We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lemon Tree Cafe Bistro - CLOSED

The Lemon Tree Cafe Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a 20 seater Cafe/Bistro tucked behind Truro Cathedral with ample parking just opposite. We serve quality breakfasts, great lunches, real coffee, beers & wines. Locally sourced wherever possible. We also offer extensive vegetarian options & a take away menu. Free Wi-Fi & Toilets. The space is bright & airy with huge windows and a very relaxed atmosphere.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Identified this cafe using tripadvisor and very pleased. I had the buffalo burger with extra Cornish cheese, it was delicious. My wife had the vennison burger that was even tastier, and our party of friends were all very happy with there meals. Good friendly service, menu not to long and all looked good. Sadly no room for cake as main course so filling. Recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prof_Hatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here on the way to Falmouth to attend a family celebration. I had found the recommendation on Tripadvisor and what a good choice it was! It's not a large café but very friendly and the food is very tasty. Three of us had the pulled pork, served in a roll with BBQ sauce and with chips and coleslaw, my husband chose the kangaroo burger in a bun with tomato chutney and chips and my daughter's partner went for the Thai fish cakes with sweet chilli sauce and chips. All very yummy! There is quite a varied selection on the menu including veg tagine with couscous and some curries. We will definitely eat here again when we visit Truro!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous little place”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came here with friends who we were visiting, after looking for a local cafe and reading the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed! I had a really delicious venison burger with red onion chutney (from the specials board) which came beautifully presented with homemade coleslaw, dressed salad and chips on the side. Others had fish finger sandwich and chips, buffalo burger and Indian spiced shepherds pie and all were polished off nicely! The cakes sounded lovely but we were unfortunately all too full to try them by the end of our main meal! The food was all made to order and the service was lovely and friendly. The bill was reasonable (not cheap, but excellent quality and therefore excellent value) When we arrived, the cafe was empty, but by the time we were leaving it was full and bustling. We would recommend this lovely place to anyone looking for excellent quality and good value food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hatti10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A hidden gem that takes just a minute to seek out...”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We’ve been coming to the Lemon Tree for some time now; the best part of a decade really. In that time, it’s gone through changes of ownership and a redesign of the interior. It’s become less café and more bistro, but this isn’t a bad thing by any means. Some things haven’t changed though; it’s still welcoming, the staff friendly and accommodating, the place is clean and fresh, the prices are still very reasonable and the food is still excellent.

The menu isn’t massive, but contains something for everyone; there’s always something tempting on the specials board. Being a stereotypical northerner though, I had a soft spot for the fish-finger sandwich that was on the menu at our last visit and I really wasn’t disappointed; presentation was, as always, excellent, portions were generous and the taste fantastic.

Quality overall is arguably better than many of the larger establishments in Truro that charge considerably more and have, in our experience, delivered a poorer service overall. If I could pick this place up and move it to the north-east, I’d be there every day, like a shot. As it stands though, it remains somewhere that, on our yearly trips to Cornwall, we actively seek out and look forward to dining in; I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheManWhoIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our new favourite”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Decided to try the Lemon Tree as a change from our usual lunch spot and am so pleased we did. The lunch menu and the sandwiches/baguettes all sounded lovely but in the end we both went for the breakfast menu. My husband chose the traditional full english breakfast which looked great, all freshly cooked and served with thickly sliced granary toast. I went for a sausage sandwich and wasn't disappointed, good quality sausages, fresh, thickly sliced bread and lots of brown sauce - heaven! Good quality, hot coffee and friendly service. all in a pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. After a wander round town, we went back for coffee and cake (a gorgeous sticky chocolate orange brownie) before going home. Think we've found our new favourite place to go, - looking forward to returning and trying the hot roast beef sandwich.........

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree Cafe Bistro also viewed

Perranarworthal, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing