We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad Experience”

Ask Italian - Truro
Ranked #33 of 177 Restaurants in Truro
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: ASK Italian in Truro is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Truro menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sad Experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Always enjoyed a meal in here, but seems to have gone downhill ! Ordered 2 chicken salads, they only brought one, waited for them to prepare another, when eventually arrived was an inedible flip flop( Chicken) on a slimy mess of sad leaves ! No One checked to see if food was O.K Would have been nice to be able to eat it !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendyj589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    154
    81
    46
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Italian food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

a reasonably priced restaurant, food is fairly ordinary, you get what you pay for. Good for large groups, but I found it quite noisy. Although the staff are friendly. There are other better restaurants in Truro.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, reasonable price, excellent service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the third time we have been for lunch at ASK in Truro and as usual we had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. Before writing this review I read the comments below and found some of the negative comments fair. The drinks are very expensive but not too much more than I would have expected from a similar sort of restaurant. The service was slow, we waited for easily half an hour, but they did warn us when we came in that it would be at least 20 minutes so we knew what to expect. This was the only time that there has been a delay.

For me, what makes up for these deficiencies is how welcoming the staff are towards the children. They are given colouring pencils and a colouring sheet and for £5.99 they get a starter, large main and desert which I consider excellent value. More than this though is how friendly our waiters have always been. They always listen patiently while my four year old daughter orders and today’s Waitress came over to ask her if everything was ok with her meal. A child on the table next to us knocked over a heavy plastic menu board and the waitress was lovely about it. It’s nothing more than should be expected of course, but it’s great to see the children made so welcome.

My wife and 15 month old son both had Funghi E pancetta pizzas which were nice enough, my daughter had her usual Pepperoni pizza which she describes as “yummy”. Mum and I both had Terrina Mediterranea which was a sort of tomato broth with chicken, king prawns, olives and courgette. It was bloomin’ delicious and it comes with plenty of sea salt, garlic and rosemary ciabatta bread sticks which were very good indeed.

Both children had eaten more than enough and so we decided not to order their deserts but the waitress was kind enough to send a box of fruit home with us instead which was kind.

We had a voucher entitling us to two mains for £12.95 so bearing this in mind, including drinks but not service our meal was just over £45 which is only £9 per person – not too bad at all.
In my opinion, ASK shows what a restaurant chain should be capable of. It has good quality food, friendly staff and good service at a reasonable price.

Always our first choice for food in Truro.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poo in every way”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Service slow. Food just about warm and as Ask is a chain it's completely over priced, the drinks prices were ridiculous! Don't bother going here as there are much nicer places to eat in town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fay2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive night, poor quality”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Visited Ask on Saturday 9th with husband and four friends. On arrival restaurant was extremely busy thus expecting a good meal, how wrong was I! On viewing menu, drinks were very expensive. £6.60 for a 660ml bottle of Peroni and £4.10 for a small glass of red wine. Food was of very poor quality and value for money. Pasta seemed out of a packet with hardly any chicken infact three out of six had the pasta dish and I dont think a full chicken breast would have been used between all three. Would have been better staying at home with supermarket finest and a good bottle of wine that you can purchase for a fiver. As never been to an Italian before, I expected an awful lot more of good quality fresh food and what we got was expensive and tasteless. Cornish salaries with London prices!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian - Truro also viewed

 
Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Ask Italian - Truro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing