We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #2 of 36 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a very relaxing one night stay in Bedroom 2. Such a beautiful place in a tranquil location. The rooms were perfect, tastefully decorated and the views were stunning. There was a private balcony/terrace with Bedroom 2 - sadly we didn't have the weather to sit out!
Luxurious beds, lovely toiletries, great breakfast and a cream tea on arrival - what's not to like!
It was only a 5-10 minute drive into Truro and in the evening we had a taxi each way which cost approx £7-8 each way.
Customer service was great and we were made to feel very welcome. Will definitely return for longer! Really couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
165
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A week watching a family of eleven ducklings maturing as they paraded back and forth in front of the breakfast room, whilst the tide in the estuary ebbed and flowed in front of the bedroom window. Hearty breakfasts and an idyllic location. Luxury, attention to detail and don't be fooled by the website that says 'double beds', they are enormous. One quirk, a bidet but not a shaver socket ?? We won't say which bedroom we stayed in, we will want it free for when we go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed for one night at the Old Vicarage as I was in Truro on business. The idyllic location, characterful house and warm welcome were very relaxing after a tough day. Breakfast was faultless, I hope to return for a greater length of time as a tourist.
Bik from London

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river is the thing to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

First impressions: stunning, quiet location close to town centre

Marilyn was welcoming and helpful, the room was luxurious with beautiful views across the river fal. Staying here felt more like a boutique hotel than a b&b, white company toiletries and luxury bathroom/bedding. Very peaceful nights stay and free wifi a bonus.
Breakfast was local, organic produce perfectly cooked and lots of choice.

Bad points: none! Looking forward to staying again

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mylifeinhotels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a gorgeous accommodation and location. We stayed in room 5 and sat in the bay window with the sash windows open and able to overlook the river Fal . Beautiful gardens and ever present ducks... The owners are so attentive, breakfast was scrummy , cream tea yummy with lovely warm scones. Location is so idyllic if you want to walk the area or just relax. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated , bathrooms modern with quirky touches. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed - the place is impeccable as ever; comfortable rooms, great food and service and wonderful views. Great choice of freshly cooked options for breakfast is the icing on the cake.

A great place to base yourself for a few days in central Cornwall.


I cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Old Vicarage for 2 wonderful nights, booked by our daughter as we needed to travel to Cornwall unexpectedly. Cannot praise the accommodation, and hospitality of the owners for such a warn welcome. They go far beyond anyone's expectations. Nothing is too much trouble. Would highly recommend this b & b for any type of occasion. With such stunning views, who could ask for more in the beautiful tranquil scenery. Highly recommended. Thank you guys!! We'll be back :))

Room Tip: No swimming pool!! My error... All rooms are stunning. It depends on your needs. Couldn't fau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
800 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
565 reviews
1.7 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
702 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#5 of 6 in Truro
421 reviews
4.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: St Clement, Truro TR1 1SZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a unique bed and breakfast venue located in the charming hamlet of St Clement on the outskirts of the Cathedral City of Truro. Situated in one of the most picturesque and tranquil locations in Cornwall the property, which dates back to the 1500s, is a literal stone's throw from the banks of the beautiful Tresillian River. Full Cornish breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing