We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alverton
Nearby Hotels
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliftons(Truro)
$115
$108
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summer Valley Touring Park(Truro)(Great Value!)
$31
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveler rating
626
235
85
40
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
235
85
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalverton manorbeautiful hotelwedding plannercourtyard roombridal suitescallopsrestaurant managermain buildingfour poster bedold buildingwine listlovely groundswaiting staffcity centrestayed for one nightno lifthigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've stayed numerous times at the Alverton for business trips - it's pricey but, since I don't have to pay, I'm not bothered about pricing. Staff are lovely and very pleasant, the location is good within walking distance to the centre of Truro, there is plenty of parking, the food is excellent, the building and setting are gorgeous (it's a renovated ex convent). They're under refurbishment at the moment so a bit of patience is needed, but the builders are also smiley and pleasant, so it's not really a bother. Great place, I'll come back again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello,

It is very good to read a review from one of our corporate regulars. It is always very nice to know that people are so happy with their stay with us that they return regularly. You will be pleased to know that with only a few rooms left to refurbish, we are on the home stretch of the refurbishment project!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With Kind Regards,
Laura Stanworth
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was a Manor house and still has many of its original features. It is in the the process of getting renovated . most of the rooms have been done up. the rooms are clean but a little small. I WOULD GIVE THE ROOMS 3 STARS.
The ares down stairs is very nice and close to 5 stars. the food at breakfast is of a very high standard and had no difficulty to cook what you want.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheehan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've just got back from a 3 night stay at The Alverton and decided to write a review as I was so impressed. The staff were, without exception, very friendly,and genuinely interested in helping. They simply couldn't do enough. I have never come across nicer staff at any hotel anywhere. All the food and wine was excellent - the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast was just beautiful - and plenty of it. Our room was large with an enormous bed, 2 wardrobes and just about everything else one could wish for. The bathroom was brand new, stylish and very well equipped. There is no lift, as this is an old building, but the cases were carried up the stairs for us without fuss. I've looked at some of the other reviews and photos and can't believe they are of the same place. For instance - the furniture on the terrace has changed to large wicker chairs with cushions and I can see how the former set up would have been disappointing. For anyone who was at all unhappy with their stay I can only suggest the problems must have been the result of a previous (poor) management and can now safely be ignored. I'm very hard to please and will usually only stay 4 or 5 star, but this trip was arranged for me, so I had to go with the flow. I was so delighted with everything at The Alverton and I hope to be able to return at some stage and be looked after as well again as I was this week. Incidentally, the town centre is a short walk away, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi Anna,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write such a complementary review. We take great pride in customer service and it is really good to know that this is evident to our customers. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Until then, enjoy the rest of summer!

With Kind Regards,
Laura Stanworth
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year and enjoyed the stay.It is now being refurbished and is even better than previously. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Truro. The location, service and bedrooms are great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Good Morning Christopher F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review. It is great to hear that you have seen both the 'before' and 'after' examples of The Alverton, and are pleased with the work we have been doing. We have almost finished the refurbishment project now, with just a few rooms to go. We hope to see you again in the future.

With Kind Regards,
Laura Stanworth
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently (July 2013) was taken to Cornwall for a holiday

I am severely mobility impaired and a brand outside Truro was suggested as a stopping off as they would surely have facilities I could use (a walk in shower) point

I chose to book a hotel that didnt require you eat elsewhere and with trepidation chose the Alverton (It looked too cheap for what they offered)

What worried me is that friends daughter knows Truro well and clearly had not heard of the Alverton. We actually know someone who lives nearby who hadn't heard of it.

However, I had booked it...

As we were going down the main road into Truro I knew it was on the right, but could see no space where a hotel could be

Then we saw the large white sign at the end of a drive that went behind trees. We couldn't crodd the dual carriageway so had to continue down into Truro (300 yds) but when we were coming up the hill we saw a large white sign, but no drive. A little further up and a sharp left took us into the drive

The building was impressive with great gardens. The entrance was not marked and we entered into marble floors, stone walls and a very helpful reception desk who immediately summoned a very nice porer/butler to show us both to our rooms

My room was on the ground floor and it was a fair walk - but that was because the rooms are enormous. It was actually three rooms from reception!

The door opened to reveal a huge space with a very large bed and stone arched bay window overlooking the garden. The bathroom was L shaped with a fantastic shower occupying the whole of the L

The best bit was that the maid did not put back things that I had placed easy to use

The tea and coffee were first class with grounds to make a cafietier as well as instants and qulity teas and biscuits

The only grouse I had was that the window was covered by a net curtain which looked fantastic but offered an obscured view of the garden outside. It also meant peopl on the terrace could not look in (I thought they would have difficulty anyway). The man came to explain and my friend also thought my views wrong.

Her room was on the first floor and without net curtain, but as there was no lift (being refurbished?) I never made it up the stairs - which the man had shown her

The food men looked a standard printed afair, but the food was fantastic, the wine menu was fat and probably too bg for most people to read and understand - unless they have spent hours perusing it beforehand!

The only snag in the restaurant was guests using their mobile phone - switch it off

All the staff were friendly but there was also a constant professionalism and always instant assistance at the reception desk

I took a peek at the Chapel and other event rooms and they were magnificent. The vaulted ceiling in the chapel and the banners in the other large room were glorious

When we arrived at our destination, my friend wanted to return because the Alverton was so good. She stays in a lot of hotels and choses which hotels her company will use. That this was grade ii was a plus

It was obvious that work to restore this ex convent was going ahead, but the prices currently charged seem low for what is on offer.

When the work is finished, I expect I will not be able to afford staying in this hidden palace so close to Truro

Room Tip: Because work is ongoing there are a few places that are shabby, but where the public are, cleanliness is excellent First floor rooms look onto the garden and the ground floor rooms are very suitable for mobility impaired guests Whereever yo are, the place id very quiet yet so handy to walk into crowded Truro
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews