We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ask Italian - Truro

Ask Italian - Truro
Ranked #39 of 220 Restaurants in Truro
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Truro is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Truro menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Camborne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

my daughter and i had a very pleasurable lunch the food was good, served hot and in good time the waitress was pleasent and helpful, the restaurant wasn't very busy as we called fairly soon after it opened might account for the speedy service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MadamHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    149
    76
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rubbish with Big Parties”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a work staff retirement dinner there was approx 25-30 of us. Over the previous few weeks we had collated together a list of what everyone required and taken it to the restaurant so they knew what everyone was going to eat to make it easier. At lunchtime on the day of the meal we contacted them to confirm they had everything they needed and was told that they had lost the meal list, so we had to take it over to them again!

We arrived at the restaurant and were all seated, the staff were pleasant taking drink orders. One of our party asked wether she could have some garlic dough balls as a starter, and she was told she could but they would have to come out with the mains now as they took too long to cook so wouldn't be ready with the other starters. How long do dough balls take to cook?

The drinks were delivered, all but mine that was so I had to ask for it again. I had an apology and was told the wine would now be free as they forgot me. The starters came out, I had Calamari which was really tasty. However some of my colleagues were still waiting for their starters after I had finished. The mains came out and mine was lovely but yet again some people were still waiting for their mains 30 minutes after I had mine because they had forgotten them. This is when the attitude of the staff seem to change and they became rather offish and rude. One of my colleagues specifically asked for a dish to come with no anchovies due to an allergy. Her dish turned up with the fish on it, she complained and asked for a fresh one, which they agreed and about thirty seconds later she had the dish, but it was not a fresh one it was the same one as you could see where the fish had been removed, the questioned the waitress who assured her it was a fresh dish. It clearly wasn't so we asked another member of staff who said she was sure it was fresh and if you have a problem speak to the chef yourself! This was unbelievable! We ended leaving with several free meals and 20% off the entire bill.

Lovely food but they are rubbish with big parties, we have been here before and received similar bad service with a big party.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Griffsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK food, rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I went with 2 children, one of whom has a disability. Hubby was working away and my intention was a stress free easy quick meal night.
The set kids menu we were given was good value, but apparently, at point of payment, because we hadn't stated at the outset that was what we were ordering, we were charged for each individual course.
My apologies for not realising the rules (that were not pointed out) and my general smily demeanor what not enough to smooth the wrath of the Manager.
Left reeling from her very personal rudeness.
Will never return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank downssideup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
321 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Pre- cinema meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We wanted a quick, but nice, meal before going to the cinema and went into Ask without a reservation. Although the restaurant was busy we were found a table. We did ask if it would be possible to eat within the hour and were assured it would not be a problem The starters arrived quite quickly but then we were waiting for our main course and time was ticking. We reminded the waitress who assured us our meal was coming. The food did arrive and it was worth waiting for but meant we only had 15 minutes to eat before we had to leave. Maybe our fault for not allowing sufficient time and rushing our meal didn't help.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasurable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Pleasantly suprised by the quality of our visit, in the light of fairly negative reviews from colleagues. The service was brisk and friendly with smiles and a non pushy relaxed efficiency. Definately a family experience with drawings by little ones on the wall. The quality of food was exceptional although at first we, thought that the portion size may be a little small for mansized appetites. How wrong we were it was more than enough. Freshly cooked to order the wife had the belly pork and I had the lasagne, following doughballs with pancetta and an olive oil/balsamic vinegar dip. Mmmmmmm. The pork melted in your mouth and was full of flavour. If the lasagne was just how mama made it, then it's no wonder that papa's middle is rather plump. It was to die for absolutely delicious. The waitress grating parmezan over the dishes was another nice touch. For pudding Caramel and hazelnut tart with homemade vanilla icecream was devoured by her indoors. Whilst having struggled to choose between the honeycombed cheese cake and tiramisu I opted for the latter. Mmmmmm good choices. We didnt feel at all rushed or under pressure to eat up as there were people waiting for tables. The staff were a credit to the management as were the chefs, well done and thank you, we shall most definately be paying this friendly restaurant another visit soon. This time to try the seafood linguini it looked just divine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian - Truro also viewed

 

Been to Ask Italian - Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing