We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant House
Nearby Hotels
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$121
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cliftons(Truro)
$115
$108
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porthtowan Tourist Park(Truro)(Great Value!)
$17
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Summer Valley Touring Park(Truro)(Great Value!)
$31
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
273
138
55
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
138
55
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakeon arrivalfree teacarlton hotelplates and cutlerywelcoming hotelvictoria spongelounge barup hillfull englishevery afternoonshort walkbreakfast includedplenty of parkingcar parklovely touchcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 494 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had a three night stay here to explore some of Cornwall. Would recommend as a good value, no frills but nevertheless perfectly adequate hotel. Our room was very clean, the bed comfortable and of a good size. The shower was great and really powerful. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. It had a well stocked and comfortable bar/lounge area, the breakfasts were largely very good with a wide selection to choose from although breakfast service was a bit chaotic. It seemed that all the waitresses served all the tables meaning that sometimes you got forgotten altogether, got a cup of tea after you'd finished eating or had to chase up the toast. On the second morning the sausages ran out but I got lucky and got one of the last ones only to have it cremated!

All this didn't detract from our stay really as overall it was generally very good and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Room 11 was better than I'd expected facility wise although it did have a roof window with no curtain or blind so did tend to wake you up with the dawn.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed for one night.When we arrived we were told the toilet flush was a bit dodgy and so it proved!Our room was very small but adequate.Decor was very tired and there were potential safety hazards like a narrow bath ,and sharp edge protruding from the radiator.On the plus side fluffy towels and decent bed and bedding.The young lady on evening reception was helpful and friendly and bar prices were reasonable.Breakfast was substantial,plenty of variety and good service.The new owners just need to refurb the rooms and it could be a gem.

Room Tip: Room number 1 was very peaceful.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geebeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel is really a guest house- it has a warm and friendly feel about it but doesn't really meet the mark. Its a little tired and in need of a revamp... which I believe it is in the process of getting.

I was allocated an accessible room which was roomy but the handrails were rusty, the shower was an odd affair- either a dribble of water at head height or a hip height blast.

The walls are paper thin- I generally sleep brilliantly in any hotel but when someone turned their TV on at midnight I jumped upright thinking it was the TV in my room! I heard and and all movements throughout the night. Really poor quality sleep.

Breakfast was basic and OK. Staff were great - friendly and welcoming- just a very very basic, dated 'hotel'.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

When we checked in the staff were very friendly and most helpful. The room are clean and have all that you need for a short stay. the bed was confortable with a great powerful shower!
The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the city center
The city of Truro has a shortage of accomodation therefore rival establishments are charging almost double.
Therefore this hotel is Great value for money. Yes the hotel is dated and the rooms are small, However if you want a slighlty larger room go and pay double the price & be miles from the city center. you do the maths!

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet and get the morning sun
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I'd echo Nirvana999; my experience and opinion is identical. Good points - comfortable bed, good (and fast) breakfast, attentive staff. The spa/sauna etc is now closed (forever?). The lock came away in my hand; "thanks for that", said the receptionist when I gave it to her. The hotel's under new ownership, (the family owns Mannings, the no1-rated Truro Hotel), and likely to be refurbished soon, they say. So things could change! I don't recognise the "Singing weekend" descriptions - clearly I should have been there!
My experience was similar to staying at a B&B which I've done quite a bit recently; same facilities, same room size, same comfort levels, twice the price. It's a big hotel - 30 bedrooms, so doesn't have the intimacy and friendliness of the best B&Bs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews