We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming hidden gem ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gravy Boesti

Gravy Boesti
Ranked #10 of 210 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden away just below the Crown Courts on Edward Street, Truro, in an unassuming stone terrace house lies Gravy Boesti Restaurant. You're welcomed into an intimate, stylish, contemporary venue which leads through to a tranquil, secluded courtyard. Enjoy the view as your food is prepared in our open plan kitchen metres from the comfort of your table. Watch as the talented team create eye catching, seasonal dishes and mouth watering desserts using the freshest locally sourced produce available.So sit back, relax, unwind and enjoy.
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unassuming hidden gem ...”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great little restaurant - on a Saturday evening we were lucky to be able to park right outside on the road (although the carpark is literally just a few steps further). A warm welcome and quick, attentive service was second-to-none.
I had the roasted peppers followed by poached pear, my husband had the pan-seared duck followed by the frangipani tart - there was absolutely nothing we could fault..! It was added fun to be able to watch the kitchen at work in front of us - a well oiled machine!
Its not the cheapest meal we've been for - but at the same time I think we got what we paid for. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    43
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best meal ever at Gravy tonight - well done guys!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Love eating out at Gravy as we so enjoy the fresh produce and great service each time we go there.

For the first time in years, my husband and I decided to go out on Valentine's evening for dinner and I am so glad we went and chose Gravy in Truro!

As well as having their usual excellent menu choice, they have added for the Valentine weekend a couple of extra special starters, main courses and desserts to celebrate the occasion. We chose from the specials for each course - didn't NEED 3 courses but as the food was so good, it just had to be done!

If you are going to Gravy over the next few days and see the lamb special on the main course menu - do try it! It was awesome and totally showcased the expertise and skills of the chefs working there. Every mouthful was heaven!

Attentive and friendly serviced complemented the wonderful food and we came away with a warm and fuzzy feeling! Here is to the next time we eat there and enjoy another fab evening of excellent food and good service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suz_Asbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my partner went to the gravy tonight as wanted to try it. food was amazing, I had the duck my partner had the chicken it was very flavoursome. Pudding was the best my partner ever tasted, good atmosphere and friendly staff with excellent service very satisfied customers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We took our daughter and her boyfriend between Xmas and new year as we've been a couple of times and its been excellent every time, Andrew and all his staff really look after you and the food is consistently superb,well done Pete,Ed and the rest of the chefs, as always the food was great,our daughter works in the west end of London and Gravy's got a great reputation up there as well! This is definitely our favourite place for a special treat and the best restaurant in Truro

Helpful?
Thank cliju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic NYE Meal”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I visited here with my son, partner, and friends who live in Truro, and were not disappointed, the food was excellent and the welcome was warm. Portion sizes for the taster menu were not huge, but after our 7 courses we were more than satisfied, and savoured and tasted every one - surely the purpose of a taster menu?. The staff and service were great, nothing too much trouble including making a prawn cocktail and cheeseburger for my 8 year old, and his burger was certainly not a small portion. Lovely atmosphere, not pretentious, little gem of a restaurant, will certainly visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NellyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gravy Boesti also viewed

 

Been to Gravy Boesti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing