We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a gem”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #1 of 20 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed overnight at this lovely B & B which lived up to it's reviews. Lovely location, lovely rooms and a fantastic glass fronted area for breakfast. I only wish I had more time to spend at this fabulous location.
Yes it is a little way outside of town and I travelled by train & taxi which did limit me slightly. I had to take something for my dinner and I would have loved a glass of wine !! But I knew what the deal was and went prepared. Ideally drive and then you can explore both by car & on foot this little price of heaven.
I can't recommend this place enough & as you may have seen from my previous reviews over the years I am not easily pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was very comfortable. Marilyn is very helpful and accommodating, in fact all of the staff are great. Nothing is too much trouble. As they don't serve dinner they are very happy to store food and/or wine in their fridge if you want to eat in. They will also set a table for your in their breakfast room. The cakes for afternoon tea are delicious. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and the bathrooms are great. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you are happy to pay the extra stay in a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenP057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The quality of the rooms, the linen and the service are, in my view, up there with the very best country hotels, indeed the best London hotels.

The location at the end of a no through road right next to the Tressillian River means the area id very quiet.

The on site team room serves a very good breakfast and the availability of coffee, lunches & tea through the day means you can stay on site in the very comfortable rooms.

The lack of dinner facilites is not a problem as Truro is only 1.5 miles away with all its excellent restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topshamtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Well made coffee, including proper strength espresso; fabulously fresh Hummingbird cake; freshly bake scones, warm from the oven. Beautiful garden setting. What's not to like? Prompt, friendly service. Lunch menu was short but interesting. Food on others' tables looked tempting.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank bestcornishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a delightful guest house with lovely hosts, rooms and scenery. Full English breakfast and yummy cakes for afternoon tea. Close to the town centre, shopping and restaurants.
We stayed for three nights in early May talking lots of lovely walks and feeding the resident ducks and ducklings xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin-NicolaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently went here with a few friends for a jewellery making course overlooking the river. It was the perfect place to chose. The food was lovely (the cakes to die for) and the setting was just gorgeous. I love this place! Thank you for being so welcoming!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is one of the best B&B's, with one of the most peaceful locations, and beautiful views, we have ever stayed in.

Based on a tight schedule for our UK trip, we chose Truro as our base for a couple of days in Cornwall. We used TA to choose The Old Vicarage - and I am so glad we did! It is actually in tiny St Clement - 1 mile away on the edge of Truro - but you feel like you are in another world. It sits on the edge of the river, looking out over a peaceful little bay to nothing but trees on the other side. The garden is full of beautiful birdlife.

The property has been wonderfully restored: modern and elegant, yet warm and friendly. All rooms are beautifully decorated - but if you can, stay in one with a view. Ours was magnificent, and I could have sat in the bay window and watched the garden and river all day (but too much sightseeing to do!) And yes, the bathroom was amazing.
Breakfasts are delicious in a wonderful glass room overlooking the gardens. The hosts were very engaging and friendly.

For the level of luxury, service and quality, we thought this was a very reasonably priced B&B.

The point about mobile reception is valid - the signal was weak but we did manage to check emails, and did not need to do business.

At breakfast, we met another guest, a regular business traveller in the area, who had stayed in the local chain hotel till he discovered The Old Vicarage. As he said, "why would you stay in a chain hotel, when for the same price you can stay here, enjoy a breakfast like this and look at a view like that?". I agree.

Room Tip: Choose "a room with a view" if you can, even though the standard room is lovely, the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jehsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
907 reviews
2.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
595 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
208 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: St Clement, Truro TR1 1SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a unique bed and breakfast venue located in the charming hamlet of St Clement on the outskirts of the Cathedral City of Truro. Situated in one of the most picturesque and tranquil locations in Cornwall the property, which dates back to the 1500s, is a literal stone's throw from the banks of the beautiful Tresillian River. Full Cornish breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing