We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central hotel”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Perfect location in the center and nice rooms, wellcome drinks were offered in their nice bar. Gate parking next to the hotel. Truro is ideal for shopping and it is all next door.
Only minor: very unorganised service during breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phil_travel_europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Mannings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 586 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stay here before, always clean, staff friendly, reception was great, easy booking in and helpful. Have eaten in the restaurant in the past but chose to eat out in town, bar area a little too cold, air con certainly works!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1Dave_B_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed here for just one night on business when the sun was shining relentlessly so was so delighted to find a fan in my room when I arrived in Truro. I didn't have dinner here so a short review but the hotel room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was spacious with a powerful shower and a luxurious bath and all the lovely things that make that difference. The hotel is right in the town so you can walk to the shops, bars no problem.
Staff were friendly at the bar and reception and I slept very well - definitely because of the fan!
Thank you to a lovely town for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Reception friendly and room clean and of a decent size. My room faced onto the road and boy you really need ear plugs! Road is very noisy so beware. Also poor ventilation and no air con. Breakfast was poor by modern standards and was more like a mid level B&B. You have to pay an extra £7.50 for a cooked breaky which having tried it is not worth the money with a Wetherspoons almost opposite. Handy having a secure car park on site though beware seagulls in Truro as they love to redecorate your car, well done to the hotel for having a hose on site for guests to use. In summary, Mannings probably only just scrapes 4 stars but with some investment 5 stars are there for the taking. Interestingly they have a sister hotel up the road called Merchant House which having also stayed there is better overall if you can be 200m from the centre of the town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnR833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Unfortunately at very short notice today we couldn't take up our pre booked room at the Mannings Hotel, we had also booked in to eat at their restaurant. Unbelievably I've just had a phone call to say that they have resold the room and won't be charging me despite the fact that I didn't call the hotel until 2 pm today and their ts&cs are very clear regarding cancellations etc. Thank you so much, hopefully we will at some point come to stay with you.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank tgroombridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Helpful staff but if you have luggage ....it's a real struggle
In a working tour party and we had a lot of luggage,.hotel could not cope
No lift as it was a listed building ...but them you should have staff to compensate.
Breakfast policy ...very odd !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in one of their apartments, it was very good value and quality. With an apartment you get a lovely well equipped kitchen diner, a very good sized bedroom with large very comfortable bed. The shower room was very good with a great double power shower a real pleasure to use. The only downside was that the room was rather hot as it did not have any aircon. Overall it was very good value and pleasant to stay in, I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the center of Truro, a big plus point is the secure gated car park

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
892 reviews
1.0 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,258 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $118 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing