We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very approachable and good food”
Review of The Lemon Tree Cafe Bistro - CLOSED

The Lemon Tree Cafe Bistro
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a 20 seater Cafe/Bistro tucked behind Truro Cathedral with ample parking just opposite. We serve quality breakfasts, great lunches, real coffee, beers & wines. Locally sourced wherever possible. We also offer extensive vegetarian options & a take away menu. Free Wi-Fi & Toilets. The space is bright & airy with huge windows and a very relaxed atmosphere.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very approachable and good food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I had heard a lot a good things about this place and upon visiting I wasnt disapointed. The staff were very friendly and accomodating to my needs. I certainly won't hesitate in recommending them to my friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“June 20120”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Really nice & enjoyable..great place to meet & chill with a drink and some nice food..x customer service, ambience..nothing missing!
Give this place a go..its lovely

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaPDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced mini meals that's not family friendly.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stumbled across this place for lunch by chance (2 adults and a 2yr old) and wish we hadn't.

You get 'chips' with a sandwich that you order. Yeh, you do but only 6 of them served in a mini ramekin.
Also had a chicken wrap that cost close to £10 and had minimal chicken.
If you want to feel even close to full after a meal, here isn't the place.
The food was of pretty good quality to be fair though.

What most annoyed me was how we were made to feel unwelcome as a family. The looks you receive when your child made the slightest move was not something I'd like to pay to experience again.

All in all, not child friendly, overpriced and un welcoming.
I hope if you stumble across this place that your experience is much better ours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alphabet9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulcake, Owner at The Lemon Tree Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are obviously disappointed with this review as we are very proud of our service.. If the food was a disappointment we are genuinely sorry but it was not mentioned at the time. For the record, our Chicken wrap comes with large hand cut chips served in a tea cup, a pot of home made coleslaw and costs £7.95

On the other point made. We are more than family friendly, our very existance relies on this being that Cornwall is a Summer holiday desination. On this occasion there was an incident where the Two Year old in question was playing with a beaker of juice and pouring it onto the sofa, as there was no apparent reaction from the parents i simply asked if this could please not happen again as someone else would be sitting there afterwards. My wife & i were then glared at for the remainder of the visit and actually 'we' felt very uncomfortable.

A little saddened here but still confident in what we do.

Paul (Owner).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here at about 3pm. They were shortly intending to close, bit kindly offered to stay open for us with enough time to eat.

Both my partner and I had the pulled pork sandwich- the portions were generous, the presentation beautiful, and the taste delicious.

The host was very friendly and aptly described her intentions for the place to be 'an extension of a living room', cozy, warm and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mid_Nite_Lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Having read the reviews on here i decided to pop in for lunch and i wasn't disappointed. It really is a charming little cafe, the ambiance is delightful and the staff are really friendly. I had the soup of the day which was beetroot with goats cheese and rocket on top, very interesting flavours, it was a good thick soup served with two slices of fine granary bread that certainly filled the gap. Although it's a little off the main drag this little cafe is well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree Cafe Bistro also viewed

 
Truro, Truro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing