bed and bedding.The young lady on evening reception was helpful and friendly and bar prices were reasonable.Breakfast was substantial,plenty of variety and good service.The new owners just need to refurb the rooms and it could be a gem.

Room Tip: Room number 1 was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geebeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is really a guest house- it has a warm and friendly feel about it but doesn't really meet the mark. Its a little tired and in need of a revamp... which I believe it is in the process of getting.

I was allocated an accessible room which was roomy but the handrails were rusty, the shower was an odd affair- either a dribble of water at head height or a hip height blast.

The walls are paper thin- I generally sleep brilliantly in any hotel but when someone turned their TV on at midnight I jumped upright thinking it was the TV in my room! I heard and and all movements throughout the night. Really poor quality sleep.

Breakfast was basic and OK. Staff were great - friendly and welcoming- just a very very basic, dated 'hotel'.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

When we checked in the staff were very friendly and most helpful. The room are clean and have all that you need for a short stay. the bed was confortable with a great powerful shower!
The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the city center
The city of Truro has a shortage of accomodation therefore rival establishments are charging almost double.
Therefore this hotel is Great value for money. Yes the hotel is dated and the rooms are small, However if you want a slighlty larger room go and pay double the price & be miles from the city center. you do the maths!

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet and get the morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I'd echo Nirvana999; my experience and opinion is identical. Good points - comfortable bed, good (and fast) breakfast, attentive staff. The spa/sauna etc is now closed (forever?). The lock came away in my hand; "thanks for that", said the receptionist when I gave it to her. The hotel's under new ownership, (the family owns Mannings, the no1-rated Truro Hotel), and likely to be refurbished soon, they say. So things could change! I don't recognise the "Singing weekend" descriptions - clearly I should have been there!
My experience was similar to staying at a B&B which I've done quite a bit recently; same facilities, same room size, same comfort levels, twice the price. It's a big hotel - 30 bedrooms, so doesn't have the intimacy and friendliness of the best B&Bs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant House

Property: Merchant House
Address: 49 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Truro
#3 Business Hotel in Truro
#3 Family Hotel in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing