We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute change of plan on our tour of Cornwall , nothing could of prepared us for what we were to experience over the next few days , the location , the interior decor , the service, the room all left us speechless , the staff all have so much enthusiasm for the alverton and this really shines through in every aspect , we ended up eating at the restaurant the whole of our visit the food is so good , the rooms are spotless , and the setting is just beautiful , I really did not want to leave , without a doubt the best hotel I've ever stayed in

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dentmender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Your wonderful review has put a smile on the face of everyone at The Alverton. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are incredibly lucky to have Paul Stephens here as our new Head Chef. He was responsible for putting the delicious menu together. The menu does change seasonally so if you visit Cornwall again be sure to stop by and try something new!

Many Thanks,
Laura & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 910 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start. The most visually beautiful hotels I have ever seen. The building itself is stunning and the interior is a beautiful mix of old and new. The interior design is stunning, a sumptuous mix of colour with a fabulous collection of interesting pieces gives you an interesting view from wherever your seated.
Our room, the Grande Suite was fabulous, it's huge dimensions, stunning en suite bathroom and sleigh bed were the best we have ever seen.
The food was exceptional, so good we dined in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay.
Lastly the staff.... Wow what a friendly, happy and eager to please group they were. Nothing was too much trouble and their attention to detail was exceptional.
We will be returing here again and again, if your looking for luxury and complete joy book yourself a room here.
Thank you to the whole team for making the 2 nights we stayed 2 of the most special we have had.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Huge Congratulations on your wedding, from the whole team at The Alverton! We hope to welcome you back next year when you are celebrating your first anniversary.

Good Luck!
Laura Stanworth

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A business trip to the City of Truro was greatly helped by the warm welcome and great service we experienced at The Alverton. Food, Bar excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Great to meet contacts in the obviously recently renovated hotel and grounds. All in all a fantastic experience and one we very much hope to repeat on a regular basis. Cannot praise it highly enough for the business travaller.

Simon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We hired the Alverton today for a naming ceremony for our two boys. It was not a big affair, with less than 20 people in attendance - small and intimate is just what we wanted.

I literally can not give the Alverton staff enough praise for what they did. From the first time that we went there to book the place, throughout the process to today they have been helpful, supportive - nothing was too much trouble.

The best example I can give is that one of the staff noticed that we were taking photographs and they came out to help us so that no one was left out of the pictures! They really were incredibly helpful and provided us with scissors, blu-tak and helped us to get the room ready. It was all laid out exactly how we asked.

Genuinely, I can't praise this place highly enough. Fab fab fab!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Some of the reviewers have commented on price here. Let's be honest, it's the Alverton which (even if others don't) sees itself and positions itself as a top end hotel and restaurant in Truro. I think if you go there in this knowledge the price you pay will reflect this and not come as a surprise. I think a fair thing to say is it is priced in accordance with their positioning in the market!

Post refurbishment I can say that I found it clean, modernised in layout and style, and a nice tranquil and enjoyable place to have a meal. Initially we sat outside on the terrace in the sun and then went inside to what was the old library for dessert and coffee.

It seems to have struck that informal Brasserie style quite well. The staff are attentive but not overly so and a couple in particular were happy to chat and be more outgoing with us. The food was excellent with some nice Tapas style choices. Well cooked and tasted great, the odd one being one all too quickly. The chocolate taster desert platter was amazing with some fighting occurring over who got the last spoonful of a couple of them.

Pricewise, it is what it is but this is the sort of place you go for an occasion or a treat now and again not a regular haunt.

In fairness to the Alverton I think they got it about right and hit the nail on what they were trying to achieve. It was a very enjoyable meal and I will definitely be returning again for another.

Room Tip: If you are staying over, ask to see a four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fromredtogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lovely drinks and gorgeous terrace to enjoy an evening cocktil (a real treat!) Great service and location is perfect-away from the hussle and bussle of town! Classy decor and stunning grounds. A great place to meet friends or for a busness meeting-I am looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent two night on business at the Alverton and the experience was very good, although not quite perfect. Staff is very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful and provide good service, without being in your face. My room - admittedly one of the four suites- was very spacious and nicely decorated, with brand new bathrooms. A couple of smaller issues in the rooms are limited lights ( and I cold not figure out how to turn one of mine on!) and the fact that there is no bottled water in the room. Food was outstanding, both dinner and the buffet lunches. Location is a little awkward to get too, but the hotel is in a really quiet part of town and immersed in green. Make sure you ask for one of the renovated rooms.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
14.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,599 reviews
1.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
453 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
595 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range: $112 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing