We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The County Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The County Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised at the standard of accommodation for the price. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had everything you would need. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and quiet - our view was of a field full of cattle. I have to say though that the most memorable part of our stay was the helpfulness and professionalism of the staff both in the hotel and the bar/restaurant as they couldn't do enough for us. They booked taxis, offered to book restaurants in Truro if we decided not to eat with them and were genuinely friendly. Particular mention to Kelly on reception who was very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel!,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nettie0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    155
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
85
150
16
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff were polite, helpful & genuine, great service all round from arrival (after booking late) meal/drinks & a spotless room, temp control/air con very neat & tidy en-suite bathroom. Comfortable bed (could maybe be a little harder but just a preference). Nothing negative to say about it, very reasonably priced too. Many thanks to the lady on reception who thought I bought in giant teddy bear too, it wasn't a teddy bear! It was my coat!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, Enbgland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel/bar restaurant for 2 nights. The hotel is only a couple of years old and has been extended on to the existing restaurant.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, large and come with free WiFi (I only ever book hotels now that do this)
The best part were the staff, in particularly in the restaurant. They could see that I was on my own on what were very busy Friday and Saturday nights and they made sure I was looked after. It's always very easy to complain about service given but all of them were a credit to the management.
The Cornish breakfast was probably one of the best breakfasts I have eaten. On the evening I ordered battered fish and chips and whilst I wasn't expecting it to be totally fresh, it was a bit of a shock to see it come out to the table about 2 minutes after I ordered it! It tasted fine but sometimes, it pays to have a bit of a delay to at least give the illusion that it was indeed fresh. A minor point but worth relaying
I may have to come back down to Truro in the coming month or so and will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Try and get the back of the hotel where the views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehonestreview1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 1 evening and have to say the staff couldn't do enough for us. The receptionist was really helpful, showed us our room and then when there was a noise we were unsure of she moved us and upgraded us without any hesitation. The rooms were clean, modern and lovely and the views were great too. I would certainly recommend this hotel for value for money, perfect for our 1 night stay in Truro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip and it certainly was above and beyond expectations. Very clean and comfortable rooms, the cleaners did a great job each day! The receptionist was lovely, there was a power outage (by no fault of the hotel) one morning whilst I was getting ready and they refunded my room service for this inconvenience. The restaurant is also fantastic, really enjoyed the pub quiz on Sunday night and the food was great value for money and delicious! If I had to say one negative thing it would be that the walls are quite thin so you can sometimes hear the other guests- however this was rarely a problem.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't have an adjoining door as you can hear your neighbours through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights here and ate both evenings in the restaurant. The reception staff were particularly pleasant and couldn't do enough. The room was very well appointed for business purposes (free wifi) and plenty of power points. Very good bed. No complaints whatsoever. The restaurant staff were attentive and the food was as I like it - plenty and tasty! Breakfast was equally good. Recommended for business and I would take the family for a central location on a Cornish holiday. Pricing acceptable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the minute I walked in I was pleased with my choice! Friendly staff, superbly clean hotel throughout... Just great! I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay here. I like it! The menu is all reasonably priced and there is a decent choice. Plus they will bring it to your room which is great if you are a lone person and don't want to go to the bar. Plus there is free wi-fi - Always a bonus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MileeScalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 36 in Truro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Arms

Property: The County Arms
Address: Highertown, Truro TR1 3PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The County Arms, Truro is one of Truro's most popular places to meet, eat, drink and now stay. County Arms offer 33 top quality en-suite bedrooms, in addition to its popular bar and restaurant. The central mid-peninsula location makes this the perfect stopover for business trips and leisure breaks in Truro and Cornwall- Includes a 24 Hour reception desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Arms Hotel Truro
The County Arms Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing