We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ranking should be much higher” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Townhouse Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Townhouse Rooms
Ranked #3 of 38 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
346 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Ranking should be much higher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Townhouse for a full week, took advantage of the 'stay seven nights and pay for six'. Without a doubt the best choice we could have made as Truro is a great central location for visiting many places throughout the middle to South of Cornwall.

Upon our arrival we where greeted by the wonderful Imogen who gladly explained all the features of our room, location, car parking was needed at the rear on our first night as they were fully booked. No problem as Imogen gave us directions to the rear of the house and met us to show us our room, a nice quiet room at the rear overlooking the very nice garden area.

Next stop the dining area, we arrived in the mid afternoon to find that scones and freshly made cake, again made by Imogen, looked very tempting as is the multi choice coffee machine and tea.

Our bedroom was large, plenty of closet space and a very, very comfortable bed.

Imogen, can't pass enough kudos out for this young lady, advised us of the local restaurants and things to see, which we took advantage of. Breakfast was ideal for us, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, toasts, juices, plus, plus. Walk into the town center, uphill on the way back but a good stretching exercise.

Would strongly recommend and a repeat stay possible.

Room Tip: Try for a room upstairs at the rear, number 10 or 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scouser1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    28
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
90
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A nice owner (shock!), lovely bedroom, comfortable bed, good service and immaculate cleanliness has gone a long way to restore my faith in independently run small hotels. Some on here have complained that there is no cooked breakfast, but the continental breakfast provided is superb with cereals, pastries, crumpets, jams and so on in abundance.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MustrumRidcully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

One of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in.
I spent 2 nights at the Townhouse with my husband and mother in September.
The rooms are very modern, a good size and just spotless.
Within walking distance to Truro city centre.
The breakfast room was great, with complimentary pastries, cereals, cheeses, juices and a hot drinks machine.
I would recommend this B&B to family and friends, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip and it was spot on. As per the other reviews, the room was very very clean and modern. The bed was also very comfortable. Okay it was not massive (room 08), but it was perfectly fine when you consider you are paying £70 per night inclusive of breakfast.

The young lady on reception was very courteous during the stay and advised upon a mix of restaurants in the town. The hotel is but a 3-5 minute walk down the hill to the town centre, so the location is also spot on. There is also a small seating area in the rear garden, but just note there are two garden rooms as well.

The breakfast room near reception is self service, which perhaps may not work for everyone, but it works if you fancy a quick bite to eat and again it was very clean. If I was looking for a very clean place to stay at a reasonable price for a few days to visit the local area then I would certainly return without hesitation as it offered good value for money. Well done to the owners…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Why can't all B&Bs be like this? Simple, well presented and unpretentious, and good value for money as well. We booked online and were greated on arrival with a friendly, full explanation of the facilities available, including the excellent all day kitchen/breakfast room with its complimentary pastries, juices and hot drinks machine. Our (Superior) room was clean and nicely appointed, with a king size bed and en suite. Service was excellent throughout our two night stay and we would not hesitate to go back when next in Truro.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

No doubt, it was one of the best b&b I've ever been to. Extremely clean, very big rooms, complete breakfasts in a fully fitted kitchen with a small fridge also available for guests. Walking distance from Truro city centre. The owners are very helpful and very discreet at the same time. I place I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Townhouse Rooms on our recent holiday to Cornwall. It was the perfect place to base ourselves as most places, such as St Ives, Padstow, Falmouth are only about an hour away. Our room was spacious and spotless, as was the bathroom. The dining room was open all day with homemade scones and Victoria Sponge which we were not expecting. The Continental Breakfast was delicious and we could help ourselves and have as much or as little as we wanted. We would definitely go again due to the cleanliness and wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Truro hotels
0.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.8 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chycara House
Chycara House
#2 of 38 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Rooms

Property: The Townhouse Rooms
Address: 20 Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Townhouse Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Rooms Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing