We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is the Jewel in Truros Crown”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This hotel is the Jewel in Truros Crown”
Reviewed March 27, 2010

As soon as you arrive at this hotel you notice the warmth of the building and that of the staff who make you feel welcome as soon as you step through the door. The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished and extremely comfortable. Enjoy a drink and complimentary canapes in the bar whilst choosing from the menu. The food is excellent not too much but not too little as is often the case with modern cuisine. The service is excellent without being overpowering. The following morning a traditional english breakfast was served but with the added delights of hogs pudding made it a breakfast to remember

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Britishgasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    202
    73
    37
    17
See reviews for
160
343
25
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Stayed at the Alverton Manor Hotel for business. I would highly recommend and would certainly return myself. The building itself is stunning, service is fantastic and manager clearly strives for perfection in every way. The evening meal was wonderful, with highly professional and friendly service. I felt very comfortable and relaxed here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croydongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Just spent a great long weekend at the Alverton Manor. We booked the '3 for 2' Weekend Break, which was excellent value. We got a large, pleasantly decorated room with a four poster bed and sitting area. The service in the restaurant was excellent, the food was well prepared and well served. All in all a very enjoyable stay. We'll certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2009

An historic building close to town centre and a glass of weak sherry in the bedroom does not compensate for tired decor and uncaring attitudes. The first indicator that not all would be well was found in the car park where the signage was damaged and unpainted. This impression was continued by frayed carpets and bashed interior paintwork. We had booked through the town's tourist office, having specified two singles with baths. What we got were two rooms in the attic, and only one with a bath. The hotel was virtually empty. The rooms themselves were just about acceptable, but the heating did not work and when this was pointed out, nothing was done until a second (enraged) complaint at 11 pm. The offer of WiFi Internet connection was a joke. The password supplied did not work, and the receptionist could not (or would not) do anything about supplying the necessary network key. The restaurant staff were catering for a dinner party of 26, and we were constantly told that they "would like to get you lot out of the way" beforehand, so we needed to take dinner earlier than planned. The food itself was OK, but an interesting difference in price for fish and chips - £10.50 taken in the lounge as a 'lite bite', whereas £20 if taken in the restaurant. One could not fault the younger waiting staff, but there was a clear absence of any management presence.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve20016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Our party of 3 (one double, one single) booked the Alverton's Christmas package and were not disappointed. We were looked after from the moment our bags touched the hotel floor until the time we went home. Alverton Manor was built in the 1800's, and looks beautiful and has a super feel to it. We ate amazing meals during our time here and had reasonably priced bottles of wine from their large selection. Our room was large, with a sofa and television, and the bathroom had a bidet, walk in shower and bath. Downstairs in the lounge area you can access the internet using the WI-FI. We left the hotel having piled on the pounds, feeling thoroughly relaxed and amazed at the genuine hospitality offered here.

  • Liked — The staff, the large comfortable rooms, excellent food - everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed here at the end of August with our 3 children. Although the hotel is aesthetically stuck in the '80s, we found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Our children were welcomed and the bedrooms were spacious and quiet. We didn't use the restaurant in the evening, but it seemed popular. The breakfast was very good (as long as you didn't have a fried one, which was transport cafe standard). Overall, I would recommend this hotel, as it provided everything you could need, but we probably wouldn't stay again until it has been refurbished.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Hotel a bit tired
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntymabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I had booked our stay at the Alverton manor from BC Canada over the Internet, site unseen. Although I had lived in Truro many years ago when the hotel was a Convent and I had visited the last nun to live there, a Sister Rosemary, I could not imagine how it had been made into a high rated hotel. My friend from Norway and I stayed at the Alverton manor for 5 days in June 2008 and had a wonderful stay. The staff were extreemly helpful and accomodating. We toured the whole hotel while the cleaners were cleaning and found everywhere to be quite charming. Yes there are certain things that could be upgraded but it would spoil the ambience and character of the whole place. Our room was large with a good bathroom, the sherry was wonderful, the tea and coffee tray always flowing with cookies, tea, coffee and milk. The food was wonderful and I recommend the Scrambled eggs rolled up in smoked salmon as out of this world for breakfast. I can not praise the staff highly enough as they are mainly what made our stay so pleasant.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Weaver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,634 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Property: The Alverton
Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing