We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost excellent...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alverton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Almost excellent...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in its own immaculately maintained grounds on the North side of the A390 dual-carriage approach to the centre if Truro. If arriving by car from the East, it is necessary to continue to the roundabout to return on the other side of the road to gain access. There is a large car park including the original walled-garden area. The whole site is on quite a steep hill.

The new owners refurbished the whole building over the summer (with guests in situ), which has resulted in the hotel being upgraded from 3* to 4* in some ratings. There are a variety of room types from singles to expensive suites. The refurbishment has not left enough wardrobe space to hang clothes for more than a couple of nights: it is clearly geared up for shorter visits, not least because of the fairly steep room rates on which no discounts are offered for longer stays.

There is now a very comprehensive wine list, but not such a large menu which does not change (other than for the "soup of the day" and the "fish of the day"). The dishes vary in quality, even from day to day (depending on the chef) but are generally good and very well presented.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

Unless one is an early riser, the rooms overlooking the Reception are best avoided as the daily deliveries and refuse trucks start arriving from around 5:30am and are quite noisy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    187
    66
    32
    16
See reviews for
149
315
22
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at this lovely hotel while attending a Relatives wedding at the hotel.(15/16 August) The hotel, which is only a 10 minute walk from the city centre, was once a Convent but has been modernised while still keeping its original charm and is surrounded by magnificent gardens. We had a first class large en-suite room with all the usual amenities and was very comfortable. This hotel was spotlessly clean throughout and a pleasure to stay at. All the staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant....nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for dinner on the first night and although we both had a fantastic fillet steak the restaurant proved to be rather bland and uninviting. At breakfast,my wife normally only has croissants and coffee but was told they had "run out" of croissants so had to settle for toast. On the second morning we were almost the first to arrive only to be told the same story and it became quite clear that in fact there weren't any croissants available at all......So why not just say so? It really wasn't a major problem, but I don't like being lied to !! My only other "gripe" is the extortinate price of drinks, both in the Bar and Restaurant .....over £13 for 2 medium glasses of wine was beyond a joke!
However the wedding ceremony was well organised and prepared by the hotel along with the Reception afterwards....very much a credit to the hotel and staff.
Overall. in spite of my "gripes",our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable and I would certainly stay at this hotel again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others......just bring plenty of money for the Bar !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgioGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights in August and on arrival was totally impressed with the Alverton. Beautiful grounds, stunning building and wonderful receptionists. The hotel has been recently refurbished to a very contemporary high standard. We were travelling with two children and were put into the Bridal Suite, so you can imagine we had great expectations of the room. The room was amazing, beautiful feature gothic windows, separate lounge, huge room and fabulous bathroom! However, we were bitterly disappointed with the four poster bed! The mattress was quite thin and as soon as you sat on the bed, the mattress sank to a hard base. On inspection we discovered the base had been fitted with a ply sheet, so as soon as you lay on the bed it was hard, squeaky and uncomfortable! I feel sorry for the bride and groom on their wedding night!
This is surely easily fixed and I have noted there has been previous complaints to this effect. Otherwise you could not fault the room at all.
The next morning we went to breakfast, the brasserie is stunning and the decor is sumptuous! It is a shame however that breakfast was not. We ordered toast and it was totally in edible! It was cold and stale! We then ordered Eggs Benedict and the ham and sauce was lovely, but the eggs overlooked and the muffins chewy and cold! The children had bacon, sausage and eggs and that was awful too! The bacon was rock hard and cold, as we're the sausages and the beans had a skin on as if they had been re warmed! It was all so bad we didn't dare take breakfast the next day!
This hotel could be amazing but there is much more care needed with the detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jowest73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had booked at the Alverton on the recommendation of a friend and were not aware it was being refurbished - but that was a pleasant surprise! The service is excellent and the reception staff, bar and waiting staff were all friednly, had the time of day and were neither over fussy nor too distant. A rare balance and well done the Alverton staff.
The building is unusual and we had a garden room, which was large and comfortable if a little hot (there is no air con so request a fan). Nice big bed and lovely shower!
The Great Hall looks just that and is used for weddings but there was none on when we stayed so I can't comment on noise levels etc.; in fact, we came back after a night out in Truro and sat out on the terrace with a glass of wine in the peace and quiet of the night - fabulous.
I would definitely return - both to Truro and the Cathedral (where I was singing) and to the Alverton. All in all - good value, with a happy hour on cocktails between 1600 and 1900, and the wine not a bad price and to top it all one of the BEST fillet steaks I have tasted in a long while (it ranks alongside one cooked in an Argentinian restaurant in Mexico which just melted when sliced!!)

So - don't miss out - visit Truro. Stay in the Alverton, take in the slower pace of life and kickback and relax .........

Room Tip: Garden rooms have a great view obviously over the garden; not sure whether ALL rooms hvae been refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555martina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello there,

It is really pleasing to read such positive reviews from our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your response, sharing your experience with others.

I have passed your comment regarding the steak to our Head Chef, Paul Stephens, he was very pleased to hear that the steak was of the same quality as that served in Argentina!

We hope to see you again soon.

With Kind Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Checked out the revamp of the bar & brasserie - trying to do a classic look with a contemporary twist. It's inoffensive but looks a little bland, it could have been so much more interesting given the architecture of the building. We didn't eat but had a glass of sauvignon blanc, very good but not the price - £6.75 for a medium glass!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting family in July. The reservation process was easy with quick responses. The actual hotel is a beautiful building in nice grounds. The bar, reception, restaurant and terrace all appear to be newly refurbished to a very good standard but as you go along the corridors to the bedrooms you can see what they still have left to do. The bedroom however was lovely (we stayed in a garden suite) very spacious, nicely decorated and the bathroom was very big with an excellent array of toiletries and a lovely shower. The only down side was the TV was very small but apart from that it was a very nice bedroom.

We didnt dine in the evenings so cant comment on the food but the menu did look very good and had we not had plans each night I would have tried it. Breakfast was nice with all the cooked items particularly being of a very good standard. They are however quite stingy with the portions - I ordered a full english the first day which came with 1 sausage and 1 bacon which was ok as there was plenty of other items there - the hogs pudding was very good! Next day I ordered just bacon and sauasge and still only received 1 bacon and 1 sausage. They were busy on the sunday morning and we felt it quite amusing that every table around us including ours had the tea and coffee orders wrong. Maybe better organisation required but the restaurant team were very friendly so you can excuse the mistakes.

I have given it 5 stars on the basis that they try hard, the staff are lovely and they continue to invest and refurbish as what they have done is very good. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: The garden suite was very nice although I cant recall room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtillimdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely tripadvisor review. It is great to hear that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly, and found the hotel to be such a lovely building.

As you quite rightly observed there a still a couple of corridors to decorate, but the hotel is now 99% refurbished.

I apologise that you found the breakfast portions to be too small and have passed these comments directly to our Head Chef.

Thank you again for your response. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went here for a Birthday meal.
The service was 1st class
The drinks were served just the way we like them. Some places find that hard to do.
The meal was just A M A Z I N G , the meat was just so tender it melted in the mouth.
The dessert was just lush
The whole experience was brilliant & we highly recommend The Alverton Hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Alverton so much that you would recommend us without reservation. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
10.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
19.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,041 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Property: The Alverton
Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Truro
#1 Family Hotel in Truro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing