We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sole Plaice Fish & Chips

Sole Plaice Fish & Chips
Ranked #70 of 220 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sole Plaice has been established at the same location for over 30 years as a family run business. We take great pride in the products and services we provide.All our fish stems from sustainable sources, in Russian, Norwegian or Icelandic waters. Our potatoes are local and freshly peeled and chipped every morning through rain or shine.Since opening in 1980, Sole plaice has been cooking in Beef dripping. We believe it gives a far better flavour and texture.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Excellent service, delicious hake and chips. Prices are a little more expensive than other fish and chip restaurants but very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maiisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
224 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Well cooked, fresh cod, hopefully from a sustainable source, but disappointing chips, soggy rather than crisp. And cooked in beef dripping! Lordy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Observer2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Love this fish and chip shop, its the best one ever!!! Come here a lot with the family, food is fan, service is great!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shannieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst I've ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Been there twice to see if my first experience was a glitch . unfortunately it was not. soggy chips, watery tasteless cod and really greasy batter. In future will protect my cholesterol levels elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TOOAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome chippy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I love this chippy. Ive been here alot and the staff are consistently smiling and friendly through out. The food is always scrummy and cooked well. The best chippy in truro for sure and is a must for an authentic cornish fish dinner. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel_eyes_sg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sole Plaice Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Sole Plaice Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing