We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”
Review of The Basking Shak - CLOSED

The Basking Shak
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: They've just opened, and are pretty impressive.
Restaurant details
Description: They've just opened, and are pretty impressive.
bed3
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We saw the sign - The Basking Shak - and thought we'll check it out! This little beach cafe is a real gem. We thought the food was better than at The Hidden Hut which has had enormous publicity thanks to 'Caroline Quentin's Cornwall' programme and is only just along the coast.

The cafe is located in an abandoned hotel at the edge of Pendower Beach. The welcome was very warm, smiles all around, and the service and food were excellent. Initially we just had a cold drink and a very yummy piece of flapjack but then returned for lunch. The pulled pork, burger and hulloumi were all excellent. Freshly prepared, a reasonable size portion and delicious. We did manage ice creams as they were Roskilly's - probaly one of the best local ice cream companies around. Another positive for this cafe it recycles its bottles and cans - The Hidden Hut doesn't!

We will be returning when we next visit the Portscatho area and will be telling our friends.

We understand that the Atlantic Fryer serves fish and chips here on a Thursday evening - the best fish and chips we have tried this year and mushy peas to die for!! Take your own booze.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank homeOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach Cafe”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Enjoyed delicious halloumi burgers on focaccia bread and mackerel salads as a Saturday Lunch with fantastic views. This place is a real hidden treasure, on an amazing and almost deserted beach - one of our favourite ever lunches! This café is also dog friendly as is Pendower beach - a real find whilst on holiday with our dog in tow! Looking forward to another visit already!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gp1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips etc all at the most beautiful sandy beach.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you fancy great fish and chips you can not go wrong with this place. We were pleasantly surprised as we sat on a beautiful Cornish beach to find this magical place. As luck would have it we were able to enjoy their terrific Fish and Chips basking in the glorious summer late evening sunshine. 10/10 for the quality of the food and the taste. As we were around for a couple of weeks. First staying at the relaxing Barn Owl Cottage just up the road at Trelagossick Farm. Then staying at the New Inn in Veryan for 2 nights before we went to Falmouth, we were able to enjoy the wonderful snacks and ice creams too, while soaking up the sun at Pendower Beach. They were really friendly too and the kitchen was spotless. Well done to them for making our Cornish Holiday such a real treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We called in here twice during our week in Cornwall. Thursday evenings is fish and chips - some of the best I've ever eaten. We'd taken the beautiful 3 mile walk along the coastal path from Portscatho to Pendower so had worked up a bit of an appetite! My husband managed to squeeze in some delicious Roskilly's ice cream for dessert! They also serve a selection of tasty homemade cakes which we sampled on our previous visit. A lovely setting, friendly owners and definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMcPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Curious but excellent!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

At first we thought it was closed - it was attached to a derelict hotel. Yet The Basking Shak is a conservatory extension to the old hotel with ample outside seating. The ice cream cornet (After Eight ice cream in a sugar cone) was massive, and excellent value at just £2. We wandered down to the nearby, virtually deserted beach to eat it. Yummy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Battymatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Basking Shak also viewed

 
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing