We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a work trip”
Review of The County Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a work trip”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had a work meeting in the Truro area and was recommended the County Arms by a colleague. The room was large and comfortable, nice furnishings and generally a lovely place to be after a very very long journey

The only negative was the slightly unimaginative menu in the restaurant, although the food was pretty well executed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FleaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Many Thanks for your review subsequent your recent stay; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms comfortable and spacious.
We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards- County Arms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    161
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
88
158
17
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

had a lovely stay, an outstanding clean place to stay. it is central to everywhere, the service from hotel is excellant, the food at the pub is very good and all good value. the breakfast was lovely and you can eat what you like and they are very helpfull. would recommned and will be back .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review following onto your recent stay with us; we are delighted to hear that you had a great time and found the rooms to be comfortable and our hotel well located.
We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards- County Arms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My family and I booked five nights here last week. Our plan was to enjoy milder weather than what we had back home in New England. Unfortunately, the entire UK was being battered by high wind, rain and flooding across the entire island. In Truro, Cornwall, we had a ringside seat to the whole event.

All that aside, we didn't let weather affect our plans and the County Arms had our rooms ready when we arrived from London. After that long trip, which was complicated by the weather, we appreciated the clean and comfortable rooms. They were more spacious than we expected, closer to USA sized hotel rooms. There is a pub on the premises, which is owned by the St Austell brewery, so we knew the beers would be good- and they were! The food also matched the brews and employees were all quite friendly and pleasant, except for one with a bit an attitude one night at dinner. We ate several meals there and enjoyed a pint after sightseeing all over Cornwall during the stay. It was a welcome place to come home to each night. The hotel is close to the rail service but be warned it is an uphill hike and with luggage, could be difficult for some. We were a group of six adults all 50+ but others could have a problem. By taxi, it's about a 5 minute drive away. We would highly recommend this hotel and next time back in beautiful Cornwall, it would certainly be on our list.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we had were nicely decorated and were quiet as well. No unnecessary noises from out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fr21555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your recent review, we are delighted to hear that you all had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the rooms comfortable and spacious. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals and our beers lived up to your expectations. It’s always rewarding to receive such positive feedback as the team do work very hard. We would however like to apologise regarding the member of our team that you mention who expressed some attitude whilst you were dinning. If you find the time, it would be most appreciated if you could contact me directly so that I may discuss this matter in further detail with you. Please be assured your comments will be passed onto the entire team as we are always aiming to achieve consistent levels of customer service at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regard, County Arms Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the county arms for one night in a wheelchair accessible room and a twin room. The wheelchair accessible room was spacious clean and very comfortable - much better then the rooms at premier inn, which we found to be quite small to manoeuvre a wheelchair.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good, which included fresh fruit: prepared mango, pineapple, orange, etc. Delicious pastry. The full English breakfast was good - hogs pudding was very tasty!
The only minor complaint I would have is that the fan in the bathroom is a little too loud and takes a while to turn off.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review subsequent your recent visit, we are pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay, found the rooms comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast. Following onto your comments regarding the extractor fan please do not hesitate to contact the Reception Team during your next stay so we can switch it off for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind Regards
County Arms Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

my wife and i stayed here 31st january for 1 night, our only regret was not being able to stay longer! the double room was on a par with any 5 star hotel, the bed was very very comfortable, amazing mattress gave us a great nights sleep.The bar and restaurant area was excellent as was the breakfast, the staff throughout were very polite and nothing was to much trouble...we will definitely be staying again. Terry & Sandra

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Terry & Sandra,
Many Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. Thank you for your great comments about the service you received from all the team, they all work very hard and it’s always pleasing to receive feedback on this. We are delighted to hear that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfasts and the view, we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind Regards- County Arms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at the County Arms. I wasn't too sure what to expect as we'd gained an excellent price through booking.com for room only.
We arrived earlier than the check in time but were greeted by a friendly & helpful receptionist who still got us to our room straight away. A very welcome relief after having been up half the night travelling. An afternoon snooze was needed!
The twin room we had was very large and furnished well, and tastefully. Everything seemed brand new. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well!
The bathroom was spotless and again seemed brand new. The only slight negative if I had to find one was the power of the shower. The water flow was not brilliant. However, I've had worse showers! It wasn't an issue that would deter me from staying here again.
Breakfast is pretty cheap, and the best value is probably a bacon roll which includes coffee or tea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy-To-Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Many Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and for your lovely comments regarding your rooms; we are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay and found the rooms comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards

County Arms Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for one night whilst in Truro for a 35mm screening at the Plaza cinema. We picked it as it was reasonably priced, with parking and within walking distance of town. We were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. The staff at the reception were very friendly and welcoming, as we're the cleaning staff and bar staff we met. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel still has quite a new feel to it, even though it is now 2 years old. There was a generous selection of local tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room, as well as locally produced toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. Although breakfast wasn't included in the cost of the room we decided to have some. There is a varied menu and prices start from as little as £2.50 for an egg sandwich. The food was very good and I would certainly recommend it. Very happy with our stay and we will certainly come back on our next visit to Truro!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us; we are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the team friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards- County Arms Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
854 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
729 reviews
7.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,223 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Arms

Property: The County Arms
Address: Highertown, Truro TR1 3PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Arms, Truro is one of Truro's most popular places to meet, eat, drink and now stay. County Arms offer 33 top quality en-suite bedrooms, in addition to its popular bar and restaurant. The central mid-peninsula location makes this the perfect stopover for business trips and leisure breaks in Truro and Cornwall- Includes a 24 Hour reception desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The County Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Arms Hotel Truro
The County Arms Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing