We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend in Cornwall” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The County Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The County Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend in Cornwall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked two nights over a weekend and had a wonderful time. The rooms are all new, modern, clean and well equipped. We had a room at the back of the hotel with beautiful views across the countryside.The staff were friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was excellent and extremely good value.

Room Tip: Worth the extra tenner for the view at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your stay with us here at The County Arms. The team work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have that feedback from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Many Thanks- County Arms Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    152
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
85
148
15
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked a family room for one night, which was well appointed, considering we have two boys into gaming - internet available and plenty of plug sockets in the room. The boys had a ready made up sofa bed, which was large enough for them both. Extra pillows were provided if we needed them. The room was on the front of the hotel, but we were not troubled by any road noise. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, as was a hair dryer. The room and ensuite were clean and fresh, with toiletries provided in the bathroom.

Beautiful views from the bar, overlook the countryside, which makes for an enjoyable afternoon's drinking. The food at night was satisfactory, but the breakfast was very good value for money and delicious. Staff were polite and helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a sofa bed, not z beds, so is ideal for children to sleep in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. I am very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and that the facilities were beyond helpful for you and your family. We hope to see you all again soon.

Thanks again, Management Team, County Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My sister booked two rooms at the hotel for us to use for rest as my Dad was seriously ill at the Royal Cornwall Hospital which is just up the road. We stayed with Dad 24 hours a day & went back to the hotel to get some sleep in shifts. The staff were absolutely fantastic, very supportive & friendly & made sure they didn't disturb us. They even offered to bring meals to our rooms if we didn't want to eat in the main restaurant. The room was very nice & quiet (apart from the bathroom extractor fan!) & a really good size. Big double beds meant that two people /relatives could sleep in the same bed & the reception staff helped to co-ordinate the key hand over. Restaurant food was good & as I was so late going in they gave me the rest of the Danish pastries to take up to the others. (I had only come off 'shift' at 6 AM). Decent sized car park for our various cars, & easy access to bus & train stations mean it's location is good for anyone without a car. Dad unfortunately left us in the early hours of 5th April & I never got to say a big thank you to all of the staff. So here it is THANK YOU X

Room Tip: Although the hotel is on the main road to Truro the rooms are towards the back so I couldn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhizzCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review following recent stay with us. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding the customer service provided. We are very sorry to hear the sad news about your Dad and would like to send our deepest sympathy to all the family. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards, Management Team, County Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Booked a table for a birthday meal told we could not book a table on the balcony but would have to "grab" one if one became available. Staff would not put birthday cake behind to bring out as surprise (have never had a restaurant refuse to do this) Service was efficient but very impersonal staff did not engage at all. Food was ok but nothing special . The County Arms appear to be putting quantity over quality these days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bettydragstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments about your recent visit. Firstly I would like to apologise about the mis-communication regarding the birthday cake as we are always beyond happy to bring them out, I will pass these comments on to all the staff to ensure all members are aware of this. Unfortunately we do not book the outside tables as these are available on a first come first serve basis, you are always more than welcome to book a table in the restaurant and if one becomes available outside we can help you move. We are disappointed to hear that you have not been satisfied with the service which you have experienced and would like to apologise for the shortfall on this occasion. We hope to see you again.

Regards, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Title says it all. Rooms are good value for money - at £89 it seemed expensive, but the Travel inn locally was more, wasn't air conditioned and doesn't have free wifi! Much nicer here, bigger and worth the 4 stars.
Shame the food in the restaurant is not the same. Had fish and chips - the mushy pea juice left the fish batter all soggy and there were 2 bones in my fillet. Not acceptable for me, let alone kids who might also eat it. Had cheesecake for desert, apparently it was Toblerone. Apart from a small lump of this chocolate on top, the rest of it bore little resemblance to anything really other than a bland chocolate mush.
So, if you want good rooms, the County Arms is for you; if you want some decent food while you stay, best look elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unclebob007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at. Please accept my sincere apologies that the level of food standards you experienced did not match your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the relevant Management so that they may deal with the issues that you have kindly brought to our attention. We take on board all customer feedback and will strive to improve all areas of our business through your constructive. I also would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your room and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stephanie Lorton, Reception Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided to call into the County Arms for a quick meal on a lovely evening. The unoccupied tables on the terrace outside were littered with empty glasses and the tables themselves needed a good wipe down. We ordered a rare steak and a prawn salad. My husband appeared with a bowl for me to fill with salad from the salad bar (he had had to ask for a cold bowl for the salad as he had been handed a warm one to start with - limp lettuce, yummy). The choice of salad was not particularly exciting - 3 containers were taken up with white sliced onion, chopped spring onion and sliced red onions. Various pickles also seemed popular. My husband's steak was rare in one part of the steak and well cooked in another. My prawn salad consisted of a heap of prawns on a dinner plate topped with a slice of lemon, two pieces of sliced baguette, and two soft pats of butter. It's a shame the meal was so mediocre because the view is lovely from the terrace but we won't be going back. It is also worth noting that all of the outside dining area is considered a smoking area as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit here at The County Arms. We really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the standard of your meal; your comments have been shared with the team so that we can deal with the issues that you have kindly brought to our attention. If you would like to discuss this further and could find the time to email me directly it would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards, Stephanie Lorton, Reception Supervisor- countyarms@staustellbrewery.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed here when our usual accomodation (Mannings) was fully booked. We have family who always stay here and recommend it so we thought we'd give it a go.
The County Arms is a new-build hotel/motel on the outskirts of Truro. It is conveniently located on one of the main arterial roads in/out of Truro but is some significant distance out of the town centre (maybe not too far as the crow flies but up one hell of a hill!). It has a large free car park and is superbly maintained throughout. Our check-in process was efficient and friendly.
Our room was at the rear of the hotel (a small £5 premium I think) with lovely views over the wooded hills beyond. A train line runs across the valley floor a short distance away but did not cause us any bother on either of the nights we were there. The room was attractively furnished in a modern style and had air conditioning. The bed was firm but comfortable. However, the pillows were truly awful - like bricks. When we asked for replacements for the following night, they quickly produced some much more comfortable feather pillows that provided a much better night's sleep!
Breakfast costs extra but, in fairness, is priced conservatively and even the full cooked breakfast doesn't feel like an extravagance.
Overall.... Professional but a bit impersonal. Convenient to get to and good parking. However, you will likely want a taxi into town. A good option if you want to stay in Truro, but in my opinion, whilst the County Arms probably has the better, slightly more modern infrastructure, I would rather stay at Mannings (see my previous reviews) for the superior location and more personal/higher standard of service (and its also a bit cheaper!).

Room Tip: Stay at the rear of the hotel for no road noise and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourgeois_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The County Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass your comments on about your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the problem occurred with the pillows was dealt with efficiently. For any future bookings you can request to have the feather pillows and these will be placed in your room ready for your arrival. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards, Management Team, County Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Donnington Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Arms

Property: The County Arms
Address: Highertown, Truro TR1 3PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Arms, Truro is one of Truro's most popular places to meet, eat, drink and now stay. County Arms offer 33 top quality en-suite bedrooms, in addition to its popular bar and restaurant. The central mid-peninsula location makes this the perfect stopover for business trips and leisure breaks in Truro and Cornwall- Includes a 24 Hour reception desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The County Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Arms Hotel Truro
The County Arms Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing