We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food but awfully slow service”
Review of SiSin - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
SiSin
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy food but awfully slow service”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I would have given this place a 5 start rating if the service had not been so painfully slow. The Boy and I went there 2 hours before a concert and ended up being late to the concert. We both ordered noodle dishes and 2 sides of veg each. I know that Japanese dishes are cooked to order and as a result come out at random times... However, weirdly, we never ate at remotely the same time. We were for 3 hours and our (identical) noodle dishes came 20 minutes apart.... It was the same for the rest of the food. Awkwardly, I'd eaten all of my food before he had even started.
We complained and they gave us a discount but it didn't make up for a ruined experience... Three hours for a few noodles and a bit of veg is ridiculous!
The food, however, was amazing. The waiting staff were ever so nice. I felt really bad as they were getting so many complaints from customers. If they could serve a meal in 20 minutes instead of 3 hours then they'd be great!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit confused a bit disappointed”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to try out this relatively new restaurant having not been to a Japanese restaurant before. First off they were unable to give us a table at the time we asked for (1930) offering us an earlier table which was fine until we arrived and realised the restaurant was almost empty and remained so for much of our meal. The staff gave a pleasant welcome and explained the restaurant menu recommending that if we were unsure of what to choose we should consider the taster menu which we opted for. This consisted of 7 or 8 courses which was suggested by the waiter to be plenty of food and whilst the more expensive option represented good value for money. The courses came in quick succession and though some were very nice (the eel was interesting and tasty) the order of the food seemed to have little to no thought behind it, with the final dish being some grilled mackerel?! Few of the dishes were presented with their Japanese names, a number tasted very similar and all were inadequately small to satisfy our appetites. On the plus side we were able to specify a particular dish came as part of our meal but on the whole the experience was expensive and a bit disappointing leaving the restaurant hungry and no greater knowledge of Japanese food than when we entered.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingmunkee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ignore the décor and service as the food is good”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Having read the previous reviews I have to say that my experience was a mixture of all of them.

SiSin needs to decide if it’s a nightclub, bar or restaurant. We sat down to eat at 7pm with dance music thumping, which we did giggle about, as normally Japanese restaurants are pretty calm! The décor is awful; dark, dark, dark; gloomy and slightly sinister – we felt like we should have been given torches to find our table. Very amateur not really Japanese more a south east Asian hodgepodge of culture with Buddhist, Tao, Shinto icons as well as TK Maxx specials all thrown in for good measure, maybe they have never been to Japan? Generally the decoration is badly done and really rushed especially the bathrooms not really clean more grubby and in need of a lick of paint and a mop. In addition the service was really slow we waited 40mins from ordering to receiving any food, which is a shame as the food was really good. Beautifully presented; real wow factor and tasty. Good combinations of flavours and interesting dishes. They recommended the taster menu but if you have eaten Japanese before I would recommend choosing your own dishes, the prawns and foie gras dishes are excellent as is the tempura.

I hope they survive as they really have the food spot on but the décor and poor service really let the place down. As the staff didn’t communicate why it was taking so long and the maître d' was verging on being surly and more concerned with chatting with her staff, than giving eye contact to her customers. It’s early days so there is time to iron out the slow and lazy service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute let down.”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This Japanese restaurant has replaced a perfectly good pub called the Kasbah.......Why? While it's nice to have a different place to eat,it should not have been at the expense of a very popular pub.And boy oh boy,are the drinks expensive? Well over £7 for a pint of lager & Bacardi diet coke.When you approach & enter the establishment you are greeted by a deep purple & black colour scheme......think Dracula's castle.Or another thing it reminds me of is a Japanese brothel.And guess how many sets of beer pumps there are?.......Yeah,1 set.....Making service as slow as Moses.There are the usual overly expensive cocktails which people hardly bother with & most of the locals are drinking elsewhere.Me & the missus have been using the pub for years but when we walked passed it the other evening,the bar was empty while other nearby pubs were busy.Sisin is an over pretentious unnecessary & OVER PRICED restaurant/bar which should & could have been located elsewhere in Truro.......And it eliminated another British pub.
PS.The atmosphere was like being at a funeral.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
4 Thank trotskyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just Sushi”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was really pleased to find a restaurant serving Japanese food without the usual emphasis on sushi above all the other types of cooking. Having lived in Japan briefly, I have a pretty good idea of how most of these dishes should taste and 90% of our food was just right. As they haven't been open for long we'll leave it at that! I'll be recommending the place to friends anyway, and when they get some more Japanese booze for the bar it'll be even better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spalpew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SiSin also viewed

 
Truro, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing