We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe it's not busier.”
Review of The Riverbank - CLOSED

The Riverbank
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Riverbank hotel, bistro and bar in Truro is a little local gem that newcomers to town will be delighted to discover. Tucked away just behind the cathedral on the riverbank in the centre of town, only ten minutes from the train station, this lively restaurant is a colourful and sunny place to enjoy a meal with colleagues, friends or family, and the personalised service and hearty British menu are impressive. The walls here are adorned with a rotation of local art exhibits, and the stylish setting coupled with the convenient location have made the Riverbank a much talked about Truro dining destination. The menu at the Riverbank restaurant offers everything from Sunday roasts and burgers to salads, pasta and delicious puddings.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been here a few times now for work dos, out with mates and meals with family. When I've been it's never been that busy and I can't work out why?! Maybe I just go at random times. Either way they have a great selection of good wines and decent beers. What has made me write this on here though is the food. It's got to be the best roast I've had out in a very long time. Roasts are never as good as when you cook it yourself but it was fantastic here. It's really nice inside the place, comfy sofas a real fire and a nice restaurant area. If you haven't been here since the old Barley days you've got to give it a try. I reckon if you like nice wine and a good roast in smart surroundings you'll like it, a lot. In fact I can't wait til payday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Big C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for The Riverbank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Delightful riverside setting near cathedral where we were able to sit outside by the river & enjoyed a tasty seafood lunch.
Great selection of wines, nice friendly but chilled & unhurried service

1  Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday night, and were the only table bar one in the restaurant, which definitely affected the atmosphere. The decor is nice, but felt a little confused insofar as it appears to be neither a pub nor a restaurant. The service was friendly, although when booking by email, we were asked if we were celebrating an occasion. We'd replied that we were celebrating a birthday, but there was no acknowledgment of this when we arrived.

The food was a mixed bag. The steaks were good, the lamb was tasty and cooked beautifully, although the dish overall was somewhat dry and the crab ravioli was delicious. Having said that, there were only 3 ravioli served for a main course. The lamb was also a disappointingly small portion, and for nearly £20 for a main course, this seemed very overpriced.

The chocolate torte was bland, dense and very fatty in taste and texture, although the coconut ice cream it was served with was delicious. The creme brûlée was good, although served with a shortbread biscuit that was larger than the brûlée!

When we mentioned these issues to the waitress, she was helpful and apologetic and handled the situation well. The sample menu online wasn't reflective of the actual prices charged in the restaurant, and I think that the prices aren't good value for money for the food being served.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Firstly i would like to apologise for not picking up on the fact you were celebrating a birthday and this not being addressed as it should of when you arrived. It was a shame that you were in on a quiter night as this doesnt help with the atmosphere.

All your comments have been passed onto the chef. The price of our food is based upon the quality of the meat we buy from local organic producers which unfortunately does push the prices up.

We will be launching a new menu at the beginning of October and will be taking all your comments into consideration whilst producing the menu in regard to portion size.
We hope you will come back and give us another try.

Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

been in here many times,,great service great food,,but please clean your toilets,,,i may have came in on a busy day as they were not at there best but,i am not going to dam this place for that! good prices smiles all round to!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Riverbank.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy our food.
Since you review we have implemented checks that occur throughout the day on our toilets.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Went here on a Thursday night and the only slightly disappointing thing was how few people were in which didn't really help the atmosphere any! Other than that we were very impressed with the standard of food and service.My starter of mini fish pie was absolutely sublime and the best I've ever tasted.We had lamb with summer beans for main which was beautifully cooked although if I was being ultra picky I would say the beans lacked a little flavour. Kids ( we were celebrating A/GCSE successes!) had Duck and Steak and both said each was the bet they had ever tasted (lovely fries and triple cooked chips too!).Gorgeous puds of Choc Torte,Creme Brûlée and Sticky Toffee Pud also all excellent. Service was very friendly and welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive. Just one slight niggle might be worth looking at - we sat in the conservatory and it appeared that a door off this possibly lead to the smoking area outside as several people were in and out from the Bar during the evening - not really what you want when eating and certainly not on a cold evening (which fortunately it wasn't!). That however is a minor thing and didn't in any way detract from a lovely evening. Thanks to the Staff and Chef and very good luck to you all- No.20 in Truro is surely not your deserved position?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTruroRiverbank, Manager at The Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Riverbank.
We are really pleasedf you enjoyed your evening and food.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
The Riverbank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverbank also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing