We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”
Review of The County Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The County Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

my wife and i stayed here 31st january for 1 night, our only regret was not being able to stay longer! the double room was on a par with any 5 star hotel, the bed was very very comfortable, amazing mattress gave us a great nights sleep.The bar and restaurant area was excellent as was the breakfast, the staff throughout were very polite and nothing was to much trouble...we will definitely be staying again. Terry & Sandra

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi Terry & Sandra,
Many Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. Thank you for your great comments about the service you received from all the team, they all work very hard and it’s always pleasing to receive feedback on this. We are delighted to hear that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfasts and the view, we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind Regards- County Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for The County Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 445 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at the County Arms. I wasn't too sure what to expect as we'd gained an excellent price through booking.com for room only.
We arrived earlier than the check in time but were greeted by a friendly & helpful receptionist who still got us to our room straight away. A very welcome relief after having been up half the night travelling. An afternoon snooze was needed!
The twin room we had was very large and furnished well, and tastefully. Everything seemed brand new. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well!
The bathroom was spotless and again seemed brand new. The only slight negative if I had to find one was the power of the shower. The water flow was not brilliant. However, I've had worse showers! It wasn't an issue that would deter me from staying here again.
Breakfast is pretty cheap, and the best value is probably a bacon roll which includes coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy-To-Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Many Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and for your lovely comments regarding your rooms; we are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay and found the rooms comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards

County Arms Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for one night whilst in Truro for a 35mm screening at the Plaza cinema. We picked it as it was reasonably priced, with parking and within walking distance of town. We were very impressed with all aspects of our stay. The staff at the reception were very friendly and welcoming, as we're the cleaning staff and bar staff we met. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel still has quite a new feel to it, even though it is now 2 years old. There was a generous selection of local tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room, as well as locally produced toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. Although breakfast wasn't included in the cost of the room we decided to have some. There is a varied menu and prices start from as little as £2.50 for an egg sandwich. The food was very good and I would certainly recommend it. Very happy with our stay and we will certainly come back on our next visit to Truro!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review regarding your recent stay with us; we are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the team friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards- County Arms Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Great thanks as ever . menu needs a tweak I gather place is going to be refurbed in jan so hopefully we will get new menu staff friendly and helpful as always. Choice beer great love st Austell brewery beers worth a trip to the brewery to see how it's all made they also have a great shop

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Chris100mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Many Thanks for taking the time to submit your review subsequent your recent stay with us; we are delighted to hear that you enjoy the St Austell Brewery Beers. We are also pleased to hear that you were looked after by the team, it’s always great to receive such nice feedback on the service as all members of the team work so hard- they will be delighted to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks again

Kelly & Antony Woodcock- General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed at the County Arms while on a business trip. Staff are really efficient and friendly. Rooms are furnished to a good standard and the whole hotel is very clean.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the service or lack of it in the bar, I had booked a table and waited at the empty bar for 10 minutes before I was acknowledged. The staff seemed more interested in chatting to each other rather than serving customers.

The food was fine.

I would definitely stay there again but I may be tempted to eat out next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay with us; we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the rooms clean and comfortable. We would like to apologise about the delay your encountered in the bar, please be assured that yourcomments will be passed onto all of the team to ensure that they are all giving consistent service. Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards- County Arms Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Good beer , hot water , comfortable bed, attentive service, ok breakfast good central setting,
We ate in the pub on one evening ... Food ok
Does what it says on the tin
Would easily stay here on business again but would choose somewhere else if I was on a pleasure weekend

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Many thanks for your reply, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay during your business trip and found the rooms comfortable.
We hope you have a great Christmas and we look forward to seeing you in the New Year.

Kind Regards

County Arms Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed with my husband and 18mths baby. Husband was working all through and we found the hotel, clean and food was amazing. Did not give a 5star because our dinner places were left in our room over night despite 2 opportunities for the staffs to clean it away ( when desserts & break fast were served.) Also, first place that has ever charged us for a baby cot. Overall, a nice place and great meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review following onto your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the food. We would like to apologise about the plates being left in your room and these should have been cleared- for future reference please feel free to give reception a call from the phone in your room and we will be happy to come straight up and collect these for you, alternatively leave them outside your bedroom door as our team regularly do corridor checks and again they will be happy to remove them.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards, Kelly & Antony Woodcock- General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,162 reviews
7.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Arms

Address: Highertown, Truro TR1 3PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Arms, Truro is one of Truro's most popular places to meet, eat, drink and now stay. County Arms offer 33 top quality en-suite bedrooms, in addition to its popular bar and restaurant. The central mid-peninsula location makes this the perfect stopover for business trips and leisure breaks in Truro and Cornwall- Includes a 24 Hour reception desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The County Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Arms Hotel Truro
The County Arms Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing