We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pumpkin soup - WOW”
Review of Penrose Water Gardens - CLOSED

Penrose Water Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penrose Water Gardens has been established for over 40 years. It is set within beautiful woodland valley 2.2 Miles from Truro, Cornwall. The gardens cover six and a half acres of marshland and are made up of 40 ponds fed by natural springs. The ponds host 40 different varieties of water lilies and other aquatic plant and wildlife. Also onsite is a Conference Venue and The Lily Tearooms. Free parking, Wifi & entry to Gardens.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pumpkin soup - WOW”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Back once again to the Lily Tearooms, in the grounds of Penrose Water Gardens. Always first class choice for lunch and today it was the seasonal pumpkin soup which took all the accolades.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great cream teas, lovely location. Could do with a wine licence for their meals, the quality of them good....Staff are friendly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BreakfastBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lily Tearooms a well kept secret!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited Penrose Water Gardens for afternoon tea and wedding reception yesterday. 13.09.13.
The water gardens were lovely but Lily's tearoom did it for us!
We had tiered trays of beautiful sandwiches, various cakes & delicious cream teas. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful and catered for your every need.
If I could sum up this tearoom, I would describe it as quaint in a very nice setting.
I would highly recommend a visit here for afternoon tea.
Look out for a beautiful Ginger cat called Jacob. He is very friendly and like attention!
Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SirFrancesDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Keep it a secret!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I deliberated for ages as to whether to review this place. We have been regulars since it started and wanted to keep it our secret. It really is a hidden gem with a wonderful cafe. Food is delicious and great value. Over the months we have seen it get more and more popular from somewhere that used to be quiet (where we had the whole place to ourselves) to somewhere at times we couldn't get a table. Guess the secret is out...! Fantastic place rain or shine. Can't recommend it high enough.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Always a lovely place for a coffee or a snack”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Well worth tracking this place down and making it a regular stop for a drink, a meal or a snack in the Lilly Tearooms. Amazing selection of homemade cakes! If you like strong tea though you need to ask as the standard pot only has one teabag!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrose Water Gardens also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing