We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Himba cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Himba Cottage, Penmount, Truro
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Himba Cottage, Penmount, Truro
Our dog Nicole in the Courtyard Open Plan Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Himba Cottage, Penmount, Truro
Our dog Nicole in the Courtyard
Open Plan Lounge
View from the lounge to the protected woodland of Idless
Hallway
Open Plan Kitchen, Dinning and Lounge
Family bathroom on the ground floor
Main Bedroom on the ground floor with double bed
Main Bedroom
Second Lounge/second bedroom with Double Sofa Bed and door to rear gardens
Fresh watering hole at Perran Sands with 2 miles of beach
The Creek at St Clement, Truro, a five minute drive and one of the best Cream Tea in Cornwall
The Giants Head in the Lost Gardens of Heligan 20 minute drive from the cottage
Shopping in Truro
The local protected Cornwall beaches
Polly joke beach
The Lost Gardens of Heligan
The view of Crantock from a Tea room
Truro Cathedral, 2 miles from the Cottage
Your local walk in Idless wood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Truro, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
luc838
Binche, Belgium
1 review
“Himba cottage”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely place to start your visits from. We spent a very nice week. Everything ok in the house. Walking maps, leaflets about the region and a place to store our sea kayaks:wonderful.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn G
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely quiet location”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2014

stayed at himba cottage twice, nice location but you need a car because a bit out of town would happily stay again but the prices have gone up.very comfortable just like home from home.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesleyjan...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cornwall”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Himba cottage is in a perfect location to visit all beautiful places that Cornwall has to offer.Very peaceful and lounge kitchen perfect.What lets this cottage down is the comfort of e mattresses on the beds .They are very uncomfortable,especially pull down settee,the base digs into your back.I hope the owners will consider soon to upgrade mattresses ,the only thing hhat let lets this property down.Having a lodge in Blair Atholl and let it out i appreciate how important it is to have good comfortable sleep .

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ful location
Liked least: mattresses on bed awful
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Thank you for your comments regarding the mattresses. These mattresses are only two years old but we will be replacing the ones in the spare bedroom in June this year 2016. We will also be putting a mattress topper on the mattress in the main bedroom. Kind Regards, Linda & Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexandthe...
1 review
“Tranquil old stone farm cottage with lovely open plan living area.”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This cottage is one of a few beautiful old stone farm buildings within a courtyard. The setting in typical rural Cornish was tranquil and relaxing. The upstairs living area felt spacious due to the light and like the bedrooms it was nicely decorated, clean & fresh. Lots of cleaning products alongside the generous supply of washing powder, tea, coffee, sugar, milk & biscuits made us feel very welcome. With two young children i did miss WIFI & if we had stayed in the cottage more i would have bought the daily one. I would definitely recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
558jill
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Comfortable cottage with most amenities except wifi”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Felicity who greeted us was very welcoming and helpful. Using the post code is a great way of finding the property - something that we learnt by default after going to the wrong Courtyard address! It is a little out of town however is located Ina very peaceful area overlooking farm land.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
BT does offer Wi-Fi for a small fee paid online. We have worked out that it is cheaper for people to use that service than if we included it within the rental price. We could however let visitors know how to access it, an easy process.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen B
1 review
“Peaceful cottage with smart facilities in a great location to explore Cornwall”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Himba cottage was a lovely place to stay on our trip to Cornwall. The rooms were all well appointed and the facilities were good and all worked well. The accomodation was bigger than we expected as we had thought that our children might have to sleep in the lounge, but the second bedroom although small was big enough for them.

The location on the A39 is great to get out to all parts of Cornwall. We went all the way from Lands End and the Eden Project. The many and well organised tourism leaflets in the property helped us to find some places we had not planned to visit.

When we arrived the first time it was a little difficult to find the right turning, but soon became familiar with it. I was suprised there was no sign for 'The Courtyard'. It was nice to arrive with a tea, fresh milk and biscuits to welcome us.

Our dog was also happy to stay and the throws for her to sit on were a useful addition. It is a bit of a pity that there aren't paths into the nearby woods, but the walk down the road and back was lovely.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decoration and the convenient location for driving
Liked least: The fan in the bathroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaW4710
1 review
“Relaxation”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely cottage and a perfect location for a family with dogs as there are lots of beautiful walks and bike rides! What a great holiday.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing