We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always friendly service”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #1 of 19 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always friendly service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have been to the old vicarage over a dozen times now for lunch and afternoon teas!! Fantastic
Food and smiley freindly service!! Really enjoyed our lunch today, even though it was exstremly busy, we had super lunch - fresh food and service. We have told many of our friends, who have also visitied :-) we recommend the tranquil atmosphere and beautiful views, plus the added bonus of a visiting duck and her 9 ducklings!!

Thank you the vicarage!!
Mrs Claire Cotton

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
172
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've stayed here several times now and each time have had a lovely stay. As other reviewers have mentioned, the Old Vicarage is in St Clements, minutes away from central Truro. It's not the easiest place to find, especially on a dark November night but well worth the effort. Access is down a narrow lane with little or no lighting and as my satnav couldn't pinpoint the exact location on my first visit - I ended up parking the car and walking around the village until I found it. Even in daylight it's not that easy to find and I nearly went astray. Parking is also rather limited, or seemed to be and can take some manoeuvring to get in and out.
Each time I've stayed in one of the smaller rooms, not a lot of space but each clean, decorated to a high standard and very comfortable - one with views out over the garden towards the river and one looking out towards the church. The decor is modern, lots of clean lines but in keeping with the age of the house. I believe either rooms are more opulently furnished.
No matter what time I've arrived (and I was very late, that first time) I've had a warm welcome. The staff are very friendly and make you feel at home. What I particularly enjoyed while eating a well cooked breakfast in the downstairs kitchen / dining room was watching the semi-tame pheasants being fed (until the ducks muscled in on the action!) on the terrace at the back of the house which leads to the well tended gardens and access to the riverside walk.
Truro is not a cheap place to stay and there are some really nice alternatives nearby but this is my favourite. I'm looking forward to returning for a leisure trip rather than when working in the area on business and being able to spend more time relaxing and exploring the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telki, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have spent here 5 nights travelling around Cornwall, staying in 2 rooms:
+ great location, in easy reach to the most important sights of Cornwall
+ spacious & very tastefully decorated interior, view to the river
+ perfectly clean & tidy rooms & bathrooms
+ very nice garden, right at the riverbank

- breakfast selection to be improved (though quality was but)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laszlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Far From the Maddening Crowd of Truro this beautiful St Clement Gem offers 5 Star accommodation just a stones throw from Town. Quite, Comfortable Relaxing in Good company with good food what more could you ask for and what more do you want

Room Tip: The Room with the view is best for watching the wild Life
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A really beautiful, and luxuriously fitted, B&B in an idyllic setting. The views from my bedroom were just fantastic.

I didn't get a chance to sample the tea shop but I have no doubt that this also will be superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My Mom was taken out for lunch here and she brought the whole family down for the day, best lunch I have had in ages, the panini was gorgeous, the garden is beautiful.
Stunning walks along the river also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I spent 4 nights at The Old Vicarage in July of 2013. I had read excellent reviews beforehand and hoped I wouldn't be disappointed. I certainly was not at all disappointed. I absolutely fell in love with it. I had a lovely room facing the tranquil river--one of the nicest rooms I have ever been in--better than most hotel rooms I have had, and I have done a lot of traveling. The setting was amazing (replete with ducks and other lovely birds),and the owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast choices were delicious, as were the cakes and scones I ordered in the afternoon. I heartily recommend this bed and breakfast. I hope to go back someday. By all means, go in the old adjacent church--incredible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
575 reviews
1.7 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
432 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
4.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: St Clement, Truro TR1 1SZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a unique bed and breakfast venue located in the charming hamlet of St Clement on the outskirts of the Cathedral City of Truro. Situated in one of the most picturesque and tranquil locations in Cornwall the property, which dates back to the 1500s, is a literal stone's throw from the banks of the beautiful Tresillian River. Full Cornish breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing