We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Wedding Stay :)”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed on July 5th for a wedding at the hotel and stayed over night.The wedding was lovely and the hall it was held in was amazing. There was lots of seating in the hotel, the only thing was that drinks were pricey but was lovely.
The room was very spacious, comfy and well lit (with a gigantic bed!). Bathroom was also very nice, but no bath bubbles for the bath !!
Breakfast was very tasty had a full English which was nice and not greasy.
Had a lovely stay and would recommend :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 941 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

I got married at the Alverton in May this year and also went there for a meal for my hen do. The staff were amazing, they couldn't do enough for us, and the service was exemplary. The wedding co-ordinator is excellent, and always on hand to answer any questions and to help you in any way she can. The food was amazing on both occassions. The bridal suite over-looks the garden and is a really lovely room. The Alverton is a lovely old building that has been newly re-decorated to a high standard. I would highly recommend this venue. Thank you for an amazing wedding day, that we will never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is set in a lovely old building with a great patio seating area overlooking the gardens. Our room was very well appointed and nicely decorated, although having upgraded to a garden view we were disappointed that we couldn't actually see the garden because of the roof from the bar area below! So if you want to gaze out over the gardens avoid room 6. The staff were all very friendly and efficient and the food was excellent. Would definitely stay at The Alverton again.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a garden view room, avoid room 6 as you can't see the garden because of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterflyblue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Popped into this beautiful old building for a late lunch for no particular reason. Always have liked the Alverton (Alverton Manor, as was.) but hardly a regular. Now been three times this year! Definite attempt to freshen and contemporise the decor which is hard to do well in a listed building, but I like it. Sat out on the terrace in the sun and were served by Sam (As the badge said), who was cheerful, knowledgeable and efficient. Huge burger arrived for me, with chunky chips, and a chicken and bacon carbonara for Mrs. Followed by the most unusual sweet, which we both chose - Peanut Butter Cheesecake. Unusual because
A. It wasn't sweet, but lightly salty
B. because it was free.
C. It came with ice cream and little sweet nibbly praline type decorations.
D. It was delicious.

I think the free sweet offer ends today, but give them a go. My only criticism would be road noise if you sit outside, but let's be honest - the place was built well before traffic got invented.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The alverton was a wonderful setting for our leavers ball this year. The staff were amazing the food was excellent (especially the lemon tarts). I would recommend this venue highly.

Thank you for a memorable night.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ladynicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I co-ordinated the Yr 11 ball and the students decided on having it in the Great hall at The Alverton. Young people have a habit of changing their minds about food and other details of their event. Larissa the event manager was patient and fantastic in accommodating their very wish. I also stayed the night and had a wonderful suite. The staff are friendly and professional minting consistent high standards. The food is delicious and again my many thanks to the chef for working with the students requests. I also need to thank the Bar manager Alex who created several mocktails to make the evening special. An incredible team of very professional people. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This could be such a lovely hotel. It has everything going for it - great setting, fantastic historical building and convenient to the town. However, don't expect a nightcap and good night's sleep. We were in Truro on business for one night only and after a long day of meetings arrived back at the hotel at 10.15pm. We wanted a nightcap and a chance to sit in the bar and discuss the day's events. The girl at reception, who was the only one around, begrudgingly poured us a drink and made us feel very unwelcome. These were her words and it's a classic: "I can't tell you how many people turn up here at ten o'clock and expect to be served food and drink, but our kitchen closes at nine and we expect most people to be in bed by ten." Goodness, what will the pesky guests require next? A bed? Coming on to that, my room was huge, but sparsely furnished and although the bed was large, the mattress was as thin as a french pancake and entirely composed of rusty springs. I couldn't move without the characteristic "boing" of a mattress that has long since passed its expiry date. The pillows were solid lumps of polyester fibre and the duvet the cheapest on the market. My room was near the very busy nearby road and the secondary glazing not good enough to block out the noise. The people in the room above started walking around about 6.30am and every footstep could be clearly heard. There is no minibar and they do not provide any water in the rooms, so if you want a cup of tea then you have to fill the kettle from the bathroom tap - this may be picky, but as a world traveller I'm not happy with that.
Left the next morning after a decent breakfast (accompanied by 70's panpipe music) tired, stiff and grumpy.
It is a clean place with decent decor, but guys, really? A hotel should not be run for the convenience of the staff! Asking for a drink during proper licensing hours should not be a problem and the primary requirement of most hotel guests is a comfortable bed. The Alverton is missing the details that are expected as standard in a four star hotel that costs £220 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
1.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
448 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $103 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing