We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the rest Mannings is the best”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Forget the rest Mannings is the best”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed at Mannings with my two and a half year old son,the room was cleaned to a high standard daily,towels and coffee etc replenished. Mannings is isn an excellent location close to Truro Cathedral right in the heart of the city. During our stay my little boy became ill and the staff at Mannings were so helpful I cant thank them enough.I had a lovely stay at Mannings and will definitely be staying there on my return to Truro.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylittlerileybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    233
    73
    15
    5
See reviews for
63
257
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We spent two nights in the Mannings Hotel at the end of July, and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was updated to a modern high standard, but it included enough original features to give it character. Service was both friendly and professional. The breakfast was very good, with both a cold buffet and hot breakfast made to order. The bar area was also very comfortable and we enjoyed an hour relaxing there at the end of the evening. We did not eat at the restaurant. The room itself had been renovated recently, and although it was quite small (with low ceilings, as we were on the top floor), it was comfortable, and the bathroom was large and well-designed.
Overall, a very good hotel, a bit expensive, but worth it for a weekend get-away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

A good hotel and staff friendly. The noise from the night clubbers was horrendous at about 3am, not the fault of the hotel but the window needed to be open to cool the room!
However we did find a teashirt under are pillow (Clean), the food that was presented in the restaurant,breakfast hall was of a high standard Overall an enjoyable stay,

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelandjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

This hotel is very cosy and clean. A member of staff kindly picked me up from the railway station at 18.00 hrs as it was pouring with rain and Truro station a taxi free zone!

I received a free upgrade to an executive room which was very pleasant but a bit pokey. The worst bit was the single glazed windows which meant that the seagulls woke me at 3.50 hrs....!

The food is quite good though the weird apple, mixed berry and rhubarb pie was terrible after it's brief appointment with the microwave, achieving that weird hot and cold consistency. However the main course was pleasant enough and the waiting staff excellent.

I do think that £3 for a serving of bread is extortionate and should be provided with the meal anyway, and not viewed as an extra.

I do think the hotel overall represents good value for money. It was spotlessly clean, cosy and the staff very friendly. Well done to everyone but do something about the weird fruit tart, please!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordicgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Above average hotel and staff friendly. The noise from seagulls was horrendous at 5am, not the fault of the hotel but the window needed to be open to cool the room!
Needs some fine tuning, new flexible hose on shower, new shower curtain (if a curtain can't be avoided they need to be renewed regulary), some grouting needed, creaking/uneven floor, door closer on room door needs readjusting as in banged shut, no doubt waking everyone in the hotel. Breakfast chaotic, apparently due to staff shortage, but numbers on the table would help waiting staff. Needed three requests for coffee and waited 45minutes for a cooked breakfast. Overall an enjoyable stay, offer was very good value and restaurant service good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TH18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, SURREY, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel is right in the middle of Truro, the Cathedral is only about 100m away!
The place has clearly been recently refurbished, our room was an 'executive double'. Spacious room and bathroom, comfortable bed with luxury white linen.
Breakfast was really good, and cooked to order so no half cold, rubbery scrambled eggs here.
From our arrival at the door to departure, staff extremely friendly and courteous.
Overall our hotel stay could not be faulted.
I would say that a lift, and maybe room A/C is a notable omission - having this would certainly be well worth a 4 star rating.
When next in Truro, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_KWoking_SURREY_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

The title says it all..... quite a good hotel in a great location. Staff were quite friendly, although I thought the waiting staff were a little untidy. The room was an 'Executive' room and was spacious. Bed was a little harder than I would have liked - so sitting on it and instead of bouncing, I bumped.......different, thats for sure!! I think a good way to describe the room was functional - clean, tidy - but functional. No frills or 'extra's' you might expect to find in an 'Execitive' room. Bathroom again very clean - only one set of towels though - the other ones were in the wardrobe(?).

Bar was small for a Hotel, but ok, and menu was interesting - a 'fusion' theme I think... my steak was certainly char grilled - I would have liked a little less char! Breakfast was ok, fruit was tinned but all was plentiful. £5 to park in the hotel car park - but for a small place with parking at a premium this was to be expected.

I thought Truro was a lovely place and close by the hotel and up three flights of stairs is 'Charlottes Tea Rooms' where I had the most amazing Cream Tea..... just fabulous - you must go there if you visit Truro!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
871 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,241 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Property: Mannings Hotel
Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing