We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
317
254
84
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
317
254
84
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secure parking no lift third floor continental breakfast central location car park top floor extra cost listed building full english room rate comfortable bed bacon and eggs an enjoyable stay truro cathedral old building friendly hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 682 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2019

Stayed here last year for two nights and again this year 16/17 May. Spotlessly clean hotel. Bed linen and towels etcetera, absolutely luxurious. Lovely ambience to the hotel.Staff are all friendly, welcoming and make you feel relaxed. First class food (could not fault any of our meals.) Will certainly return again for a short break.

Room tip: Only downside is no lift ,However the staff will carry your baggage if you wish.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briancleary2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Hello briancleaary2017

That's what we like to hear and it will great to see you back.
Of course, a big thanks goes out to you for taking the time to write a review and for the 5 Stars and the team both in the Hotel and Restaurant do appreciate all your thoughts and comments.
From short breaks to long stay holidays we have a room, apartment and a budget to suit you.
We are a Grade II listed Georgian building so we do have a few quirky features but our staff and level of customer service do make the difference.
Mannings Restaurant situated right next door is very popular with the local community and we are really proud of the reputation that we maintain for the quality of the food that we serve.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

An enjoyable stay at Mannings Hotel which is centrally located in the city and has a large, private, gated car park. Step out the front door of the hotel and you are almost on Lemon Quay - shops, eateries and major socializing area - and a short walk to the bus station. Only one night stay this time visiting a family member patient at Treliske hospital which is a 15 minute or so bus ride away. Brilliant - car safe - bus pass flourished and no parking problems at the hospital. Mannings is obviously very popular with lots of guests moving about and a full restaurant of diners. No lift and steepish stairs but help offered with luggage by the ever cheerfull, smartly dressed staff. Our room was very comfortable - bath and shower, superb TV, - plenty of room to move about and a delightful bed and soft duvet. Hated the sink mirror light and never did find out how you turn it on and off. Breakfast in a bright, clean and tidy dining area. Sadly only continental breakfast offered with the B & B rate but full English available at extra cost. Ham and cheese is advertised as an option with the continental but I got the feeling I was considered Mr Awkward for asking for this. No newspapers available on Sunday which seems odd for an hotel of such quality. Pluses considerably outweigh the minuses and I would stay again. Healthy eating is all very well but not if you like a groaning servery of sausages, bacon and eggs etc!!

Room tip: Back rooms are much quieter
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Hello Clive J

Can I start by offering a huge thank you for writing such an in depth review - it's perfect as it really gives prospective guests a great idea of where we are located and yes, everything is just on our doorstep.
As you mention we do not have a lift due to the fact that we are a Grade II listing building so a walk up to the third floor can be quite a challenge but we are always happy to carry your luggage for you.
We work with many people who are visiting family and friends in Treliske and we do know how difficult it can be under such stressful times so I am happy to hear that the you had no issues with visiting your family there.
Such a shame that we never managed to get that sink mirror light working for you but keep in mind that we are always here to help you out with any issue that you may have during your stay. We do offer an extensive range of cooked fresh to order breakfast dishes and I do apologise if you were made to feel awkward for asking for ham & cheese as that is not our intention and it will be reviewed with the breakfast team.
I will share all your comments about the breakfast service and the available items on the buffet with the team here as we do appreciate them as they help us with our forward planning and menu changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

We booked a room for the Easter break but were pleasantly surprised to be given an apartment. It was brilliant, all we could want and more. The bed was very comfy, the apartment meeting all our needs. We did experience some noise from the apartment above but think this was due to old squeaky floorboards given the age of the building.
I would definitely recommend Mannings apartments for a longer stay if you are looking for something more informal and private. Very good!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Hello Andrea190730

So glad you enjoyed the room upgrade that we were able to give you when you checked in - I hope it was a nice little surprise for you.
Our apartments are located just behind the hotel and we have 9, 4 Star AA open plan apartments that are perfect for a weekend getaway.
We will pass along your comment about the squeaky floor boards to our maintenance department so, thank you for letting us know.
Whether it's just an overnight stay or an extended visit they are ideal with their galley fitted kitchens as you have the option to cook for yourself, grab a take away or pop into town for a meal out - it's all right on our doorstep here in Truro.
We are located in the heart of Truro so there's no need to use the car unless you are exploring further away and we are only 15 miles away from the coastline.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

A great night in a fab apartment, we stayed in a top floor apartment the decor the lovely roof beams everything was lovely. There was a nice mini balcony attached to the bedroom perfect for a nice breeze running through the room. The apartment has everything you need whether cooking yourself or dining out and the coffee pod machine with provided pods is a lovely little touch, the bed is nice and big warm and very comfortable we slept like baby's, in the morning we went to the hotel for a delicious Cornish breakfast all made with local produce and cooked perfect. We had a lot of fun and a great time thanks mannings we will be back for sure

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Hello Joe C

It will be great to see you back as well.
We really love to hear from our guests and we appreciate the fact that it does take time for you to log on and write a review on TripAdvisor so, thank you from the whole team.
Our 9 4 Starr AA award winning apartments are located just behind the main hotel in a Grade II listing building and we have managed to keep many of the original Georgian features in them - roof beams being one of the many original building features that can be seen in many of the rooms.
The Juliette balconies are a lovely feature and the doors open up with a view of Truro Cathedral and on a sunny day you never want to close them.
As you have mentioned we have tried to think of everything that someone might need during their stay and with a fitted galley kitchen you have the option to cook in, grab a takeaway or take a short walk to Mannings Restaurant where we can do all the cooking for you.
So, whether it's for a one night stay or an extended holiday we have the perfect apartment just for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

I’m probably being too critical, because this is a good hotel with a very good restaurant. Conveniently located in the centre of Truro.
We were upgraded to a larger room, (thank you), because the hotel was quiet. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The room presented well, a nice big tv, comfy big bed etc., but although the room was not at the front, it was noisy from kitchen extractor fans near the window. Also I found somelittle things mildly annoying. Like the bathroom door not closing properly. Another example, when we asked for a small jug of milk for our room, (I hate those little UHT pots!), we were initially given 4 more pots. I asked again, (the waitress may not have heard me properly), then given the smallest of jugs, barely enough for two cups of tea. It’s all quite stylish, but lacking something. Items like fresh milk and butter are much better not in silly little packets. Shower gels etc., could be in larger dispensers. The alternative is wasteful, poor quality and not environmentally friendly.
Compared with other places I’ve stayed, it’s not as good. In fact, I much prefer their sister hotel, the Merchant House, a little further out, quieter, more basic, but also more accommodating. Maybe not as stylish, however, any hotel that offers you nice cake on arrival gets my vote!
The restaurant was very good though. Perhaps slightly expensive, however, beautifully decorated, good service with tasty, well presented, high quality food.
I’d definitely eat here again, but maybe not stay in the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Roderick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManningsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Mannings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Hello Roderick G

It's great to hear from you and thank you for all your positive comments about your stay with us and we are happy to hear that we managed to upgrade your room upon arrival.
Yes, as you mention we are ideally located in the heart of Truro so, everything that you need is right here on our doorstep.
Sorry to hear about the noise but you by chance could I ask if you were able to call down to our reception team as we are always happy to move you whenever possible, especially if there is an issue that we can resolve for you during your stay.
Obviously, there was a miscommunication about the quantity of the milk that you needed and we are always happy to bring extra tea, coffee and fresh milk etc.to your room if you just give us a call on reception.
Packaging is a very big issue nowadays as we do appreciate all your comments about the products that we use here and this suggestion has been passed along to the team.
Our restaurant is extremely popular with our local community as well as our guests and we appreciate all your comments in regard the food and service and these will be shared with the team.
Our sister hotel the Merchant House will be so pleased to hear that they get your yote and yes, the baked fresh cake on arrival always goes over well and they really have quite a following of walkers, hikers and dog lovers where as we attract a more business traveller here at Mannings.
We would to see you back in the restaurant and we are only just a walk down the hill from the Merchant House so, we hope to see you the next time you are in Truro.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews