We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mannings Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A group of us squash players stayed here, I have stayed in many places and this is by far the best all round hotel. Food perfect, drinks ad staff were wonderful and helpful. Right in the centre and we even found our way back from the local night club without asking directions. Hats off to all concerned wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick007m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 610 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

There's a lot of good things about this hotel but also some less good. Manning's is placed centrally and certainly looks to be the best option for Truro but equally there appears to be little real competition for that crown.

On arrival I checked in and was handed a drinks voucher for the bar and I noticed they offer free bottled water, both nice touches and a friendly reception. I stayed in room 49 at the back of the hotel and the room itself was clean, nicely presented in 'boutique' style if a little 'bijou'. The negative here though was the very loud noise of what sounded like a dance studio next door playing high Nrg dance music which appeared to be at full swing when I arrived and for my first hour (7 at night). Not a fault of the hotel of course, but worth bearing in mind.

I had dinner at the hotel after arriving and I have to say the food (Cornish Brill with orange cream) was excellent. The service let the chef down though - generally inattentive and slow. The front of house could do with smiling a bit! I could have easily stuck around for a pudding but couldn't be bothered to wait to have my order taken then wait to be served. Also the seating is a bit compact.

The dance studio noise had pretty much gone later, but 2 inconsiderate individuals deciding to discuss their night at 11.45 on the mezzanine wasn't welcomed.

The breakfast (again a smile wouldn't go amiss!) is continental and if you want cooked you pay an additional £7.50. There is no offset of course and I felt a bit short changed by the whole experience. Luke warm coffee, no croissants on arriving (at 7.10!). Strange that you can get free bottled water and a drink at the bar and yet the breakfast arrangement is so tight.

On leaving the colleague I travelled down with was charged for parking, a great touch, seeing as neither of us drove, but this was quickly sorted.

The real shame about this hotel is that it only needs a bit of minor tweaking to make it a really good place to stay, but has enough to really irk, as I'm sure you can get from the above review.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonfromesssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments for three nights - Absolutely loved it - Couldnt fault it - Absolutely superb apartment attached onto the end of the hotel. Location is right in the centre of Truro but dont tell everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

One of locals recommended. Chose it for top location. Parking secured at rear. Top service. We had upstairs room. Unfortunately no lift but staff offered to carry our luggage up. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly. Restaurant and food were very good. Right in middle of town. so top location. Surrounded by shops but not too noisy. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Although we had to climb stairs first or second floor room best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

There aren't many hotels we've stayed in that have real style, and good food, and good wine, and something slightly quirky. Apart from Mal Maison or Hotel du Vin. And now Mannings.

We've eaten here before but hadn't stayed. Our room, the lowest priced, was a great size with a huge bathroom. Exposed brick and timber gave it real character. The design touches in the room and public areas were nicely done, not over-done. Small touches like complimentary water make a surprising difference.

Food was great. Dinner was lovely with good service, as lunch has been previously. And the continental breakfast in the morning was varied and fresh. I agree with other reviews that a cooked breakfast was expensive, but there was plenty enough on the tables for our good appetites.

We liked the bar area a lot. Just one little moan - the coffee machine was cleaned half an hour before closing so if you wanted one, or more especially an espresso cocktail, hard luck.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel has an excellent restaurant and the inclusive breakfast (continental) is very good. Unfortunately it has no lift, so if you are on the 2nd floor you need to be fit! The rooms could do with a makeover as they are a little dated. Also being on a main road it is very noisy in the mornings and you really need double glaziing (and air conditioning). Having said that all the staff are very friendly and good at their jobs and it is good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed on a deal from the 'M club' £99 per room B&B, £25 dinner voucher, and sweeties. We had a lovely clean double room at back of hotel. Pleasantly decorated, slanting floor gave character. However there is a service lane at the back of the hotel, where the night revellers come out and kick over the industrial bins. Very noisy, but it was a saturday night. Excellent location, right in the heart of truro shopping centre. Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
455 reviews
1 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
794 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,246 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $92 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing